We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably priced decent place to stay”
Review of Kariba Bush Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lake Kariba
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kariba Bush Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Lake Kariba B&B and Inns
Lusaka, Zambia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced decent place to stay”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

We went for a weekend which was just enough time to do everything we wanted to do. There isn't an awful lot to do there but we enjoyed relaxing a bit. The food was good and the accommodation was good. The last stretch of road is a dirt road which did take long and by that time we just wanted to get there!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Celeste91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karibabushclub, Manager at Kariba Bush Club, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Celeste91,

Many thanks for your review.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope that we shall be able to offer you more in activities should you ever visit in the future. We are constantly trying to improve our services and accommodations, and hope that you may be back for another visit should you ever travel to Zambia again. Wishing you and your family all the very best.
Kind Regards, Chennay Jordaan & all the staff at Kariba Bush Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    14
    3
    5
    0
See reviews for
10
11
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2014

The photos on the Kariba Bush Club (KBC) website makes the lodge appear quite enticing, however, the list of activities on offer are somewhat limited. I would not recommend going to KBC during the rainy season because the drive from the Batoka turn off takes more like 3.5 - 4 hours instead of 2 hours (as we had been informed by the staff).

I am pleased to see that they have finally taken the canoe safari activity off their website because we were hugely disappointed to be told upon arrival that canoe safari was not an activity they had ever offered and this was never mentioned in our correspondence when we were enquiring about staying there. To add to our bad luck, the pool also happened to be out of use during our stay because they ran out of chlorine. We felt a little stuck because we had paid upfront and yet there wasn't a huge amount for us to do over the course of 3 days. The prospect of leaving the following day was also not overly appealing because of the long drive back on a very bad road.

We tried to make the most of our time there and if you find yourself in the area, I would recommend the crocodile farm tour and the dinner cruise. The local staff are friendly and knowledgeable, the owner is also very friendly and helpful but not around much at all during the day if you need help.

Room Tip: The lake view chalets are pretty good, pick one furthest away from the bar. The beds come with mosqu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karibabushclub, Manager at Kariba Bush Club, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Many thanks for your review of Kariba Bush Club.
We apologize for the fact that you did not enjoy your stay with us as much as you would have wanted to, but hope that we will get another chance in the future to welcome you back again as we do take constructive criticism seriously and are constantly trying to improve what we have on offer.
Unfortunately you did choose the worst month of the year to visit Kariba Bush Club and if you did make a booking with us prior to arriving (either by phone or email) you would have been warned about the roads and the fact that we "semi" close this time of the year (January to March) and do not normally take reservations for this time of the year - due to heavy rains and terrible road conditions. This is also our time of the year for annual maintenance and staff to take their annual leave, hence the reason we do not take bookings for this time of year. This would also explain why the pool was not up to standard at that time. The best time of the year to visit Kariba Bush Club is from May to November and should you ever visit Zambia again, please do return for a visit and we shall endeavour to make your stay with us as memorable as possible. We do offer all activities during this time of the year including crocodile conservancy tours, island walking safaris, sunset or dinner cruises and fishing excursions around private islands in the area home to an abundance of wildlife. A night or two aboard one of our houseboats or in our Maaze Island Tented camp is also a great way to explore more of the area.
Wishing you all the very best for the future, Chennay Jordaan & all the staff at Kariba Bush Club.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steenwijk, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

This is an amazing place to stay when you want peace and quietness. There is a lot to do for the fishing people. The lake is very huge and there are a lot of different fishes like the famous tigerfish and bream. We have catched both of them! We can highly recommend this stay! The owner, Shennay is really helpfull and kind! We would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Experiencetheworld86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mahlerific
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

I stayed at the Kariba Bush Club by mistake. Boy, was I lucky! After some meetings in Maamba (over an hour down a mountain road in southern Zambia), I found myself at least two hours from my originally booked lodge. A friend of my colleague's recommended Bush Club, warning only that it was a bit of a drive down a bad road.

Though the road to the lodge was indeed long and bumpy, it was worth the trip. The lodge itself is immaculately maintained, stocked with various game and a few very friendly dogs. Its chalets are spacious, clean, and picturesque. Each boasts an unforgettable view of Lake Kariba, along with the sounds of hundreds of birds, frogs, and monkeys (running through the mango trees). My chalet possessed a large bed, quality mosquito net, wood deck, and nice bathroom with running water. Within an hour of leaving, the cleaning staff had already turned my bed over.

The food is great - try the croc strips and bream - and the bartender courteous. The owner often meets with the guests at meals, making sure she provides efficient, friendly service. Her team is clearly well-trained and lines up for staff meetings every morning. Try to make it down to the lakefront beach (watching out for crocodiles) to see the prodigious lake fauna and mountaintops; Kariba is a manmade lake created by a huge dam on the Zambezi. I didn't stay on a houseboat (next time), but noticed they had nice decks with braai equipment, hot tubs, and private rooms. There looked to be a swimming platform, though I wouldn't recommend that, given the risk of crocodiles and bilharsia in any standing water in Zambia.

Overal, fantastic. I'll be back. The one problem is the road. Though the lodge undertakes grading it every dry season (starting in April), it can get dicey around November, when the rains wash the dirt out and come over some of the low village bridges. Definitely, definitely use a 4X4; you will get stuck if you drive a small car during rainy season.

Room Tip: The lodge offers a six- and ten-person chalet, in addition to private rooms and a small and large ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahlerific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Spent a weekend and I'm already thinking about when I can get back. The sunsets over Kariba are beautiful. The area was quite, but had plenty of things to do if you wanted (highly recommend tiger fishing). The breeze off the lake and the wildlife roaming around means that an afternoon in a hammock isn't time wasted.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karibabushclub, Manager at Kariba Bush Club, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear TravelWandering,

Many thanks for your feedback on Tripadvisor; we appreciate you taking the time to write this review and hope to see you back at Kariba Bush Club soon.

All the very best on your journey!

Kind Regards,
The Kariba Bush Club Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lusaka, Zambia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed at Kariba Bush Club in Marula House with 2 other families. The club was recommended by one of the people in our party and based on his previous visit, we arranged a very specific itinerary with the reservations office. The chalet was very comfortable with full bathrooms and kitchen. The only problem was the smell. The camp is alongside a croc farm and at night time the smell (which I assume was rotting meat) was nauseating. The group member who had been to the camp a few months earlier had not had the same experience so I am not sure if this was caused by the wind direction or something else.

The "private swimming pool" was very dirty and we didn't try that. The main swimming pool and surrounding area is great and the kids loved it.

We hired a specific boat for a day of fishing together with lunch on the island. There was a mix-up over the boat (the manager told us that the boat which we had specifically requested and had been used by the our group member only 3 months earlier, was in fact broken and had been out of action for 2 years?). The guide on the boat also did not seem to know any fishing spots which seemed very odd but we eventually guided him to a spot where we had great fun catching bream and catfish. When we arrived at the island, we found that there were guests there and we where unable to have lunch there as we had requested.

Unfortunately, we did not have the same experience as many of the other visitors on this site and we are unlikely to visit this place again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CraigL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Range of accommodation excellent - from camping to self catering to fully catered private units.
Very clean, wonderfully hospitable and helpful owners - highly recommended for anyone looking for a place to stay on Kariba.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cams32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lake Kariba
0.0 mi away
Lake Kariba Inns
Lake Kariba Inns
#1 of 2 in Siavonga
88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lakeview Lodge & Chikanka Island
0.0 mi away
Eagles Rest
Eagles Rest
#1 of 6 in Siavonga
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kariba Bush Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kariba Bush Club

Property: Kariba Bush Club
Address: Plot 6569/M Siansowa | Sinazongwe District, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Lake Kariba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lake Kariba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the shores of Lake Kariba in the Sinazongwe District of Zambia, Kariba Bush Club is an idyllic retreat to escape from our busy way of life, put your feet up and enjoy some quality time with loved ones. Perched on the tip of the Siansowa peninsula, we have much to offer. A wide range of accommodation from guesthouses and en-suite chalets to houseboats and camping gives everyone a chance to appreciate this small slice of African paradise. Spend your days wallowing in our pool overlooking Kariba or wine and dine with family and friends in our lake-view restaurant; roast tomato soup, homemade cheese ravioli, fresh kariba bream and exotic crocodile curry are just a few dishes on offer. Activities available include scenic sunset/dinner cruises, island walking safaris, fishing, bird watching and exhilarating tours of Zambia’s largest crocodile farm.Our private islands on Kariba provide clients with a perfect game viewing experience; wildlife to be seen includes eland, kudu, sable, zebra, wildebeest, defasa waterbuck, reedbuck, elephant, hippo and much more. With Kariba Bush Club, you are guaranteed a pleasant and memorable stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing