We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern rooms in a small town.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Johnstown
Certificate of Excellence
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, modern rooms in a small town.”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We were headed towards Alexandria Bay from Cooperstown/Howe Caverns and needed a place to rest. I was happy they had vacancy considering there was a wedding party celebrating in the dinning area and most likely blocking up some rooms. It seemed like they were really enjoying there stay. I made the mistake of of booking through priceline for the wrong date. When we arrived they couldn't find our names in the system. This is when we realized our reservation was for the night before. Of course I could not get refunded by the hotel or priceline (I did'nt ask because I know the policy and I was truely upset with myself and ashamed), but it would have been nice if we got a small discount or breakfast? The man at the front desk just said we have a room but it will not be the rate you paid for... I understand it was totally my fault. I was already so embarrased, upset, and tired. We paid again, this time they charged us full price ($10 more? Lol) for our nights stay. At least I found my Triple A card after the fact for small discount. I pulled my partner outside to convince him to stay somewhere else, but we were too tired. We should have left. This is a small town and I'm sure the room would just have been empty if we decided not stay.... my fault all around. They had vacancy the entire night. I will not stay here again. Thank goodness the room was clean and comfortable. The room was nice and included a small fridge. I prefer hotels/Inns that are more personable, friendly and customer oriented. Surprised there was no continental breakfast. Should have stayed at Microtel, nearby. We were just passing through.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLPrieto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear MLPrieto,

Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. I'm truly delighted you liked your room accommodations. We assure you that we are committed to delivering quality in all aspects of the guest experience. I am sorry that not everything measured up to your expectations. We appreciate your feedback which will help us improve our service and accommodations for each guest. We hope that you will consider giving us another chance in the future. Thank you again for your comments.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    52
    26
    6
    13
See reviews for
59
37
11
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed here the second weekend in August. The hotel was packed on Saturday night. Front desk was very helpful checking in all our family members. Rooms were clean. Beds were fine. Restaurant was fine. Hotel was quiet. Overall a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Chose this hotel because it had some of the better reviews of hotels in this area at the best price. Front desk personnel were very friendly and helpful. Have a large pool as well as a Fitness Room with LifeFitness equipment which is my favorite. Rooms were clean and beds ok. Onsite restaurant and lounge was very convenient as well. Would definitely stay here for future business in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GirlOnTheGo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Very unfriendly customer service and staff!! Had an issue with the phone and was charged unnecessarily. Manager didn't even have the courtesy to call back and explain. VERY VERY Disappointed with the service!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bluefalco999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear Bluefalco999,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Johnstown Gloversville, NY. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bohemia, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have been staying at this hotel for years when we visit family in the area. This is the first time I have stayed since some major renovations. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We had a view of the pool which was very nice. The staff was very friendly and accomodating. We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant which was very good and extremely reasonable. We are always happy with the accomodations and will return again.

Room Tip: There is an ice cream stand just about 1/4 mile down the road from the Holiday Inn called Udderly De...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bbbonnie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We were 4 couples, one with a puppy so we booked a pet friendly room. When we arrived after everyone checked in we went to have lunch outside on the patio. We were told the puppy could not be on the patio, or on his owners lap. So one of the party had to jump over a fence and sit on the grass and eat his food on the lawn behind the tables. So I went to the front desk to inquire if 1) the printed rules said you could not leave the dog unattended in the room and outside food was not permitted ( sign in lobby) where exactly were we supposed to eat. They agreed we could leave the puppy in his crate for up to an hour as long as he did not disturb another guest, and yes it was contradictory but those were the rules. Sat night, a large group of people were in the pool (20 +) yet Sunday morning it was locked and I was told the chlorine was out of wack. Except for the waitress, no one in this hotel seemed to care if the guests were happy or not. I was told to write a complaint, not even given an envelope to put it in- hence my review here. If you don't need anything from the staff, you most likely will have an OK stay as the rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and rooms have refrigerators and microwaves ??

Room Tip: the rooms on the first floor near the pool are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sterling1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear sterling1954,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I am pleased that the room accommodations lived up to your expectations. However, I would like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the guest services we offer to our guests. Thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

 With limited options for accomodations in the area, we were not sure what to expect, but overall, we were very happy with this choice.  Room was clean, a little small, but nice.  The pool was very refreshing and also clean.  The restaurant in the hotel, where we ate breakfast, was very inexpensive and the food was decent. My only complaint is that unlike some Holiday Inns, this particular one does not offer guests a continental breakfast included with their stay.  My friend was staying across the street at the Microtel inn, for 50$ cheaper, and she had a breakfast buffet, which was limited, but included in her stay.  If we are out this way again, we would definitely choose this hotel.  

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Memoriesforalifetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cmccredie, Manager at Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Memoriesforalifetime,

Thank you for taking the time to recognize our hotel on TripAdvisor. We appreciate receiving feedback from our guests to let us know how we are doing. We do realize that our rates our higher than some of the other options in the area, yet we feel that having a pool, full service restaurant and lounge, outdoor patio dining, free wi-fi, fridge and microwaves and the other amenities we offer is well worth it for our guests.

Considering we have a full service restaurant, we do not offer a continetal breakfast, but members of the IHG Rewards Club do receive a $6.00 coupon at our hotel to use towards breakfast. IHG Rewards members also receive points for every stay that never expire and extended checkouts.

We hope that you will stay with us again in your future travels. Once again thank you for the comments.

Best Regards,
Chris McCredie
Manager
Holiday Inn Johnstown-Gloversville, NY
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnstown
0.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Johnstown
24.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 3 in Cobleskill
450 reviews
22.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Schoharie
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.3 mi away
Super 8 Cobleskill NY
Super 8 Cobleskill NY
#1 of 3 in Cobleskill
275 reviews
0.1 mi away
Super 8 Johnstown/Gloversville
10.4 mi away
Super 8 Amsterdam
Super 8 Amsterdam
#1 of 2 in Amsterdam
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville

Property: Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville
Address: 308 N Comrie Ave, Johnstown, NY 12095-1095
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Johnstown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Johnstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Great hotel, Guests love, stay at the Holiday Inn Johnstown-Gloversville Hotel. Conveniently located in the foothills of the Adirondack Mountains the hotel is only 7 miles from the NYS Thruway I-90 on Route 30A and 45 minutes from the Albany International Airport. Perfectly located for business travelers! Fulton Montgomery Community College, Fage Yogurt, Benjamin Moore, Wal-Mart Distribution, Townsend Leather, Finkles Distribution and more, we are only minutes away from Johnstown Industrial Park or Crossroads Industrial Park. This hotel provides all the amenities that a business traveler needs, such as free wireless & wired high-speed Internet access and business center. Entertaining the family? Activities for everyone, no matter what the season are just minutes away; Lapland Lake Nordic Vacation Center, Royal Mountain Ski Resort, Adirondack Animal Land, The Shrine of Our Lady of Martyrs, Eagles Mills Cider Mill, Six Flags Great Escape, historic Johnson Hall. Or take a short scenic drive to enjoy the Saratoga Racetrack, Cooperstown and Howe s Caverns. With a level of service & comfort that s sure to exceed your expectations, you ll see why the Holiday Inn Johnstown-Gloversville Hotel is the right choice for all of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville Hotel Johnstown
Johnstown Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing