We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did NOT disappoint!”
Review of Trail's End Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keene Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Trail's End Inn
Ranked #2 of 4 Keene Valley B&B and Inns
syracuse
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Did NOT disappoint!”
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We traveled to the Adirondacks to get in one last ski before the winter ended, and discovered the lovely Trail's End Inn in Keene Valley. Wanting to get away from our otherwise busy, hectic lives, we sought some tranquility mixed with a little elegance, all within our very average budget. We found it.
This is a very well-kept, very unpretentious place to stay. The price was well worth it. We stayed in the Skylight room, which is one of the newer rooms in the back of the inn. There, we had the luxury of our own fireplace (we had a nice fire every evening) and our own whirlpool tub, which was delightful after a long day skiing. The room was incredibly clean (would have passed the "mother" test), and Susan put out a plate of cookies every afternoon that were to die for. (My husband laughed as we drove back to the Inn every day, as I would be saying, "I can't wait to see what kind of cookies we are having today!") Breakfast the next morning was a culinary delight- the next day's breakfast menu was left in our room every day, so we would always know what was cookin', and it never disappointed! My only complaint was that I ate too much.
We loved the accommodations- being able to stroll around the living room, browse through the book of restaurant suggestions, use the computer on the main floor, brew a cup of coffee whenever, and just wander around. We had our own separate entrance (the back rooms are designed this way), and I would have liked to have been able to walk from our room down to breakfast without having to go outside, but it was a small compromise in order to have such a lovely room.
The attention to detail was most impressive. The entire Inn is decorated in the most tasteful Adirondack ambiance, right down to the coasters on the table in the breakfast room. This place was beautifully designed, and very well-maintained. We will be sure to return some day- my only regret is that it won't be soon enough.
This is a very quiet, very out of the way place - if you are looking for alot of action, or someone to wait on your every whim, you'll want to look elsewhere. If you are looking for a place to stay that feels like the kind of place you'd love to come home too, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    16
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
30
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stowe
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2011

Nice place. Very close to a school and its playground. Everything designed by the owner to have absolutely no interaction with the visitor. You go to a podium in the front room, find your name and corresponding room with directions. Go to your room. Wi-fi very weak and no password to be found anywhere. We arrived around 6 pm. Went out to eat. Came back, looked for owner. No luck. Found a note about using an intercom next to podium. No intercom. There is no cell phone service anywhere in town so internet was the only way to get in touch with our kids. Rung dorbell. 5 mintues later a burly, unshaven figure appeared. Wearing a dark bathrobe, open to reveal slipper, socks, boxer shorts and a t-shirt. He made his way around chairs and tablet to the corner of the room to a desk top computer. He then pointed to a paper stuck in a plastic menu holder. There was the 20 random letters and numbers forming the password. I turned around to thank him but he was already gone. Friendly huh? The breakfast was great, served by a friendly waitress. The room was nice and clean. Fireplace smoky.

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SuitcaseAllergist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TEIInnkeeper, Owner at Trail's End Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
We operate our Inn with the idea in mind that the guests are here to enjoy the mountains and their vacation time without having us hovering over them. We have come to this conclusion based on owning the Inn for 7 years and having our guest complement us on the fact that they have the ability to choose if they want our company or not and since 50% of our guests are repeat guest, we believe we are doing this the way they want. (Earlier reviews on Trip Advisor say our guests like their privacy 6/3/10 and 12/31/09) We are here seven days a week and almost every hour of the day. There are several ways a guests can find us from ringing the door bell to knocking on the kitchen door (the Inn is 10,000sq. ft so we aren't able to be everywhere). There are signs on the front door and next to the sign-in desk that tell our guests how to contact us if we aren’t right there.
In response to the specific complaints of this reviewer: The podium where the names/rooms are says that they can contact us if they need assistance finding the room – they didn’t try so we did not assist. I recall this individual contacting me after 10 P.M. wanting to know about the internet. (I remember this because we have so few people who don’t respect the fact that even though we are here 24/7, we too need some time to ourselves.) We have a computer in the common area for all the guests to use and on top of the computer is a sign that has the codes for those who want to use their own computer to hook up to the wi-fi. There is also a sign on the podium that asks the guests that if it is after 9 P.M. to only contact us if it is an emergency (we get up at 5 A.M. to make breakfast, so we go to bed early). This reviewer is correct that I was unshaven since I had been up since 5 A.M. that morning and it was now after 10 P.M. when they contacted me. It took less than two minutes for me to get from my bed to the front of the Inn (I thought , it was an emergency since the sign made it clear that after 9 P.M. we were to be contacted only in an emergency). Since the reviewer didn’t bother to look for the wi-fi codes, I pointed them out and went back to bed. I’ll admit I wasn’t staying around to chat since this person had gotten me out of bed to supply them with information that was right in plain site and they didn’t even apologize for getting me out of bed. I did have a robe on, but it was closed and no slippers. I don’t know what the remark is regarding: “a paper stuck in a plastic menu holder. There was the 20 random letters and numbers forming the password.” The codes were identified as the codes to the wi-fi and are the typical coding for wi-fi connections. Again, it is hard to evaluate the statement that the fireplace was “smoky.” The reviewer had the Skylight room which has a fireplace in the room. Since the reviewer never complained to us about the fireplace and no one has ever made this type of complaint about the room, I can only assume that the reviewer didn’t know how to properly build a fire.
This reviewer would be better served in a place like Lake Placid where they have 24 hr. room service and room rates of $250 a night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2010

Stayed three nights. The place is gorgeous. The breaksfasts were delicious and plentiful! Never left hungry. Sherry was more then accommodating to us. Thank you for a wonderful stay. Will definitely stay again...can't wait!
We stayed in the Boreas Room, it's located right next to the shared hallway bathroom. We did hear people come and go throughout the night, as well as through the door that leads from the hallway where the rooms are located to the main house. Altogether, the noise wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marichip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2010

We are planning our fifth consecutive year staying at the Trails End Inn coming up this August. Every year has been a wonderful stay. The breakfasts are absolutely to die for. Really wonderful, completely filling and will keep you fueled for a day of hiking the spectacular high peaks in the Adirondacks. We have stayed in the Marcy suite and in the Hurricaine suite - both wonderful suites with private baths and small kitchen facilities (frig, coffee maker, sink). The Marcy suite has a wonderful jacuzzi tub.

When you come home from hiking you will find a plate of fantastic cookies to nibble on as you look through the hiking guides and check the guest reviews of the local restaurants to decide where to dine that evening. There are also a few grills out back that you can use for your dinner, which keeps expenses down.

Although this is a bed and breakfast, and that is true - you get a really comfortable bed and an amazing breakfast, it is not the kind of place where you will be regaled with tales and hovered over by the owners. In fact we have stayed a few times and not seen the owners. For us that is great. I go on vacation to get away, not to make new friends. But I know that for some the bed and breakfast experience is about meeting the innkeepers. I've found all of the servers and bartenders to be very friendly and accomodating, even if for some they might be new at their summer job. Mistakes are always quickly corrected.

Another nice thing about the hotel is that, if you wish to go for a hike after checkout, they have a shower you can use to clean up before getting in the car to go home.

Overall, a lovely place. We'll be back again and again

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

We recently returned from our first anniversary trip and loved the Trail's End Inn! We stayed in the Skylight room which was one of the three new rooms added to the end of the inn. The new rooms all have fireplaces and jetted tubs. After the cross country skiing and winter hiking, we really enjoyed relaxing in the tub and by the fire.

Breakfast in the morning was excellent. We had french toast, egg quiche, and an egg tart during our stay, and all meals included coffee, juice, fresh fruit and a homemade baked goods. The maple nut scones were fantastic.

The staff is around if you need them, but as noted they give you your privacy. You can use the fireplace, TV, and game room in the main house as needed, and there is always coffee, soda, water and snacks around at all times of the day.

There are plenty of hiking trails nearby Keene Valley, with an excellent diner and small grocery store in town. Lake Placid and Whiteface are an easy drive about half an hour north, with the other Olympic attractions on the way including cross country skiing, bobsled and ski jumping.

We'll be back to the Trail's End Inn for sure.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbabul01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SE PA
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We first visited Trail's End in 2003 and have returned at least once a year since. We are typically visiting as part of an extended family and use Trail's End as a reunion point of sorts.

We are avid hikers as are most of the other guests so we enjoy comparing hike notes with others. We enjoy starting the day with a cup of their awesome coffee on their expansive front porch; it's a great gathering spot if you've got family and friends in other rooms. We also enjoy meeting on that same porch for post-hike laughs and cold beverages later in the day.

Their breaksfasts are now legendary in our family... and the scones are simply the best we've ever had. We love it when extra scones are "up for grabs" after breakfast!

A recurring theme I saw in other reviews was the lack of "inkeeper sightings". We find this to our liking. If you need them, they are available. If not, they are not in your face. I think this unsettles some first time visitors, especially those who are accustomed to seeing an inkeeper frequently. First-timers are easy to spot and invariably a "regular" steers them in the right direction.

As I type this we are already planning our next visit to Trail's End... can't wait!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 46R1AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

we stayed 4 nights in the cottage on the grounds of Trails End Inn. The cottage was lovely. It had a kitchen and a grill, so I could cook some simple meals after a long day of hiking. The cottage had 2 bedrooms so the kids could have one room and adults another. After hiking Giant, we enjoyed some beverages on the private deck. Very nice! We enjoyed hearty breakfasts every morning--the kids' favorites: huge blueberry pancakes! Coffee, tea, drinks available 24/7, and fresh baked goods--the kids had fun guessing what kind of warm cookies would be available each evening. Great hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene Valley
10.7 mi away
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
Econo Lodge Lake Placid
#28 of 31 in Lake Placid
173 reviews
11.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,248 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.8 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
RoosterComb Inn
RoosterComb Inn
#3 of 4 in Keene Valley
54 reviews
12.4 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trail's End Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trail's End Inn

Property: Trail's End Inn
Address: 62 Trail's End Way, Keene Valley, NY 12943
Location: United States > New York > Keene Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keene Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in secluded meadows in Keene Valley, the heart of the High Peaks. Private baths, suites, fireplaces, whirlpool or clawfoot tubs are available and there are the sleeping porches in the summer. A full home-cooked breakfast is included. Hiking trails right out our door, 15 minutes to the Olympics Ski venues and 20 minutes from Lake Placid. Private riverfront cottages are available. A phone in every room and the Inn is Wi-Fi connected to high speed internet. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing