We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why Bother?”

Keene Valley Ausable Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bakersfiled
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Why Bother?”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We tried to eat but were told the wait would be 45 minutes by a VERY surley female. Why attempt to enjoy when the management is less than appreciative? Try Baxters!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank McGhost2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    44
    13
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Oneida, New York
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great find”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and I stopped in for dinner during the week. Started off with cups of beef lentil soup that was rich, hearty, and not salty. My husband went for the veggie burger which he thoroughly enjoyed. I opted for one of the specials of the day --broiled cod. The fish arrived hot and perfectly done nicely but lightly seasoned. Fluffy rice pilaf and tender baby green beans accompanied the fish.

Service was prompt and attentive without being overwhelming. We will return :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Always a good stop”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our third visit here and we were not disappointed. Service always friendly. Soups are homemade and delicious- if you like mushrooms, the hungarian mushroom soup is a must. We had duck wings this visit( as well as soup). They were crisp, moist and delicious. The deck offers good people watching. The inside is cozy and includes Adirondack rockers, and a nice bar. Always look forward to stopping on our annual trip.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gail L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Where do you get good food in Keene Valley?”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We have been frequenting the Keene Valley area for over 10 years, and had been spoiled by 'Tip a Canoe' for gourmet cooking. With that establishment now gone, Ausable Inn is really the only option in town.
Red meat is over cooked to the point you cannot chew it. So fine. I decide on my next visit to not order it. I get the vegetarian pasta instead. It is dripping in oily sauce, to the point I can't finish it.
Not sure what to order for dinner at this place. But appetizers and salads are good.
Think a few drinks from the bar help as well.
I don't remember this place being quite such poor quality a few years back, has management changed???
Service was EXCELLENT... but the food, not.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ADK_Dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keene Valley
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Meal”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We are local residents of Keen Valley and recently revisited the Keene Valley Ausable Inn. We were a large party and had a great meal with excellent service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JDO1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Keene Valley Ausable Inn also viewed

 

Been to Keene Valley Ausable Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing