We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room and an excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trail's End Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keene Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trail's End Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Keene Valley B&B and Inns
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful room and an excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2009

We recently returned from our first anniversary trip and loved the Trail's End Inn! We stayed in the Skylight room which was one of the three new rooms added to the end of the inn. The new rooms all have fireplaces and jetted tubs. After the cross country skiing and winter hiking, we really enjoyed relaxing in the tub and by the fire.

Breakfast in the morning was excellent. We had french toast, egg quiche, and an egg tart during our stay, and all meals included coffee, juice, fresh fruit and a homemade baked goods. The maple nut scones were fantastic.

The staff is around if you need them, but as noted they give you your privacy. You can use the fireplace, TV, and game room in the main house as needed, and there is always coffee, soda, water and snacks around at all times of the day.

There are plenty of hiking trails nearby Keene Valley, with an excellent diner and small grocery store in town. Lake Placid and Whiteface are an easy drive about half an hour north, with the other Olympic attractions on the way including cross country skiing, bobsled and ski jumping.

We'll be back to the Trail's End Inn for sure.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbabul01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    15
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
29
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
SE PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

We first visited Trail's End in 2003 and have returned at least once a year since. We are typically visiting as part of an extended family and use Trail's End as a reunion point of sorts.

We are avid hikers as are most of the other guests so we enjoy comparing hike notes with others. We enjoy starting the day with a cup of their awesome coffee on their expansive front porch; it's a great gathering spot if you've got family and friends in other rooms. We also enjoy meeting on that same porch for post-hike laughs and cold beverages later in the day.

Their breaksfasts are now legendary in our family... and the scones are simply the best we've ever had. We love it when extra scones are "up for grabs" after breakfast!

A recurring theme I saw in other reviews was the lack of "inkeeper sightings". We find this to our liking. If you need them, they are available. If not, they are not in your face. I think this unsettles some first time visitors, especially those who are accustomed to seeing an inkeeper frequently. First-timers are easy to spot and invariably a "regular" steers them in the right direction.

As I type this we are already planning our next visit to Trail's End... can't wait!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 46R1AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

we stayed 4 nights in the cottage on the grounds of Trails End Inn. The cottage was lovely. It had a kitchen and a grill, so I could cook some simple meals after a long day of hiking. The cottage had 2 bedrooms so the kids could have one room and adults another. After hiking Giant, we enjoyed some beverages on the private deck. Very nice! We enjoyed hearty breakfasts every morning--the kids' favorites: huge blueberry pancakes! Coffee, tea, drinks available 24/7, and fresh baked goods--the kids had fun guessing what kind of warm cookies would be available each evening. Great hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2008

My husband and I have been travelling to the Adirondacks for many years but only in the last 5 have we found the perfect relaxing spot to stay: Trail's End Inn in Keene Valley. It's in the heart of the High Peaks and near almost all the significant trails. It embodies the spirit of the Adirondacks: simple, comfortable, quiet and exactly what one needs: hearty breakfast to start the day, perfect sack lunch for the trail and a lovely, warm bath and comfy bed after a long, exhausting hike. If I could travel to only one place in my life, you can believe Trail's End would be IT. Dave and Susan are wonderful inkeepers and we'll keep coming.

Helpful?
Thank daytripper96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2008

We have been visiting Trail's End Inn for the past 4 yrs. and have fallen in love with the Inn and the area. The Inn is wonderful with it's rooms all decorated differently, the large living room and breakfast room with fireplaces to keep the chill off on a cold day. The owners are warm and friendly and the food delicious. It's a home away from home. The High Peaks area is an outdoorsmen paradise but it's also a nice place to sit on the porch, read and relax. We would highly recommend visiting there.

  • Liked — The comfortable surroundings
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quilting86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2008

I regret to report that my family's experience at this inn was unpleasant.

The inn itself is a wonderful place in the amazing setting of Keene Valley, NY, in the center of the Adirondacks High Peaks region.

However, we found the proprietors cold and unwelcoming.

On its Web site, the inn advertizes itself as family friendly, with children and large groups welcome. Indeed, when I booked our reservations, the Web site clearly stated that "children under two-years-old stay free." I note that the innkeepers have since changed their policy to disclude any children under 8-years-old.

One of the innkeepers barked at my two-year-old daughter twice during our stay. Our child was simply laughing and playing in the toy box the inn provided in the common area while we were taking an afternoon break from hiking. The child was not bothering any guests and in fact there were only a couple other registered guests in the entire building. When those guests met our child they took a moment to talk and play with her... they were clearly pleased to see her.

The innkeeper's attitude led to a confrontation. This forced us to cut our stay short and find other accommodations.

Before we left, the innkeepers told us they want "a certain type of people" to stay there and clearly we did not fit that category, in spite of the fact that they happily took our $650 for three nights.

With regrets, I cannot in good conscience recommend this inn.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank flyfisher20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEIInnkeeper, Owner at Trail's End Inn, responded to this review, October 25, 2010
It is unfortunate that a few people cause the majority to be subjet to a more restrictive policy. These guest were welcomed in the same warm manner as all of our guests. However, their child was unruly and threw multipul screaming tantrums that were so loud that I had heard the child in our private quarters. On more than one occasion I asked the parents to quiet the child, and said that the tantrums were not acceptable behaviour in our Inn to which the parents did nothing and responded "children will be children".
That was, and is, an unacceptable solution to an unruly child. We have all of our guests' quiet enjoyment of our Inn to consider. As a result of this egregious disregard by these guest of our other guests' enjoyment we were forced to change our general policy toward small children. We do make exception, but as a general rule, our Inn is not a proper place to bring children who do not behave well. The guest were never told that we want "a certain type of people". They were not asked to leave, only asked to control their child. which they refused to do.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewYork
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2008

I did not stay at this Inn but I think some people would like to hear my experience trying to book a stay

On the Trail's End Inn it clearly states that "Children under 2 stay for free". While trying to book a trip with my wife for her birthday I called the Trail's End Inn and spoke to Dave. I was all set to book the trip when I attempted to inquire about the room and mentioned that we would be bringing our 18 month old daughter. Dave then told me that we were not welcome because infants were too "unpredictable". I got off the phone double checked that the website does say "Children under 2 stay for free". I called Dave back and he agreed that that is what the website says but that's not what they do anyways. Then he hung up on me.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank adkflyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEIInnkeeper, Owner at Trail's End Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2010
This individual never stayed with us. He called and we informaed him that due to a recent experience (the guests who posted a review on October 17) we were not accepting small children due to the fact that some small children were not well behaved and therefore were disruptive for the enjoyment by other guests. I informed the person that we could not allow this behaviour. He called back and was very beliigerent about the fact that our web site said children under 2 yrs old stay free. I again verbally informed him of our policy had changed as a result of our recent encounter and I told him that the web site had not yet been changed. The individual, continued to insist that the web site said children under 2 stayed free to which I finally said that is what it says,but is not current and after the third time of covering the same ground, I hung up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene Valley
11.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#8 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,233 reviews
10.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
BEST WESTERN Saranac Lake
#1 of 8 in Saranac Lake
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
10.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
12.4 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trail's End Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trail's End Inn

Property: Trail's End Inn
Address: 62 Trail's End Way, Keene Valley, NY 12943
Location: United States > New York > Keene Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keene Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in secluded meadows in Keene Valley, the heart of the High Peaks. Private baths, suites, fireplaces, whirlpool or clawfoot tubs are available and there are the sleeping porches in the summer. A full home-cooked breakfast is included. Hiking trails right out our door, 15 minutes to the Olympics Ski venues and 20 minutes from Lake Placid. Private riverfront cottages are available. A phone in every room and the Inn is Wi-Fi connected to high speed internet. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing