We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel for sleeping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Super 8 Johnstown/Gloversville
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Johnstown
Irondequoit, New York
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A hotel for sleeping”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here while doing work in the area. Check in was smooth, good rate. Lobby is a little small, but property looks well kept from the outside. Had a third floor room, no elevator, so it was a bit of a pain hauling my stuff up to the room. If you have a lot of stuff, ask for a lower floor.

Room was small but well appointed with fridge/microwave/etc., but an ancient television. So ancient, in fact, that it had no external input for my DVD player (I travel a lot, I carry a small DVD player) and a not too good picture. I have been told, though, they are in the process of updating all the televisions and are half done. The room was slightly overbearing with the smell of cleaning chemicals, even with the window open. And here's another rub - it was a cool day, but the room was pretty warm, even with the window open. I was left with the decision to leave the window and blinds open to route 30A, or close it and deal with the loud and not too cool A/C. I split the difference. Room was clean, though.

Comfortable recliner in the room, small work area, decent internet connectivity at night, not so in the AM. Not too much within waling distance of the hotel, so I was sort of stuck for the night in a slightly warm, slightly chemical-y room with a lower quality TV biding my time until morning. The bed wasn't all that comfortable, but serviceable, the pillows were pretty bad - way, way too firm for my liking.

Shower was average, bathroom seems clean. Strange observation - the toilet is lower than most I've ever, er, used.

Small breakfast area with a good spread, though, including waffles. I don't eat breakfast, though, so can't offer more of an assessment. Checkout was smooth.

For a single night, this is a decent value and I would come back if I wound up stuck in the area with no real issues.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mclee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amar P, General Manager at Super 8 Johnstown/Gloversville, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for staying at super8. We are in process of changing T.V'S. Which will be done shortly. I will take your suggestion and work on using less chemical while cleaning room to prevent the smell. Also Pillows will be changed. Again I Thank you for your valuable time to bring this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    87
    64
    31
    31
See reviews for
106
64
40
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Milford
2 reviews
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The room was clean, newer and comfortable mattresses, flat tvs and well maintained property, close to highways, shopping and restaurants

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Mark1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amar P, General Manager at Super 8 Johnstown/Gloversville, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your time and staying with us. Hope to see you again on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Best motel I can say truly inpressed me . Located on the "Gateway to the Adirondack Park" and Newly remodeled with a great Staff that has a positive "can do attitude" . Computer in the Lobby and a Good Breakfast with Waffles, Fruits and all . Large rooms with Microwaves Fridge Iron Boards Etc.
Neighborhood has some great Restaurants including Applebee's with a 10% Food discount and Sam's Bar and Grill all near the Motel and also a Mall.
I shall return again this Summer for a longer stay

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyannotti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnstown
0.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Johnstown
22.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Schoharie
303 reviews
24.2 mi away
Super 8 Cobleskill NY
Super 8 Cobleskill NY
#1 of 3 in Cobleskill
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Rodeway Inn and Suites
Rodeway Inn and Suites
#2 of 3 in Cobleskill
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Johnstown - Gloversville
10.5 mi away
Super 8 Amsterdam
Super 8 Amsterdam
#1 of 2 in Amsterdam
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Johnstown/Gloversville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Johnstown/Gloversville

Property: Super 8 Johnstown/Gloversville
Address: 301 N Comrie Ave, Johnstown, NY 12095-1018
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Johnstown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Johnstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Johnstown/Gloversville 2*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close To Area Activities For All Seasons Get some rest after a long day on the road at our Super 8 Johnstown / Gloversville hotel, conveniently located off Interstate 90. Our Johnstown hotel puts the beauty and excitement of the Adirondack region at your fingertips, with easy access to Albany, Cooperstown and much more.Use free Wi-Fi Internet access to plan your outings, and use your in-room refrigerator and microwave to make a snack for the road. Enjoy free continental breakfast in the morning, and get ready to take on the day. With free truck and RV parking, it is easy to explore everything the area has to offer. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 Johnstown/Gloversville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Johnstown/Gloversville Hotel Johnstown
Super Eight Johnstown
Johnstown Super Eight
Johnstown Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing