We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aozora is still a great restaurant”
Review of Genji - CLOSED

Genji
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Aozora is still a great restaurant”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We ate here again this week and things are still as great as ever. This weeks dinner was in the Asian fusion section of the restaurant. From the welcome greeting at the door to the attentive servers, everything was to our satisfaction. Try the Babimbap, it's very tasty. Attention TripAdvisor editors, can you change the restaurant name? It is the same owners, but the name changed to Aozora about a year ago. Thanks.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“New name, still great food.”
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Genuine has undergone a facelift and a name change. Genii is now called Aozora and the front half of the restaurant has changed from strictly Korean food to "modern Asian cuisine." The hibachi section remains unchanged. We had the opportunity to dine here last night as a post hurricane treat, and as always the food and service were excellent. The renovations have made the restaurant look significantly more upscale. The bar is beautiful with dark wood and an inset red lighting led accent. Tables and chairs have been replaced and the layout altered as well.

Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
371 reviews
308 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“To get your Japanese or Korean food fix”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

There aren't very many restaurants near the Viana Hotel so we decided to give this place a try as I was in the mood for Korean/Japanese food. We had the unagi sushi roll, #117, box special with chicken teriyaki and gyoza and clear noodles and California roll, #152 bibimbap. Service was friendly but the food wasn't anything special.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KWong55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
130 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places to eat.”
Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

When you walk into Genji, you have the opportunity to turn right for hibachi, left for Korean food, or straight for sushi. All three areas are clean and inviting. My biggest complaint is that it's extremely hard for me to decide between hibachi and Korean, as both are excellent. The hibachi chefs are entertaining and they have a nice selection of both hot and cold saki, as well as Japanese sodas and beers. On the Korean side, the bibimbap is a personal favorite, as are the dumplings. The service on both sides is attentive and warm. As silly as it sounds, we usually let our three year old decide which side to dine in, as she loves both as well.

Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good Korean dining”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was introduced to Genji by a friend who is a Korean immigrant. He told me it was excellent authentic Korean food and he was right. I've returned a number of times with him and with others, all of whom have said they enjoyed the experience.

The staff is welcoming and helpful. They will take their time in explaining anything on the menu that is new or exotic to a patron with questions.

The atmosphere is updated, comfortable, and clean. You can actually have a conversation without raising your voice.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nassau_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genji also viewed

 
Jericho, Long Island
Jericho, Long Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing