We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evergreen in the middle of the desert”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ad Dakhla
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dakhla Spirit Lagoon Camp
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I’ve been a few times here, it’s the first time at the Dakhla Spirit Camp though and the Hamaini Family amazed me with the Dakhla Spirit concept. But let’s start with the general info. After all the times I came here now I still haven’t got tired: kiting is on whenever you want (even if it happens there too, it is very rare that you don’t have enough wind for two or more days), you really can slow down from busy working life, put your watch away, get up with the rising sun and go to sleep when you are tired, the desert landscape is breath taking and actually the first thing you see in the morning.
Breakfast and two three-course meals are served on the covered terrace with an amazing view. The food is mostly traditional moroccan but you will always find something you know from back home if you prefer. Water is for free during the eating times, you can get everything else at the bar like snacks, limonades, bottles of water, alcoholic drinks or wine and even fresh fruit juices!
The accommodation goes from tents with a bed, electric light and a plug to charge whatever you need (which is actually my favorite accommodation) to premium bungalows with an incredible view on the lagoon and private toilet/shower on the spot itself or even a classic hotel room back in Dakhla town.
Different activities can be organized, like a day at the wave spot, a downwinder (about 15km), an evening at Dakhla town, a meal at the oyster farm… even Yoga classes are proposed in the morning before breakfast and a stretching session in the evening before dinner.
The concept is very familiar. You can meet many nice people from all over the world in a relaxed and open-minded environment. You eat all together and if you travel alone you will make friends very fast. From djembe evenings around the fireplace or dancing and partying to the latest beats, just reading a book or chatting around a bottle of wine with other Spirit-campers, you can have it all.

Go and enjoy your kite vacations at Dakhla Spirit :) I really can recommend the place!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank monita_nb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 217 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

We stayed a week at Dakhla Spirit Lagoon Camp and enjoyed it very much.
It a small scale, chill place, located on a perfect spot.

The food was really great, people were friendly, nice and fun personnel, keep the small scale chill spirit!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dhondtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I am just back from a week at the new (continuously developing) Dakhla Spirit Camp with the Kite Morocco Team. A special thanks to the entire Hamaini family for their calm, smiling enthusiasm for everyone and everything about kitesurfing in Morocco. Having spent a week with them in Essaouira in 2012 it was great to meet Momo and Soufianne again and benefit from their vision for developing the sport in Morocco and the Western Sahara.

Certainly the Dakhla Spirit Camp is on the best piece of land on the lagoon (which is immense). It has a great little 'mini lagoon' within the main one at low tide which is excellent for beginner/intermediate and the knee to waist deep water at high tide provides a huge, safe runway for learning new things with a sense of independence. It's also the perfect launching place for a downwind trip to the 'white dune'.

The camp is simple and basic offering tents, a few older bungalows and 4 newer ones with toilet and showing inside them. I stayed in one of these and it was all you needed for back to nature week in the desert. After all we don't want a 5* hotel when we are trying to get a desert experience. The food however is 5* and I cannot thank the kitchen team enough for their efforts in making every days meal something new & tasty and something we all looked forward to. The instruction and encouragement is also 5 star which is what you would expect from local people supporting local business (unlike perhaps some other camps that are foreign owned and are trying to replicate something less desert and more riviera in their offering).

It was a nice touch to have the Yoga on offer every morning and it was also great to see so many of the kiters getting involved as they quickly realized it was helping them to improve the connection between them, their kite and their board. I think this might be an activity to stay!

Don't expect night clubs and local bars, you are in the desert. Do expect great banter and interaction with fellow kiters from all around the globe. You'll make new friends and share tips on places you've been and perhaps organize to meet some of them again in Dakhla next time you get a chance. I highly recommend this as a must go place for all kiters who want to get back to nature, the basics and focus on kiting. I don't recommend it for people who cannot deal without creature comforts.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank perfphysio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

If you want third world standards for European prices, this is the perfect place for you.

They ran out of clean water, drinking water and food on more than several occasions. Even though the owner knew of these problems, he did nothing to fix the problems. Also only expect electricity for 4 hours a day.

I will never go there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Miketigerfootsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soufianehamaini, Owner at Dakhla Spirit Lagoon Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Hi, thanks for you post even if we feel it's really far from the reality.

To start with, we find it disrespectful to compare anyplace to the third world. And to set the reality back in place, I'd like to remind you that part of a promotional opening offer, your group only paid 25€ a night in double tents with full board, transfers and even a free downwind with barbecue on site.

Drinking water is free and plenty available during every meal and electricity is provided at least 8 hours a day.

I won't go any further in this answer as responding to lies has no interest for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

Dakhla Spirit Camp is without doubt the worst place I have ever had the misfortune to visit. The web site describes a destination that looks relaxed, comfortable and clean. Moreover, it suggests an all inclusive experience that we assumed would include power, hot water and working toilets. The camp only has power for parts of the day, the water regularly runs out and the one toilet for 20 plus guys can get pretty ugly. The food varies from awful to ok and there is rarely enough to feed all the guests. The major problem is that the site is just dirty, fly blown and a health hazard. On one occasion we watched the staff clean the toilet with cloth and then used the same cloth to clean the sinks. Pretty much all of our party got the trots to varying degrees! The general site is a dump, a collection of festering cockroach ridden furniture which looks like it was recovered from an open tip. Dakhla is a great kitesurfing destination, but don't waste your money and risk your health by staying here. There is excellent accommodation just along the bay at the same cost.

Stayed: September 2013
3  Thank Kiteman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soufianehamaini, Owner at Dakhla Spirit Lagoon Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Hi,

we find many strange things in your comment, first of all if you really believe that the kitchen is cleaned with the same cloth that the toilets, why did you stay here all the week, ate everyday your plate and even asked for more. If it was me I would have reported the camp immediately to the authorities!

For the rest, the tone of your comment only shows your will to discredit us and has it shows no constructive remark we find it really not useful for the users of this website.

Best luck for your future trips!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

DO NOT STAY HERE......Stayed here for 2 weeks - the kitesurfing is amazing, and cannot be faulted in any respect, what an awesome location for all levels of kitesurfer, but, DO NOT STAY HERE!

The Dakhla spirit can be defined as,'If the staff are OK, then everything is fine, the customer can wait.' The website is very misleading. We stayed in tents to get into the 'spirit'. The sheets were dirty on arrival and the tents full of sand and clearly had not been cleaned. The bottom sheets were dirty and the beds full of sand. Some of the tents were in very poor repair, ours did not have a zip on the flap, and although we were promised a repair, and reminding staff on a daily basis, the tent is still flapping.......oh, and the sheets have still not been changed.

The water for showers and toilets has run out twice. Several people have resorted to 'going in the rocks' on these occasions, which led to the unpleasant discovery that this is something which has happened regularly.......

Don't expect to be able to charge your cameras and other gear regularly, we have had 3 days without any power. The WiFi is very dodgy and only works intermittently, although the staff seem to have no problems getting a signal. My advice would be to buy a pay as you go sim from the airport as there is a good 3G here - cost €40.

We ran out of food on 2 occasions meaning several people had to go without meat and were restricted to pasta only (which is a stable for the evening meal).

Most people went down with stomach problems at some stage. This was probably not helped by the cleaner using a cloth to clean the toilet and then going straight in to clean the sinks, with the same cloth. The sinks and showers were not cleaned in the first week at all, and with over 20 people in the camp, I don't need to expand.

There is 1 male toilet and 2 showers. With the number of people with stomach issues the single cubicle was in high demand, and on those days without running water.....need I say more?

My sympathy goes to the people who booked chalets. At over €100 euros per night, you get a B&Q summer house, with Perspex windows. You get your own toilet and shower, however there is no water pressure and the hit water does not seem to reach the chalets. Furthermore, if there is no water, to includes the chalets.....you could book a very nice hotel and get a taxi in every day for the same price.

If you want to live in appalling conditions/squalor and experience the Dakhla Spirit then please go ahead and book here, but do not expect any semblance of customer service or amenities.

Upon further investigation, there is a new complex just opened, which is the same price for accommodation but sports an awesome bar and restaurant, it's called Dakhla Evasion - the website does not do it justice, but please look it up.

Over priced, under serviced and very disappointing. The kitesurfing however, is truly amazing, but stay somewhere else.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Kite_Junkie_1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soufianehamaini, Owner at Dakhla Spirit Lagoon Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Hi, thanks for your post even if some of your statements are clearly wrong and over exaggerated.

About the tents, they all are cleaned before arrivals and the sheets are changed before every stay, plus if you ask we can even change those during your stay (once a week usually).
For the zippers, all zippers have been changed and repaired and all the tent are in perfect state.

The water is brought daily from town by truck and if sometimes we run out of water, it's usually not longer than an hour or two which is the time the trucks takes to come from town. But it happens rarely and we apologize for the inconvenience.

The electricity is provided by a generator, and it's on everyday when people are out of the water which is usually during eating periods. We believe that there is no point of having it running all day as we try lo lower as possible our ecological impact and furthermore if everybody is in the water during the periods it's off We turn it on from 12.00 till 16.00 and 19.30 till 01.00 and even later the night people are partying.

We can't imagine running our center without water or electricity for 3 days as you're stating which again shows your bad faith.

For the food, we are really surprised by your comment again as we always prepare a little more everyday and that the meals are changed everyday. We only received very positive comments until now about our food so we can clearly state that you're exaggerating again.
For the last 5 month since we opened the food as always been one of our main assets as we provide traditional moroccan meals (lot's of barbecues, fish and tajines) and we only had congratulations about it

Your last comment about our bungalows clearly states your position, the price per night is 75€ a night if you're alone and 65€ for double occupancy which includes the full board, transfers from and to the airport and daily cleaning. So again, your info is completely out of place and wrong.

So, on the general impression of your post, we are sorry you felt it that way, but if I remember on the last day of your stay, all the group was pretty happy with their stay and we even offered you a special seafood dinner for free.

Since we opened, we have only been improving the quality of our service and been at full capacity.
We've kept our ears open for every positive or negative constructive comment we had and managed to bring our level higher every time to bring even more magic to the spirit of Dakhla.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

The owner Soufiane, his brother, their parents and employees will include you in their great marockan family and make your stay unforgettable. The camp is hidden in the Saharan desert behind a big rock, overlooking the bay. The spot is 30 meters from where you sleep and is probably the best in the lagoon because the camps to the north seems to be quite dense at low-tides and the one to the east doesnt have the large shallow area at high tides. Me and my girlfriend are planning to make Dakhla Spirit Surf House to an annual tradition! Hope you enjoy it as we did!

Room Tip: For the more comfortable we recommend the new bungalows with sea-view and private wc/shower. For the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jkriisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soufianehamaini, Owner at Dakhla Spirit Lagoon Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

Hi,

thanks for your positive and objective comment.

We'll be happy to have you stay here in the future and are expecting your return with joy.

See you soon,

Soufiane

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ad Dakhla hotels
17.1 mi away
Bab al Bahar Hotel et Spa
Bab al Bahar Hotel et Spa
#3 of 8 in Ad Dakhla
145 reviews
13.3 mi away
Hotel Calipau Sahara
Hotel Calipau Sahara
#2 of 8 in Ad Dakhla
210 reviews
17.1 mi away
Hotel Buenavista
Hotel Buenavista
#1 of 8 in Ad Dakhla
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dakhla Attitude Hotel
Dakhla Attitude Hotel
#2 of 16 in Ad Dakhla
444 reviews
12.9 mi away
West Point Dakhla
West Point Dakhla
#3 of 14 in Ad Dakhla
20 reviews
14.0 mi away
Mad Camel Villa
Mad Camel Villa
#7 of 16 in Ad Dakhla
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dakhla Spirit Lagoon Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dakhla Spirit Lagoon Camp

Address: PK 27, Route Alargoub, Ad Dakhla 73000, Western Sahara
Location: Western Sahara > Ad Dakhla
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Specialty Lodging in Ad Dakhla
Price Range: $141 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Dakhla Spirit Lagoon Camp 1*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Dakhla spirit! A new way of seeing and experiencing Dakhla! The Dakhla spirit lagoon camp is located at an amazing spot right overlooking the lagoon. We have a great terrace where you can eat, drink and relax, which is fully sheltered from the wind. Sit here and watch the dolphins swimming amongst the kiters and windsurfers..... Trust me its a sight you will not forget! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dakhla Spirit Lagoon Camp Western Sahara/Ad Dakhla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing