We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always interesting menu, extra nice staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amici Ristorante and Cafe

Amici Ristorante and Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Amici Ristorante and Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 38 Restaurants in Kenmore
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Tonawanda, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always interesting menu, extra nice staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I was there with my wife for a belated birthday celebration, nothing special we just wanted to talk and not worry about getting dinner for ourselves. Amici's is a place we often go for such dinners. We also take my sons and our daughter in law when they are in town. We rely on the restaurant for good-excellent food (always interesting specials) and a nice but not formal atmosphere. In the past 15-20 years we have been coming there we have rarely been disappointed. We have some rules we use for selecting WHEN to go. First, we do not try without reservations. Second, we do not try for reservations around 6:00-6:30 PM. Third, we do not go on holidays (e.g. Mother's Day). Following these rules have avoided problems with reservations long waits and being pressured to leave. We have seldom needed to wait.

The wait staff are extremely nice, and helpful. Most of the waitresses are quite familiar with the entrees and the wine. If they are asked, they can tell you enough about the food or wine to make your decision making fairly easy. They are prompt and extremely courteous.

Finally, the food. The food ranges from excellent to very good. Many of the best dishes are seafood. I would say that the quality has remained pretty high over the years, with some move toward richer, cheese sauces. I think the specials are usually the better choices.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    19
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“We had a reservation and could not get a seat.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

I had a party of 4 reservations were set for 7pm we got there 10 minutes early we were told it would be about a 15 minute wait that was fine we were willing to.wait. About 45 more minutes went by and we were told that it would be 15 more mimutes so we left. Whem you have a reservation you should not have to wait an hour for a table and still not get a seat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nazzgege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, New York
Level Contributor
119 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Barely OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Had dinner with a dozen people - took a little over three hours and wasn't really worth it. Several orders came out incorrect, a few were even cold. Vodka Penne sauce seemed as though it was from a jar - definitely not worth the $20.13 restaurant week special.

Food wasn't terrible, but there are many better restaurants to choose from locally.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dabillz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Seneca, New York
Level Contributor
177 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“excellent service-no flavor in red sauce”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Amici's is nicely spaced and decorated. We were anticipating great food-and it started out that way-delicious bread, generous fresh green salad. Wine was pricey-- averaging abt $9 per generous glass from a $18 carafe pino grigo) Our server was very pleasant, available and gave this group of friends, time to talk and enjoy the ambiance-which was just great. The problem was with our generous portions of food-stuffed shells, eggplant parm, eggplant rolls, and chicken francaise---very little flavor and burnt cheese. The general consensus was eeehh-nothing special-nothing bad-but nothing delicious.... We tried the peanut butter mousse-disappointment-as was the gelato-had little weird pieces of ?? nuts??? $37 pp for NO FLAVOR!!!
The service was great-attentive but not intrusive.We were comfortable gabbing over coffee and desserts.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rbrfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food and Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

This was my first visit, but I plan to return. 7PM saturday night reservations. Packed house, but we got seated on time. They have a big menu and it all sounds great. Everything my wife and I had was delicious. Service was very fast, friendly, and courteous. The prices may be a tad on the high side for people who are used to 7.95 friday night fish fry. But not over priced. But do yourself a favor if you plan to drink wine - buy a bottle. If you have 4 glasses, you'll save yourself $10 bucks on the bottle.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mosfet32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amici Ristorante and Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Amici Ristorante and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing