We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the High Peaks”
Review of Trail's End Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keene Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trail's End Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Keene Valley B&B and Inns
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A gem in the High Peaks”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We have stayed at Trails End a number of times, and with each visit we love it more. There is something very homey and welcoming about this inn. The house itself is full of charm and warmth, and the expansive porch is a perfect place to relax with a book when you're not hiking. Breakfast is abundant and delicious, and everyone looks forward to each day's homemade scones or muffins and afternoon cookies. The staff, especially Sherry, are very welcoming and accommodating. They keep the inn sparkling clean.

Susan and Dave have made many welcome changes since owning the inn. Not being a fan of the forced bonhomie of many B&B owners, I really enjoy their low-key approach to innkeeping. We have always found them to be helpful, accommodating and pleasant. They are hospitable but unintrusive, letting the inn and the Adirondacks themselves envelop you in their peace and beauty. The result is a completely relaxing experience in a spectacular setting.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EasyReader12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    16
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indian Hills, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were at the Trail's End Inn to attend a family wedding in the area. I loved the old building, which has been beautifully maintained and has a great deal of character. I felt extremely pampered, as our special dietary needs were carefully accommodated. Baked goods and breakfast items had been specially prepared for us in advance, and the staff was very conscientious about serving us what we needed. The B and B rooms were beautifully decorated with lovely antiques, and the sleeping porches were superb! There were many nice details, like delicious cookies in the main sitting area every afternoon, a refrigerator where guests could store perishables, and self-serve tea and coffee which was available at any hour. There were fluffy bathrobes, many extra towels in the bathrooms, and tons of extra soap and shampoo everywhere. The town where Trail's End is located is wonderfully unspoiled and quaint, just a short walk from the inn. The inn is down a quiet lane which makes it peaceful both day and night. I will definitely go back there again. It is wonderful!

Room Tip: If you love being up among the trees and in the cool night air, choose a room with a sleeping porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2012

I stayed here for one night as a birthday surprise for my girlfriend after camping in the stunning back-country nearby. It was super easy on arrival to find our room. Dave made us feel right at home with a little tour around and full access to glassware (for the champagne) and other great amenities. The cookies left out in the sitting room and the games in the sun room were really great.

We stayed in a premium room and really enjoyed having a fire and the big whirlpool tub with bath oils! Our room was gorgeous; so many nice finishing touches such as decorative ceiling lights, fully stocked wood and kindling for the fire, and even an old school air pump to stoke the fire.

Our breakfast in the morning was amazing and we were given great service. After a breakfast we spent a lovely morning just lounging on the huge front patio in their comfy chairs with chipmunks scurrying around and a lovely meadow and old trees to look out on. It was everything you could want from a dacks B&B!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shaun W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brenham
2 reviews
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We are from Texas and were coming up to Keene, NY for our son's wedding. Have not had much experience with a bed and breakfast before, but this was a wonderful place to stay with scenic views of the mountains. The cleanliness of the Inn was perfection, the beds comfortable, and the breakfast delicious. Susan and Dave, the innkeepers, were very hospitable and made us feel welcome and at home. Also, the plate of homemade cookies when we arrived was yummy. Sherry (their right-hand lady) always had a smile and was there to help if we needed anything. Her meticulous ways kept the Inn always looking great. What a nice lady!

Our recommendation would be to stay at the Trails End Inn, relax and enjoy a 5***** experience.

From the Angerame family, we thank you for a fun and enjoyable time.
Mickie and Tommy

Room Tip: The rooms with the sun porches were really great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mickie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2012

The Inn is located in a quiet area off Route 73, surrounded by fields, clusters of old trees and stone walls. There are spacious rooms with comfortable beds and interesting decor. Great breakfasts served by a friendly staff in a dining room with mountain views through large windows. Check out the clock over the entryway - on the hour, songs are played that correspond to the featured bird! Well-appointed common areas - you can lose yourself amongst all the porches, screen rooms and dens on the first floor. A good base for hikers or a nice place to kick back and watch the sun rising over the high peaks of the Adirondacks.

Room Tip: The Jay Room is large, with a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Stayed at the Inn for 3 nights in Jay Room. Room is very large and has private bathroom. The Inn is always incredibly clean. Breakfast is always wonderful and plenty. It's great having all the goodies in the kitchen: coffee, hot chocolate, fresh baked goodies in the afternoons. The location is perfect for those hiking in the area. Will definitely stay there again when visiting the High Peaks region. Thanks for keeping it wonderful!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marichip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Wonderful place. Keurig in room. Room very clean, quiet. We stayed in the Gothic room (with a whirpool and a fireplace), and it was well worth-it after the day hiking.
Inn-keepers are non-intrusive but provide a friendly and delicious breakfast; they'll light the fireplace when you come down for breakfast.
Location is simply excellent, at about 40 minutes from the Adirondak Loj.
Will be coming back, fo sho.

Room Tip: Whirpool/fireplace rooms are well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene Valley
11.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,262 reviews
10.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
173 reviews
11.0 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
11.8 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
207 reviews
0.3 mi away
RoosterComb Inn
RoosterComb Inn
#3 of 4 in Keene Valley
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trail's End Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trail's End Inn

Property: Trail's End Inn
Address: 62 Trail's End Way, Keene Valley, NY 12943
Location: United States > New York > Keene Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keene Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in secluded meadows in Keene Valley, the heart of the High Peaks. Private baths, suites, fireplaces, whirlpool or clawfoot tubs are available and there are the sleeping porches in the summer. A full home-cooked breakfast is included. Hiking trails right out our door, 15 minutes to the Olympics Ski venues and 20 minutes from Lake Placid. Private riverfront cottages are available. A phone in every room and the Inn is Wi-Fi connected to high speed internet. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing