We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SERVICE IMPROVED SINCE LAST TIME THERE”
Review of The Fat Lady Cafe

The Fat Lady Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
ny
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“SERVICE IMPROVED SINCE LAST TIME THERE”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a follow up to my previous review - a very noticeable change. My wife and our
business associate went for dinner - it was an unusually warm day and lakeside dinning was
beautiful as usual. We were happily surprised by the GREAT service. It was like night and
day compared to our last visit. The water glasses were refilled without asking, the salad
came BEFORE the meal, the food was very good and the waitress was extremely pleasant.
All in all, we were very happy.. To those who balk at the prices, don't forget that their
business is very seasonal and lakefront property always demands a premium. Our total bill
for three was $90 including tip. The tuna special was $26 and two pasta dishes were $19
each. I really hope they keep this up - if they don't I will be the first to let everyone know.
In the meantime, go there and enjoy,

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank roseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    26
    8
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Average Experience/Expensive Food”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

The location is great. Parking is a bit of an issue as you have to park along a narrow and busy road. The food is good but way overpriced! I can't emphasize that enough. $13 for a burger and fries? Really? Our waitress was good but there were not enough staff to wait tables. That hurt our service. This place looked dirty too. I am guessing it has seen better days. It was very busy though. I am guessing it is a regular for the townies.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Familycampingnuts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Brunch with a view”
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Beautiful setting with dock dining overlooking lake. Good choice on brunch menu including interesting pick me ups. Food was good quality without going overboard. Friendly service. Step across the street to bakery for cookies before leaving!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doc_joe_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Kind of crowded, but the staff is friendly and the sandwiches were excellent!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

The wait staff was friendly, the menu is good with lots of choices. The sandwiches were excellent, fun to sit right on the lake!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank HB1008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A Sentimental Favorite!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

When Judith opened this restaurant, it was the start of something big... and Kauneonga Lake has followed suit with other special restaurants like hers and the area has become a very special place in the summer... we've had so many wonderful dinners at Fat Lady Cafe (and at the others in the area) and it is always special... good service, delicious food, nice and reasonable wine list... and usually Judith is there to great us and catch up! We've been there for birthdays, family dinners and many that are just the two of us... and you can't go wrong with this view!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Party0fF0ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fat Lady Cafe also viewed

 
Bethel, Catskill Region
 

Been to The Fat Lady Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing