We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"We were very pleased"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Johnstown
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Johnstown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I would highly recommed this hotel. We were in Johnstown for a couple of family functions and had 6 rooms total including 3 suites. The rooms were clean and spacious. The bed was really comfortable. The management and stafff were all gracious and very accomodating.

Since we have family in Johnstown, we will definitley be back. Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NOLA4158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (696)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

670 - 676 of 696 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2011

The four rooms we had were all spacious with two comfortable queen beds in each, and a sort of window seat arrangement in the two suites. There was a frig, sink, and microwave(I think) in the suites as well. Bathroom small but otherwise fine. Pretty good breakfast with waffle maker, but there is a need for more seating for eating on the weekend we were there. No pool. Decent price through main reservation service and senior rate. Three floors with elevator. Pretty quiet although pretty full with families doing things. Reservation somewhat messed up by onsite staff . Nothing that spoiled our stay. Pretty far away from route 90. Lots of chain restaurants, and other eating places nearby.

Room Tip: Lighting is all overhead and glaring. Beds very comfortable. New everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlanneNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Attended a family function in the Johnstown area and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in July 2011. Everything is almost new, good free breakfast, nice staff, and a great location near lots of stores and restaurants. Not fancy, but great value.
Would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robn327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Four of us guys stayed here on our vacation to the Baseball Hall of Fame, based on reviews form this site. First the good, the beds and pillows were very comfortable and there were no noise issues and the free breakfast was just fine. We were also pleasantly surprised to find an extra small bed by the window which was good because one of us is very obese and gassy and one of us doesn't enjoy sleeping in the same bed as another man. Also, the night guy at the front desk was helpful in getting us extra blankets and pillows and the AC was nice and cool.

The big problem with our stay was the smell of our room that hit us like a mack truck when we opened our door. We weren't quite sure what the smell was, but we asked for another room and were told that there weren't any others left. We then found out that we were in a pet room and we realized what the odor was: WET DOG. Not only that but there were 3 or 4 large stains on the carpet throughout the room, so we tried not to use our imaginations on what they were. I asked for some Febreeze but all he could find was some type of cleaning spray that didn't really help. Then we discovered some dirt on a bed sheet, not a stain like it had been washed and didn't come out, but some actual dirt that looked fresh like perhaps from a dirty shoe. It was after midnight and we're all low maintenance so we just decided not to worry about it for the time being. The next afternoon after they had cleaned our room, we discovered that the dirt was still there, despite following the instructions for getting your sheets changed on those BS environmental cards that all the hotels have. So we had to go talk to a cleaning person to get our dirty sheets changed. We bought ourselves a $5 bottle of Glade Fabric & Air Odor Eliminator for Pet Odors and thus for the rest of our stay our room smelled like freshly baked bread sitting on a bed of roses with a nice cool breeze coming off the pacific ocean. But I digress, one more problem with the hotel is they seemed understaffed during the day as often there was no one at the front desk. There seemed to be one customer service person running the hotel by herself. A bunch of people were waiting at the desk for a while to check out.

Overall I will give this place 2 out of 5 stars because once the odor and cleanliness problems were solved we enjoyed our stay, although those problems were solved by us and not the staff. I can't understand why a place that allows pets would not have a can of lysol or febreeze on hand, if it were me I'd be buying cases of that stuff. I left the bottle of remaining Glade at the front desk so hopefully someone got the hint.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Fridge99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Immediately upon entering the lobby, we realized that we'd picked the right place. The lobby is tastefully decorated and very comfortable. The room was lovely. The bed was unusually comfortable--both because of the mattress and the linens. Breakfast and coffee were above average. Everything was very clean and well-cared for. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kader19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We have been traveling for a week from the midwest to Boston and back again. This was a great hotel stop. New everything, great pillow top beds, clean, wonderful comforters. Free internet, excercise room, close to restaurants. Breakfast was difficult in that the waffle maker and toaster didn't function well. But there was oatmeal and good coffee.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deena l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Quick and easy check in. No frills, no fuss, but clean and well maintained. A great bargain. We stay there on our way to a local ski resort.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoaminHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnstown
21.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Schoharie
310 reviews
23.4 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 3 in Cobleskill
467 reviews
23.4 mi away
Super 8 Cobleskill NY
Super 8 Cobleskill NY
#1 of 3 in Cobleskill
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Schenectady
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Johnstown/Gloversville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Johnstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Johnstown

Address: 136 Comrie Avenue, Johnstown, NY 12095
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Johnstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Johnstown
Price Range: $60 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Johnstown 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Microtel Inn and Suites By Wyndham, located in the historical Johnstown! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Johnstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Johnstown Hotel Johnstown
Microtel Inn And Suites Johnstown
Johnstown Microtel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing