We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snow Goose met every need we had for a peaceful stay in the Adirondack Mountains”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 4 Keene Valley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2009

Wayne and Amy are excellent hosts who provide an open environment in their home. Our room was well-appointed, quiet and peaceful. We could hear the stream nearby and had easy access to Lake Placid and the marvelous surrounding towns. Great access to hiking and sightseeing.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billlhyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 209 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2009

Of the many really nice things about this place was the location. It was so nice to be away from the town and on its own big plot of land, which really felt like we were away from everything else without being far away from the bigger towns surrounding Lake Placid. Amy and Wayne are some of the warmest and welcoming people I've ever met without being intruding or in your face. Amy is a really fantastic cook, and if you're a foodie, you'll appreciate the five star quality of the breakfasts that rivals expensive brunch spots in NYC. The hosts are super helpful with guiding you around the area and suggesting great hiking trails. There really isn't anything else I could say. Highly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank genewoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We enjoyed our stay at Snow Goose very much. We found the hosts, Amy and Wayne Stoner, to be very caring individuals whom we grew to love and respect very much the week we were there. While full breakfasts on the weekend were amazing, the weekdays' offerings were unique and delicious as well. We shall always remember the Stoners' ability to care deeply, and entertain in a lovely manner.

Linda and David Dawson

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lddaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2009

The Snow Goose Lodge, an old Adirondack landmark located in one of the region's most charming villages, has been beautifully restored by its new owners. My room with its private bath, kitchenette, entry and fireplace was far more than I expected. From the hammock on the front porch to the hiking trails leaving from their backyard, everything was perfect. My warm and welcoming hosts, Amy & Wayne, provided an amazing breakfast on Saturday and lots of great conversation throughout my visit. I'm already planning next year's trip!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sierra9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

Care has been given to provide comfort without compromising the history of this lovely home. Amy was very friendly and helpful with good local knowledge and advice. Despite our mid-week stay, we enjoyed extra touches at breakfast - would have been great to experience their weekend hospitality. We would easily return if it wasn't so far to go (Australia)!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sth-aussie-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

My wife and I stayed at this B+B for 3 days in September. Amy and her husband were warm and friendly hosts. We stayed int he room that had a small kitchen, Breakfasts were hearty and delicious. It was close to many of the hiking trails we visited.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OutdoorExplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

My wife and I stayed here as part of our honeymoon in September. The place was perfect for us. We had a room on the main level which had a separate entrance than we could use so we really felt like we were in our own space. The breakfast everyday was delicious, really, and large! The location is good, being in the High Peaks District, about 20 minutes from Lake Placid, and just a few miles from some small towns with a small selection of restaurants and shops. We loved it and hope to go back for several anniversaries in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aht931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keene Valley
12.4 mi away
Cobble Mountain Lodge
Cobble Mountain Lodge
#15 of 32 in Lake Placid
28 reviews
13.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
Crowne Plaza Lake Placid
#6 of 32 in Lake Placid
1,355 reviews
1.6 mi away
RoosterComb Inn
RoosterComb Inn
#3 of 4 in Keene Valley
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Mirror Lake Inn Resort & Spa
7.4 mi away
Bark Eater Inn
Bark Eater Inn
#1 of 2 in Keene
38 reviews
9.9 mi away
ADK Trail Inn
ADK Trail Inn
#1 of 1 in Upper Jay
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1433 Nys Route 73, Keene Valley, NY 12943-1803
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Keene Valley
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Keene Valley
Price Range: $108 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Snow Goose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing