We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My "home away from home."”
Review of Keene Valley Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Keene Valley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keene Valley Lodge
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keene Valley
Florida
1 review
“My "home away from home."”
Reviewed September 11, 2009

Recently returned from my annual 3-week stay at the Keene Valley Lodge and enjoyed every thing and every hour of my visit. This was my 6th consecutive year of staying at the Keene Valley Lodge in the Notman Suite. It is the only unit in the Lodge complete with kitchen, living room, dining room, bedroom, bath and outdoor patio....all well-maintained and well-furnished. I now refer to it as "my home away from home".

The lodge is more that a B and B...it is a place to relax, breath clean air, read a book, admire the beautiful flower beds, play chess, visit with other guests, take a hot bath and relax your sore muscles in preparation for the next day activities. George and Laurie (Inn Keeper and Owners) and the staff are very knowledgeable about all local activities. They know from experience the mountain trails, ski trails, swimming holes, fly-fishing holes,. canoe and kayak activities, art shows, library activities, museums in the North Country, etc, and will share their knowledge......ask and you shall receive.

In visiting with Keene Valley Lodge guests I realize that many families return OFTEN. They too have discovered the comfort and pleasure of staying at the Keene Valley Lodge...my "home away from home".

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    17
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
33
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
western NY
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2009

My husband and I first stayed at The Keene Valley Lodge seven years ago. We fell in love with the place and have returned every year, sometimes alone (when we can manage it), often with our children, who have also come to love the KVL. The breakfasts there are...well, is "legendary" too grand a word? Homemade muffins, packed with fresh fruit, coffee cake (and coffee) to die for, whole grain breads, organic oatmeal, yogurt, fresh fruit and yummy scrambled eggs for the protein-conscious hiker. It's been our base of operations, and our carrot-on-the-stick for many post-backpacking stays. The town and the innkeepers have never been less than charming, marvelous, and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westernNYBackpacker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2009

Just returned from a two night stay. The queen size bed in room #4
Was SHOT. It creaked and groaned and I constantly rolled to the side.
A creaky old inn with uneven wooden floors is quaint. A worn out mattress
at $100.00 a night is NOT. Breakfast ok but those powdered eggs. UGH!!
Also the traffic noise is irritating especially with open windows.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zadeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kvlodge, Owner at Keene Valley Lodge, responded to this review, August 16, 2011
Room 4 now has a brand new memory foam mattress. Perhaps it was an off day for our eggs but I guarantee they are real scrambled eggs that we buy by the dozen, crack open into a frying pan and then add New York State aged cheddar cheese before serving. We usually gets lots of compliments on them and have had several guests ask me for the recipe.

We are on a main street in a town so road noise can be of some concern at times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington,Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2009

My nineteen year old and I stayed at Keene Valley as a jump off point for a backpacking trip in the high peaks. Our only dissapointment was that we did not have more time to relax in the Inn before leaving. The oversized living room is very cozy with a huge fireplace, lots of interesting local literature, and all kinds of Adirondacks reference information to help you plan and enjoy your outings.
Although my 19 year old's appetite is nearly impossible to satisfy, Georges breakfast of hot oatmeal,muffins,fresh fruit, yogurt ,etc. was plentiful and did the trick.
The room and beds were comfortable and we slept very well. The bathroom was modern and roomy.
The location is very convenient to restaurants and trail heads.
Most important was the assistance with our hiking plans. Various guide books we had referred to provided inconsistent information about trail conditions, such as the status of the cables on Gothics. George made calls for us and got the exact information we needed to start our trek with confidence. We also had an issue with our car and George and his wfie could not have been more accomodating in helping us out.
We recommend Keene Valley Inn to anyone staying in the area, particularly those interested in staying with Inn Keepers very familiar with the outdoor opportunities in the High Peaks Region.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighPeaksTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2009

The Keene Valley Lodge was everything my partner and I were looking for. The room was simple, yet clean and comfortable. The building has a good character, and the breakfasts were full and nutritious. The hosts were kind enough to allow us the use of the kitchen, and since we were on a budget, this was a big plus factor.

The eating options in town are good; the Ausable Inn providing typical grilled meat faire, and the Noonmark Diner being the best place for deserts.

If you're looking for somewhere basic, clean, and comfortable, and are looking to hike on a budget, the Keene Valley Lodge is ideal.

Additionally, the KVL is very easy to access by public transport; we travelled from New York in around 4 hours by bus.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamp_666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Afula, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2008

We are a family of 6 and we slept in Beede Suite at the lodge.The house is old and beautiful and very well kept, the rooms were very nicely furnished, comfortable and clean. The common areas spacious and inviting. The atmosphere was freindly, open, welcome, many small details that gave the feeling that guests are really welcome and made us feel at home without being attended to at all hours.In fact the only time we saw the owners was at breakfast, which was delisious and wholesome.
The owners were very helpful and informative about the area.
We had a wonderful stay

  • Liked — Welcoming easygoing atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank gmeeei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2008

My family stayed here for 3 nights while we were in the Adirondacks doing some hiking. We enjoyed our stay very much. The breakfasts were hearty and filling...we especially liked the thick oats with the assortment of healthy toppings. My older daughter looked forward to the various baked goods and variety of fruit everyday. My younger daughter drank her fill of hot chocolate whenever we got back from a cool mountain! We stayed in the Notman suite, complete with a small kitchenette. Had I been more organized, I would've done more dinner cooking, but it was very nice to have it. The suite was very quiet and comfortable. One lunch time we were visited by a family of deer. We enjoyed the inn very much!

  • Liked — quiet, close to the mountains
  • Disliked — ????
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddosmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene Valley
11.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lake Placid
11.8 mi away
Hotel North Woods
Hotel North Woods
#13 of 31 in Lake Placid
209 reviews
11.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#7 of 31 in Lake Placid
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Lake Placid
11.0 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#17 of 31 in Lake Placid
10 reviews
0.3 mi away
RoosterComb Inn
RoosterComb Inn
#3 of 4 in Keene Valley
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keene Valley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keene Valley Lodge

Property: Keene Valley Lodge
Address: 1834 Route 73, Keene Valley, NY 12943
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Keene Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Keene Valley
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Keene Valley Lodge is located in the heart of the Adirondack High Peaks, in the quaint hamlet of Keene Valley. It is the perfect starting point for all of your adventures in our pristine, wild mountains, whether it be hiking, climbing, skiing, snowshoeing, or simply enjoying the fresh mountain air. Relax by the fire or outside on the front porch after an invigorating day in the woods. We offer a wide choice of rooms, from small rooms perfect for the budget hiker, to large suites that can accommodate families or groups of friends. A full buffet breakfast is included with our rooms. We also offer the Phelps Cottage next door to the Lodge, a full house rental that sleeps up to 8 people. We have served our wonderful guests since 1999, a great many of whom have been returning for years. We are happy to share our knowledge of the surrounding mountains and trails, and can recommend the perfect day in the mountains for all levels of enjoyment. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keene Valley Hotel Keene Valley

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing