We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place, hospitality lacking”
Review of Eagles Rest

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eagles Rest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Three stars is averaging full points for location with views from the rooms, a nicely situated bar on the beach against no points for any level of hospitality. Minus points for attention to detail such as the bottle caps and other grime in the swimming pool, the pile of poo outside the room and the garbage right in front of the bar on the beach. I think a degree of pride in maintaining the place better and being friendly to your guests is missing. I am not sure where the attitude comes from, but it is not the usual friendly but inattentive service one often gets in Zambia. The staff was actually OK, it's the managers who seemed to have contempt for us as guests. The rooms themselves were neither here nor there, usual plumbing issues, but spacious enough. I liked the stone floors and showers. The foam mattress for a bed, I found bearable, but my wife said it hurt her back. They had a swing set on the beach and some toys in the bar although it was unclear if those were for anyone to use or for the managers' child (based on the reaction when my 1.5 year old wanted to play with them). In summary, I would recommend the place if you want to keep to yourselves anyway and have your own BBQ with your own drinks, if you don't mind a little poo and garbage around; you can wake up to a nice view, have a decent breakfast and leave. Otherwise, you might consider one of the other places.

Room Tip: I think single, double, triple may all be the same rooms but that is a reference to occupancy. Our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ice-cha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagles R, Owner at Eagles Rest, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your review.
We are sorry you had problems during your stay.
We will address the issues that you have brought up, please let me assure you we take great pride in Eagles Rest and it's reputation and every effort is made to ensure your stay is enjoyable.
I will look into the rubbish issues as these area's are cleaned every day.
We hope if you are in Siavonga again you will re-visit Eagles Rest and give us another chance to make your stay a pleasurable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 109 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2012

me and my boyfriend booked a chalet for 3 days, 2 nights.
The chalet was very clean, and rather new, especially the big shower.
The view we had from inside the chalet was as well amazing.
The food was fast and good,
the bar was fully stocked and they had nice chairs.
We mostly just bought some things to drink on our terrace with our chalet.
The employees were very friendly with us.
I would certainly recommend it to everyone!
But to get in siavonga is very difficult. Without transport i think the only
good option is to get a taxi from Lusaka. Otherwise you'll have to be in a
minibus for 4 hours or something.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissPin004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagles R, Owner at Eagles Rest, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your review.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

What a lovely place to stay, right on the shore or Lake Kariba. We had BBQs two nights which was really fun, but they don't supply plates or cutlery so you need to bring your own.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
Thank Mattea_on_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagles R, Owner at Eagles Rest, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your review.
You will be pleased to know we now supply all equipment for self catering (plates, cutlery etc.) and have a small shop selling meat, bread, veg etc.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

i have been to eagles rest with my family from lusaka on my school holiday for three (3) days. what a place. it is a cool place with a lot of sandy beach for play met friendly peaple from different parts of africa including mr thompson.

Room Tip: every choice is ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leaky m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagles R, Owner at Eagles Rest, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again soon to meet some more interesting people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2009

Went here after a bad experience somewhere else. And it was great. better location, better service and better value for money. A very relaxing place to stay

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tribalbudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toetere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WHarbaum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siavonga
1.5 mi away
Lake Kariba Inns
Lake Kariba Inns
#1 of 2 in Siavonga
94 reviews
1.3 mi away
Lake Safari Lodge
Lake Safari Lodge
#2 of 2 in Siavonga
65 reviews
4.4 mi away
Caribbea Bay Hotel
Caribbea Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kariba
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Dzimbabwe Lodge Kariba
Dzimbabwe Lodge Kariba
#7 of 14 in Kariba
4 reviews
8.1 mi away
No photo provided
Luna Accommodation
#8 of 14 in Kariba
1 reviews
0 mi away
Manchinchi Bay Lodge
Manchinchi Bay Lodge
#2 of 6 in Siavonga
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagles Rest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagles Rest

Address: On Lake Kariba | PO Box 1, Siavonga, Zambia
Location: Zambia > Southern Province > Siavonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Siavonga
Price Range: $82 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Eagles Rest 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eagles Rest Resort is situated on the shores of Lake Kariba, Zambia, near the sleepy little town of Siavonga, only two and a half hours drive from Lusaka and only 8km from the spectacular Kariba Dam Wall. Set in 4 hectares of some of Africa's most beautiful countryside, the resort is nestled in a secluded wooded area on the shores of the Lake with beach frontage and magnificent views across the Lake to the Matusodona Mountains.Our Chalets are comfortable, fully mosquito proofed and air-conditioned.We offer Bed and Breakfast and Self Catering. All Chalets are equipped with a 2 plate cooker and charcoal braai, basic cooking utensils, crockery and cutlery. We can provide "Full Board" catering for larger groups, and functions. Advance Booking is required - Email us for a quotation. We have a swimming pool with shady patio to relax and enjoy a cool drink by the pool. We also have a bar on the beach where you can relax with a beer or two, supervise the kids and enjoy spectacular views across the Lake. We also have a camp site situated among the trees complete with hot and cold showers and toilets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Eagles Rest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing