We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dakhla Spirit Lagoon Camp
Nearby Hotels
$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Erraha(Ad Dakhla)
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Buenavista(Ad Dakhla)
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    Very Good 4/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    Hotel Mansour(Ad Dakhla)
    Booking.com
    View Deal
    Excellent 5/5
      TripAdvisor
      View Deal
      TripAdvisor
      View Deal
      Very Good 4/5
      • Free Wifi
      • Free Parking
      Reviews (251)
      Filter reviews
      252 results
      Traveler rating
      141
      57
      16
      18
      20
      Traveler type
      Time of year
      LanguageAll languages
      More languages
      141
      57
      16
      18
      20
      Show reviews that mention
      All reviewshigh tideperfect spotper daymoroccan culturefishnew friendsother travelersfixed tentscommunity feelsuper friendly staffworked perfectlycleaning staffthe entire staffyour feetlaid backspecial thankskite gear
      FilterAll languages
      Updating list...
      116 - 121 of 252 reviews
      Reviewed September 26, 2013

      Dakhla Spirit Camp is without doubt the worst place I have ever had the misfortune to visit. The web site describes a destination that looks relaxed, comfortable and clean. Moreover, it suggests an all inclusive experience that we assumed would include power, hot water and working toilets. The camp only has power for parts of the day, the water regularly runs out and the one toilet for 20 plus guys can get pretty ugly. The food varies from awful to ok and there is rarely enough to feed all the guests. The major problem is that the site is just dirty, fly blown and a health hazard. On one occasion we watched the staff clean the toilet with cloth and then used the same cloth to clean the sinks. Pretty much all of our party got the trots to varying degrees! The general site is a dump, a collection of festering cockroach ridden furniture which looks like it was recovered from an open tip. Dakhla is a great kitesurfing destination, but don't waste your money and risk your health by staying here. There is excellent accommodation just along the bay at the same cost.

      Stayed: September 2013
      4  Thank Kiteman C
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Soufianehamaini, Owner at Dakhla Spirit Lagoon Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

      Hi,

      we find many strange things in your comment, first of all if you really believe that the kitchen is cleaned with the same cloth that the toilets, why did you stay here all the week, ate everyday your plate and even asked for more. If it was me I would have reported the camp immediately to the authorities!

      For the rest, the tone of your comment only shows your will to discredit us and has it shows no constructive remark we find it really not useful for the users of this website.

      Best luck for your future trips!

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed September 26, 2013

      DO NOT STAY HERE......Stayed here for 2 weeks - the kitesurfing is amazing, and cannot be faulted in any respect, what an awesome location for all levels of kitesurfer, but, DO NOT STAY HERE!

      The Dakhla spirit can be defined as,'If the staff are OK, then everything is fine, the customer can wait.' The website is very misleading. We stayed in tents to get into the 'spirit'. The sheets were dirty on arrival and the tents full of sand and clearly had not been cleaned. The bottom sheets were dirty and the beds full of sand. Some of the tents were in very poor repair, ours did not have a zip on the flap, and although we were promised a repair, and reminding staff on a daily basis, the tent is still flapping.......oh, and the sheets have still not been changed.

      The water for showers and toilets has run out twice. Several people have resorted to 'going in the rocks' on these occasions, which led to the unpleasant discovery that this is something which has happened regularly.......

      Don't expect to be able to charge your cameras and other gear regularly, we have had 3 days without any power. The WiFi is very dodgy and only works intermittently, although the staff seem to have no problems getting a signal. My advice would be to buy a pay as you go sim from the airport as there is a good 3G here - cost €40.

      We ran out of food on 2 occasions meaning several people had to go without meat and were restricted to pasta only (which is a stable for the evening meal).

      Most people went down with stomach problems at some stage. This was probably not helped by the cleaner using a cloth to clean the toilet and then going straight in to clean the sinks, with the same cloth. The sinks and showers were not cleaned in the first week at all, and with over 20 people in the camp, I don't need to expand.

      There is 1 male toilet and 2 showers. With the number of people with stomach issues the single cubicle was in high demand, and on those days without running water.....need I say more?

      My sympathy goes to the people who booked chalets. At over €100 euros per night, you get a B&Q summer house, with Perspex windows. You get your own toilet and shower, however there is no water pressure and the hit water does not seem to reach the chalets. Furthermore, if there is no water, to includes the chalets.....you could book a very nice hotel and get a taxi in every day for the same price.

      If you want to live in appalling conditions/squalor and experience the Dakhla Spirit then please go ahead and book here, but do not expect any semblance of customer service or amenities.

      Upon further investigation, there is a new complex just opened, which is the same price for accommodation but sports an awesome bar and restaurant, it's called Dakhla Evasion - the website does not do it justice, but please look it up.

      Over priced, under serviced and very disappointing. The kitesurfing however, is truly amazing, but stay somewhere else.

      Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
      3  Thank Kite_Junkie_1992
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Soufianehamaini, Owner at Dakhla Spirit Lagoon Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

      Hi, thanks for your post even if some of your statements are clearly wrong and over exaggerated.

      About the tents, they all are cleaned before arrivals and the sheets are changed before every stay, plus if you ask we can even change those during your stay (once a week usually).
      For the zippers, all zippers have been changed and repaired and all the tent are in perfect state.

      The water is brought daily from town by truck and if sometimes we run out of water, it's usually not longer than an hour or two which is the time the trucks takes to come from town. But it happens rarely and we apologize for the inconvenience.

      The electricity is provided by a generator, and it's on everyday when people are out of the water which is usually during eating periods. We believe that there is no point of having it running all day as we try lo lower as possible our ecological impact and furthermore if everybody is in the water during the periods it's off We turn it on from 12.00 till 16.00 and 19.30 till 01.00 and even later the night people are partying.

      We can't imagine running our center without water or electricity for 3 days as you're stating which again shows your bad faith.

      For the food, we are really surprised by your comment again as we always prepare a little more everyday and that the meals are changed everyday. We only received very positive comments until now about our food so we can clearly state that you're exaggerating again.
      For the last 5 month since we opened the food as always been one of our main assets as we provide traditional moroccan meals (lot's of barbecues, fish and tajines) and we only had congratulations about it

      Your last comment about our bungalows clearly states your position, the price per night is 75€ a night if you're alone and 65€ for double occupancy which includes the full board, transfers from and to the airport and daily cleaning. So again, your info is completely out of place and wrong.

      So, on the general impression of your post, we are sorry you felt it that way, but if I remember on the last day of your stay, all the group was pretty happy with their stay and we even offered you a special seafood dinner for free.

      Since we opened, we have only been improving the quality of our service and been at full capacity.
      We've kept our ears open for every positive or negative constructive comment we had and managed to bring our level higher every time to bring even more magic to the spirit of Dakhla.

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed September 25, 2013

      The owner Soufiane, his brother, their parents and employees will include you in their great marockan family and make your stay unforgettable. The camp is hidden in the Saharan desert behind a big rock, overlooking the bay. The spot is 30 meters from where you sleep and is probably the best in the lagoon because the camps to the north seems to be quite dense at low-tides and the one to the east doesnt have the large shallow area at high tides. Me and my girlfriend are planning to make Dakhla Spirit Surf House to an annual tradition! Hope you enjoy it as we did!

      Room Tip: For the more comfortable we recommend the new bungalows with sea-view and private wc/shower. For the super comfortable you should stay in the hotel in Dakhla city, which still were under construction when were there, but from what we could see it looked like high standards!
      • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank jkriisa
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Soufianehamaini, Owner at Dakhla Spirit Lagoon Camp, responded to this reviewResponded October 13, 2013

      Hi,

      thanks for your positive and objective comment.

      We'll be happy to have you stay here in the future and are expecting your return with joy.

      See you soon,

      Soufiane

      Report response as inappropriate
      This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed September 18, 2013

      This review is for Dakhla Spirit Kite Camp, organised through Kite Morocco.

      This review is based around tented accommodation on a twin share.

      Summary:

      We had a great week, met some great people and had 6/6 days kitesurfing. Forget your tech at home, go party, go kitesurf and have fun. This centre suits the independent traveller who can forgo a few luxuries. You will need to relax about the speed at which things happen, if you come from a European country where trains run on time; leave your attitude at home for better enjoyment. Chill.

      Camping:

      The tents are locally made of non-waterproof material. Given that it only rains one or two days in a year, this should not be an issue. But it did on our stay and our beds got damp! A mattress exchange was offered but we didn't chase this up and just forgot about it as it warmed up. This type of accommodation won't suit the light sleeper as the wind can blow throughout the night. We moved our twin beds closer to the middle of the tent so we wouldn't have a constant flapping or tarp on our heads. The tents are erected directly on the sand so keeping it out is a challenge. Tents are supposed to have an electric socket for charging your goodies but ours had just a light bulb with no switch - we took it out to turn it on/off. As we went in Sept it wasn't too cold, as the blankets are nice and fluffy but in the summer you'd benefit from just a bed sheet on top of you - there weren't any. Also a pillow case would have been nice - I used a t-shirt. Tents won't suit the lazy, they start to get warm inside when the sun begins to shine hard!

      Food:

      The food was excellent. There is no more to say on the matter really, considering we spent €30 per night/ per person to include breakfast, and two three course meals per day, it was tasty and excellent value for money. Breakfasts are a reasonably simple affair and some deserts consist of fruit, but really really good. More importantly no one suffered any funny tummies which is always of concern in these locations.

      Showers & Toilets:

      I believe since Kite Morocco only started running this place sometime in the spring of 2013 the ablutions are left over from previous owners/tenants. They said these are due for replacement/refurbishment late 2013/2014. There is 1 toilet for male 1 for female and three showers either side - although in the male only 2/3 worked. Showers were hot - solar heating. There is an option to have a bungalow with en-suite bathrooms.

      Drink:

      There are no shops around; you are at the mercy of the centre or a trip into town. The bar was reasonably priced, €4/beer (33cl) €20/bottle wine (75cl), choices for spirits limited, so would advise stock up on duty free on the way over - besides then you'll be everyone's friend when it comes to party time.

      Partying:

      Given the nature of the independent traveller who tend to frequent Dakhla Spirit, there always seems to be someone turning up/leaving, this makes a great excuse for a party. They'll light the fire and it'll go on for as long as you want, in the 6 nights we were there I think there were about 3 that went on to circa 4am. At times it seemed there was more staff than clients, and some guests from Attitude came over for food/drinks on several occasions. Good atmosphere, some dancing and some silly party games – e.g. limbo ;)

      Electricity:

      You're in the desert! With no mains supply this is off a generator which does have published running times, but the reality is more ad-hoc, sometimes it comes on at lunch, sometimes it doesn't. It comes on most evenings, but one night the generator didn't have any fuel, so we ate by candlelight. Romantic.

      Wi-Fi:

      This is pretty ad-hoc too. Supposedly this comes alive when the power does, but the router required a 3G dongle, which someone may/may not have borrowed, or it may have run out of credit! Don't count on it! You CAN live without Facebook for a week can't you?!

      Other Internet:

      You're about 300m away from 3G base stations so if you can stomach the cost roaming data charges you can stay in touch. 3G dongles are available for rent for €20 a week, it may be that the one you get has run out of credit, but a quick call to Ahmed should sort this out. That is if your laptop hasn't run out of battery.

      Kite Surfing Spot:

      You're probably here to indulge in Kitesurfing!

      Dakhla spirit has an excellent location on the lagoon, downwind of the Mistral centre and across the lagoon from Attitude. At low tide this can mean a 100-150m walk to the deep water channel, but at high tide you can go straight from the centre. High tide is better for learners as you're ankle/chest deep out of the deep water channel. At low tide a small lagoon is formed (deep water) for those practising with sand either side. The speed spot can be accessed by riding across to Attitude, s 5min walk across spit in from of their centre and jumping back in. Makes for a good trip. Boots! The lagoon bed is strewn with razor clams, which may, can and will probably cut your feet, if you're hard-core you can just deal with it, if you're seriously sensible a pair of aqua shoes/boots wouldn't go astray. Since I'm too cool for school I didn't bother, but now I'm paying the price, I've a hole in my foot which is going to take some time off the water to recover.

      Kite Surfing Lessons:

      I was personally a complete beginner so opted for 12hours of semi-private lessons, depending on your other sporting activities this may or may not be enough, be prepared to spend more! Luckily for me this was enough. Understand that lessons seemed to be a very relaxed affair when it came to what time and who was going out, and the tides and wind will also have an influence - depending on your level you may have to wait for high tide. The skill level of the instructors is high, but since I got on so well with things I was often a long way from the instructor and not benefitting directly from instruction - you may have semi private lessons with someone with different skill level, which may benefit you or them from instruction point of view. Whilst I came away being able to kite, all the safety drills have pretty much passed me by, self-rescue etc etc, so I'll need to brush up on this if I take it up seriously.

      Kite Kit:

      I believe all the kites were 2-3 months old, North Evo, 2013. I know little about kiting, other than to say I think it was reasonably well maintained, they have an interest in repairing the kites to maximise their lifespan which I believe they do in house reasonably professionally. They have wetsuits, buoyancy aids and foam helmets – but if you’re getting serious airtime, advise bring your own helmet/impact vest.

      Transfers:

      Very timely, but as always with African taxi journeys, a little hairy, the return journey was in a charabanc of a Landrover which had seen better days (it was only the previous day we helped push the thing out of the way) the doors barely closed, diver attempting to light cigarette/play with phone, no seat belts and my legs got a little hot as the engine dragged us back to the airport against its will. Not for the squeamish. Other than that transfers were timely.

      Room Tip: En-suite bungalows have great lagoon views...
      • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Rooms
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      4  Thank SimonG624
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      Reviewed August 21, 2013

      In the Western Saharah desert there is kitesurfing osasis....Dakhla Spirit! I've kited in Egypt, Tarifa & the Dominican Republic but Dakhla is by far the best place I have visited so far and the Dakhla Spirit Camp was everything I hoped it would be. Away from civilisation, what more do you need than a tent to sleep in, great food, awesome people and all overlooking the lagoon?! I was taking part in one the girls' coaching camps and as well as learning some new tricks I also made some amazing new friends. Gemma and Soufianne who run the camp are probably the most friendliest people I've ever met and will make you feel so welcome from the minute you get off the plane.
      We all became like one big family sharing breakfast, lunch and dinner together everyday. The food was super good, every meal was fresh and we were treated to the most amazing Tagine dishes.
      I was there in May and most of us girls were flying 7m kites so the conditions were pumpin'!
      I really can't recommend this camp enough and I can't wait to go back!

      • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
        • Value
        • Location
        • Sleep Quality
        • Cleanliness
        • Service
      2  Thank Joma O
      This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
      View more reviews