We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, spacious, reasonably priced.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Binghamton - Johnson City
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Johnson City
Happy Creek, VA
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Clean, spacious, reasonably priced.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Each time I'm in the Greater Binghamton area I stay at the Red Roof Inn in Johnson City. It's right in the middle between Binghamton and Endicott, and a scenic drive from the Finger Lakes. The last time I stayed at the Red Roof I had one of the superior king rooms. This room was very clean, spacious, had a nice desk for work, and the bed was above average. The room also had a fridge and microwave for convenience. You also can't beat that it's close to a Wegman's grocery store and there's this little hole in the wall bar called the Deacon's Bench that is just a hoot. Go there to try "spiedies", "City chicken", and some pretty good wings. This area is also crazy on something called "Hot Pie" but where I'm from we call it pizza (we also don't use American cheese on it).
Either way the staff at the Red Roof is very friendly and check in/check out takes minutes. The only item I am not a fan of is that the pillows are child sized, and if there's 2 adults in the room they give you 2 postage stamp size towels. Other than that I will be heading back to the Greater Binghamton area soon and I already have my reservation at the Red Roof. Gonna have me some "Hot Pie" and "City Chicken" (which isn't even chicken at all....crazy!)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slovakdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    162
    70
    17
    16
See reviews for
126
100
52
77
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goldens Bridge, New York
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is nothing special, but is nicely very close to the Wegmann's grocery store, which is a huge plus for grabbing easy and good food.

Stayed two nights in June while visiting family. Exterior and interior are pretty grungy, but I given the price I would stay again.

I wouldn't recommend this as a romantic getaway, but it is perfectly serviceable for people needing a place to stop overnight from the highway or those that would spend the majority of their time out of the room.

Room Tip: I would generally prefer the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odubik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed recently for the graduation weekend at Binghamton University. You have to book about a year in advance and we did. I reserved a room on the first floor as we were taking our old, arthritic dog. A couple of nights before, I called to confirm and I was told we were in a second floor walkup room. I explained to the wonderful Anita our situation. I stated I had expressly stated our first floor room need a year before. She worked things out so we were on the first floor which worked great for us and our dog. We have stayed several times and find the hotel to be neat and roomy, perfect for visiting the college. There is a shopping center across the street and a Wegman's store down the block. It is an easy drive to the college and it is far better not to be in downtown Binghamton

Room Tip: The second floor rooms are walk ups so if you have a pet or don't do stairs well, ask for a firs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRRI203, General Manager at Red Roof Inn Binghamton - Johnson City, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your compliments! Anita was delighted to know that her efforts were appreciated and that she was able to honor your special requests to make your stay 100% enjoyable! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon and thank you for sharing your feedback!

Happy Travels,

Marcy Nelson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I decided a few days before the weekend that I wanted to visit Binghamton and found the best rates available were at the Red Roof Inn. I was kind of hesitant because I had never stayed at a Red Roof before but I booked two nights at the Inn in Binghamton. I had car trouble on the way to NY and didn't arrive till 11 PM at night, tired and disgusted with the car issues, but I was greeted with a smile and within five minutes, I was on my way to the room. At that point I was too tired to notice much and went to bed immediately. The next morning, I examined my little home away from home and was surprised at how clean and well maintained everything was. Since my reason for visiting Binghamton was to hike, I didn't expect to spend much time in my room but the comfort of this hotel made me wish that I had a little more time to spend enjoying it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Our's was a one-night stay on a long trip. After a long, tiring day, we appreciated the nice comfortable room at a very reasonable price. We stayed in a superior king room. This location has had recent room updates and redecorating. It was very nice and clean. With a mall nearby, there were several dining choices available in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, NY
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We came in for a dog show and it great that pets stay free. They even have a station in the walking area with poop bags and disposal. We were in a handicapped accessible room, so our bathroom was very spacious and had both an overhead and handheld shower fixture. The front desk was very efficient and ready to please. I appreciated the large pump pots of coffee in the lobby. They landscaped the courtyard very nicely and kept it well maintained. There was free Wi-fi that was easy to access. The only negative, and small at that, is that there wasn't much surface area to put things down on. Our laptop took up a lot of it, so there was no extra table and only one chair in the room. The mini fridge and microwave made breakfast a lot nicer!
It was conveniently located and 8 minutes from Binghamton.

Room Tip: All have doors exiting to the outside and the only access to the second floor is by stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank showingmydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abington, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

reserved a room online in advance, check in was quick and easy, friendly desk staff. My wife, my dog and I were all very pleased with the room. Comfortable beds, and the extra outlets were appreciated.
Probably the best value for dog-friendly hotels in the area
Especially because this hotel doesn't charge extra for pets, it sure would be nice if the guests would clean up after their dogs. Someone let their dog "go" about 4 paces from the pet cleanup station. Come on, people, really?!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmelair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Johnson City
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Of Johnson City
1.4 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Binghamton
2.2 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Binghamton University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Binghamton
3.2 mi away
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
Econo Lodge Inn & Suites
#8 of 13 in Binghamton
163 reviews
3.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 13 in Binghamton
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Binghamton - Johnson City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Binghamton - Johnson City

Property: Red Roof Inn Binghamton - Johnson City
Address: 590 Fairview St, Johnson City, NY 13790-1480
Location: United States > New York > Johnson City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Johnson City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Binghamton - Johnson City 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated 107 rooms hotel conveniently located adjacent to the Oakdale Mall shopping center and retaurants. Quick drive to all area attractions such as Binghamton Senators and BMets games, Binghamton University, Enjoie Golf Course, as well as both Lourdes and Wilson Hospitals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Roof Inn Binghamton - Johnson City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Johnson City / Binghamton Hotel Johnson City
Johnson City Red Roof Inn
Red Roof Inn Binghamton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing