We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great B&B in the middle of the High Peaks” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of RoosterComb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
RoosterComb Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Keene Valley B&B and Inns
Long Island
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A great B&B in the middle of the High Peaks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Second time staying with Steve at the Rooster Comb Inn. Very charming and clean B&B, very reasonably priced. It's within walking distance of the Noonmark Diner for a great breakfast and the Ausable Inn for hearty dinners. There's a common kitchen/dining area with a large refrigerator for guests, along with a coffee maker, right next to the outdoor deck that has a picnic table. On chilly nights, there's a downstairs sitting area with a pot belly stove, that is part of the downstairs display area for beautiful rustic furniture and art. Also an outside fire pit to imbide under the starts on warm evenings. All-in-all, great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
28
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Angwin, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Roostercomb was a great base for hiking and exploring the Adirondacks. With the rooms upstairs, the Rustics store downstairs (including a wonderful, cozy room where guests could sit around the wood-burning stove in beautiful handmade furniture), and the woodshop in the back, it's a great setup. Keene Valley is a small, simple mountain town and Roostercomb is just off the main road (which is not a big or busy road), across from a tasty down-home restaurant.

Everything was clean and well-maintained, including the shared kitchen and laundry and back deck. We stayed in the Suite, the only room with its own bathroom. It's an amazing deal!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrinningOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

This place is incredible! Always want to stay here but it is usually booked--the secret got out!!! The price for what you get is the best in the entire area. The rooms are clean and comfy, the bathroom is extremely clean and the kitchen is fully stocked. You feel like you are staying at your own home. We once took our dog and it was just wonderful. The inn keeper starts a fire in the fire pit on spring/summer/fall nights and it is just wonderful to sit by the fire in the evening. Great value, fantastic location, extremely friendly, clean as a pin--I think you get the point.

Room Tip: Book early, there are only a few rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamey D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

If you are looking for an affordable room with a comfortable bed, clean rooms, and don't need a cooked for you breakfast than this is the place to stay. We have been here twice and love it. The beds are very comfortable and sharing two bathrooms with four rooms is no big deal. The price for the area is excellent. The inn keeper is exceptionally pleasant and his rustic furniture in the gallery downstairs is fantastic. He is a true furniture artist. The campfires at night are fantastic. We have stayed at most of the Inns and bed and breakfasts in town and we love this place the best. It is conveniently located for everything and the clean kitchen is reall nice too.

Room Tip: Love Wolf jaw and the suite with its own bathroom is extremely affordable and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed there for 2 nights last month and it was a great little get away vacation. The room was comfortable and it was great to be able to prepare our own meals in the shared kitchen. We hit it off with the other couple that was staying there at the time and especially enjoyed a bonfire on the last night.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NatureloverSanLuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Enchanting haven in magical Keene Valley. The hiker's dream furnished with all of the imagination's fantasies after a day in the forests and on the peaks. 

Prosaically, the inn is comfortable and clean.  Common areas are sufficiently roomy with a  kitchen well fit for cooking and to accommodate multiple guests with multiple goals. Best of all on a chilly evening, there is a sitting room with a warming fire.  All in all an  atmosphere that promises a good rest  after a long day with a momentary sense of a  community with shared interests and sufficient privacy as wanted or needed.

Any doubts about a shared bathroom should be dispelled. Facilities are very clean and guests and the set up encourage mutual sensitivity and courtesy. 

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurieAdele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed there in the summer and it was an excellent home base for hiking. We brought our 80lb black lab and everyone was very accommodating and friendly. The place is literally minutes from the trailhead and the beds were comfortable after a long day's hike.

The kitchen is well stocked with everything you'll need to cook for yourself and makes it easy to catch a quick breakfast before heading out on the trail. We had a room with shared bathrooms, but never had any issues with crowding or waiting.

Basically, to sum it up: this place is excellent value if you're someone who wants a comfortable place to sleep and are in the adirondacks to explore. If you're there to be pampered, well, you'd probably be happier some place else. For the adventurer though, you'd be hard pressed to find a place that's more comfortable, more dog friendly and closer to places to explore.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveTtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene Valley
11.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
12.1 mi away
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
Lake Placid Summit Hotel
#25 of 31 in Lake Placid
3.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
8.3 mi away
ADK Trail Inn
ADK Trail Inn
#1 of 1 in Upper Jay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
12.4 mi away
The Hungry Trout Resort
The Hungry Trout Resort
#3 of 9 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RoosterComb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RoosterComb Inn

Property: RoosterComb Inn
Address: 3 Market St., Keene Valley, NY 12943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Keene Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keene Valley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — RoosterComb Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RoosterComb Inn is new to Keene Valley, NY but has a lot to offer. Our spacious six room bedroom Inn can accommodate any large hiking group or family. Full kitchen and a washer and dryer are available to all guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing