We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect pet friendly stay”
Review of RoosterComb Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
RoosterComb Inn
Ranked #3 of 4 Keene Valley B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stopped at the Rooster Comb for just one night on our way back home to Canada after visiting Vermont. We traveled with our Great dane, so we can't go everywhere !

We booked the Spread Eagle room, the largest one, and it was impeccable, perfect for us and our dog. She had enough space and we slept so well : comfortable beds, calm, air conditioning.

The Inn is really welcoming, and it will have everything you need. We visited Lake Placid and went hiking also. It has a full kitchen so you can cook you meals and have breakfast.

It's cheap, clean, and the people you met there are super friendly ! I recommend it !

Room Tip: With a large dog, the Spread Eagle is perfect, but you will have to get 2 of the twin beds together...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prof_Karine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 57 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2012

This inn is the quintessential comfortable rustic place to relax and recharge. It is located in town, but minutes away from breath taking views and trail heads to the high peaks. We wanted to enjoy hiking with our dog and we were so pleasantly surprised at how dog friendly this inn is. It is also clean (no evidence of our furry friends) and people without pets will enjoy as well! The website is great so it should answer must all questions. We have found a new vacation spot we expect we will return to many a time!

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonirows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed two nights at Rooster Comb for a short getaway, and will definitely be back !
Clean and nicely decorated rooms.
The set up offers access to a full kitchen, nice washrooms with washer/dryer, a fireplace and super nice host. We even got to see the making of the furniture.
Well situated, great value nice place, what else do you need ?
We'll be back soon.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingCnD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Steve Bowers runs a terrific little inn. Don't come here looking for a private bath (although one room has one) and turn down service; Come because you want a soft chair by a warm fire, a host that wants you to be comfortable, a pet friendly location, a shared kitchen and other guests like you. This place is neat as a pin and adjoins one of the nicest shops for local artisans in the ADK.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adirondak46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This was our third time staying at the RoosterComb Inn, for a total of 4 nights altogether. We stayed in July 2011, December 2011 and January 2012. For us it's perfect, reasonably priced, communal kitchen, and we can book 1 night on a weekend (some places only accept 2 nights). As others have noted, it's well furnished, clean and the owner is pleasant, accommodating and fun to chat with. We love having kitchen facilities to use as we save money preparing our own meals and find it relaxing to do after a day of hiking.

There's a small grocery store a minute away for picking up meal items, with an excellent meat department. The meat is local, and good quality.

Over the years we've stayed at more than 15 different B&B's, Hotels, motels, Inns, Hostels, etc. in the area, and this is the one we like best.

Kay

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kay64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Stayed here one night after a long week of camping. We booked the suite with its own bathroom and what a value! Great location right in Keene Valley with trails, food and shops all within walking distance in this quaint little town. The rooms were clean, comfy beds and beautiful furniture. Self serve kitchen was clean and convenient. We had the place to ourselves so I can't comment on noise, because it was quiet for us! Our friendly host was happy to offer lots of info and suggestions about the area. Beautiful handmade furniture is made here as well. Wish I had the extra cash and room to take some home! Memorable stay and well worth the price! Will visit again!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadMojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2011

The roostercomb is a great value for money place in keene valley. its clean and recently renovated. however, do not trust the online availability calendar. make sure to call and speak to the owners to book and confirm your reservation. what's online isn't updated regularly and shows vacancy when there really isn't. disappointing in that regard.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
2  Thank mtlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene Valley
11.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,339 reviews
11.1 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 31 in Lake Placid
25 reviews
8.3 mi away
ADK Trail Inn
ADK Trail Inn
#1 of 1 in Upper Jay
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
Placid Bay Inn
Placid Bay Inn
#1 of 14 in Lake Placid
352 reviews
1.6 mi away
Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast
Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 4 in Keene Valley
204 reviews
12.1 mi away
Lake House
Lake House
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RoosterComb Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RoosterComb Inn

Address: 3 Market St, Keene Valley, NY 12943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Keene Valley
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keene Valley
Price Range: $87 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — RoosterComb Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RoosterComb Inn is located in Keene Valley,NY walking distance or short drive to many trails. Our Adirondack style six room bedroom Inn can accommodate any large hiking group or family. Full kitchen and a washer and dryer are available to all guests. Large deck area and fire pit offer summer hangout. In winter we have cozy room with wood stove to rest after your day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your RoosterComb Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing