We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bad joke”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bab al Bahar Hotel et Spa
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ad Dakhla
Reviewed July 20, 2013

TL;DR: My only reason to stay here again would be a gun pointed at my head.

The good:
* the place is kept really clean

The bad (based on my experience in room 12):
* their "sea view" rooms (not the "superior sea view"-rooms) are on ground floor with seating arrangements between the windows and the sea - that's right, you can see the sea but people sitting on the terrace can look into your room. And at least the staff did so 9 out of 10 times - the first creep did so at 7:30am.
* the one "interior view" room I was offered as an alternative with a little more privacy was as dark as a medieval prison cell
* the wifi is misconfigured and exceptionally slow (though you will be fine if you use a VPN)
* the rooms are made for pictures, not for people: the desk had a water cooker on it - but the desk also blocked the only power outlet near it; there is no switch for the main light that is reachable from the bed; the bath tub is so small that I could not even sit in it with my legs stretched out - this effectively turns it into a shower that is exceptionally hard to enter.

The ugly - service?!?:
* lunch: being ignored by waiter for 40 minutes, then being told that all I could have now was spaghetti bolognese (and that was after I went to the bar to catch the waiter there)
* dinner: again a set menu, no choice at all (except for not eating there at all). by the time the entree arrived, I had already waited for more than 60 minutes and had finished half of the bottle of wine. The main course was dry fish with really good sides - but it took me exactly 14 modest sized bites to finish the main. Then another 45 minutes passed between main and dessert (the wine was finished by now). All in all almost 3h for dinner.
* breakfast: I wanted to have it on the terrace which the waiter said was no problem. I waited some minutes for him to bring the basics to my table (you know, napkin, fork, knife, cup etc..) but he preferred to watch me collecting them from one of the tables set up for breakfast inside and bringing them out on my own. The coffee was the worst coffee in a very, very long time; the breakfast buffet itself was remarkably unremarkable.

The ridiculous:
* transfer from hotel to airport: 100 dirham (petite taxi for that distance: max 10 dirham)
* all activities are extra (spa, boats, fishing - even the billiard table is coin operated)
* they did not accept credit cards and a "superior sea view room" costs more per night than a Moroccan ATM dispenses at once (but I was informed of this when checking in; I had no reservation, so they did tell me this as early as humanly possible)
* did I mentioned the total absence of service?

Room Tip: Avoid the standard "sea view" rooms unless you are an exhibitionist.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trypppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (145)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 145 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

A good located on an extraordinary bay and nice place, quiet and relaxing, best place to take a little rest ;) do not forget to take a tour to the souk and buy good quality tea and special couscous dakhla... kiteboarding too ;) just have a fun

Room Tip: I suggest rooms 33 or 34, and take a trip by boat and fishing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fhidou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

It's a very compfortable hotel with clean rooms and all the amenities.
The location is also FANTASTIC. The staff are friendly and very helpful as is the food and the terrace.
Loved too much my stay and would definitley come back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sousouslicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

My first time in the city of dakhla, choosing BAB AL BAHR was the best choise. Gorgeous view, best service and hospitality. The SPA has many services to make you forget the stress in your everyday life back home. The food is simply delicious. Many activities are provided as well, fishing, site seeing... Overall, i will be going back there as often as my schedule permits. BIG THANKS TO VALERIE, KARIM AND THE WHOLE STAFF for the unforgettable experience ;)

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dakhlalover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Breakfast very average, nice location but they didint profit from that as a hotel management..
Rooms without view are so claustrophobic.
Very average not wow.
Rooms on the lower floor are very noisy u feel u are in the restaurant it self not in a private room.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WorldVisitor83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

we spent a week at this hotel. the first part of week, we were next to the restaurant, which is a noisy place in the evenings, and the windows were not closing properly. After a number of attempts claiming a change of room, as we had to sleep early to catch a full kite surf journey, they move us to another room which had literally no window. With the heat in the evening, it was very hard to get any sleep, even with air conditioning at its maximum. overall I believe this should be a 3 star hotel, with below par service, and a good food I have to say, knowing we are in the middle of the desert. Will surely be back to Dakhla, but surely not to this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Had to wait literally over 2 hours to get food.Worst. Service. Ever. Completely scandalous, especially considering the price. And the food wasn't even that great (it was actually quite bad).
Breakfast isn't great either.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luce_lm_TripA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ad Dakhla hotels
4 mi away
Hotel Calipau Sahara
Hotel Calipau Sahara
#2 of 8 in Ad Dakhla
211 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Buenavista
Hotel Buenavista
#1 of 8 in Ad Dakhla
43 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Rio Oro
Dar Rio Oro
#2 of 15 in Ad Dakhla
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5 mi away
West Point Dakhla
West Point Dakhla
#3 of 15 in Ad Dakhla
21 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mad Camel Villa
Mad Camel Villa
#7 of 17 in Ad Dakhla
23 reviews
17.1 mi away
Dakhla Attitude Hotel
Dakhla Attitude Hotel
#3 of 17 in Ad Dakhla
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bab al Bahar Hotel et Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bab al Bahar Hotel et Spa

Address: Av Mohammed V, Ad Dakhla 73000, Western Sahara
Location: Western Sahara > Ad Dakhla
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Ad Dakhla
Price Range: $143 - $524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bab al Bahar Hotel et Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
35 rooms located in Dakhla city. 25° all year long. Hotel offers direct access to the sea, a spa and restaurant with Italian and Thai food. Daily Boat excursion and desert excursion. The Place to be at any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Bab al Bahar Hotel et Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bab Al Bahar Hotel Et Spa Western Sahara/Ad Dakhla

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing