We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unexpected surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Market Bistro

Market Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Market Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 33 Restaurants in Jericho
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 106/107
Transit: One mile from the Hicksville stop of the LIRR
Southport CT
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Unexpected surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

We found this restaurant through Trip Advisor when we had an overnight stay in the area. When we pulled up and saw that it was in a strip mall, we weren't sure what to expect, but were pleasantly surprised when we entered. The decor is really well done, you will quickly forget that this is in a strip mall, and the service was excellent. Although uncrowded when we arrived, by the time we left it was packed and rightly so. The menu has some really interesting choices and they also have nightly specials. My husband had mussels and I had roasted figs as starters. The figs were a special that night - both were good choices. He had duck and I had the scallops for dinner. Again both were excellent and portions were generous. Desserts sounded tempting and we shared a chocolate cake with caramel ice cream - yum.
Will definitely go back if we are in the area again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CTMom4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    32
    17
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Great Neck, NY
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Similar to West End Cafe, but in a strip mall, didn't expect a restaurant of this quality. Good food, nice atmosphere. Could be nicer on the phone when making a reservation. But once you get there, it's good service, good food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Market Bistro New is Good Reclaimed is Better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Jericho has finally gotten a Restaurant that isn’t Italian, Chinese or a Burger Joint!
Market Bistro opened about 2 years ago and that’s when my son and I started going there.
Having been it the restaurant many years ago I’m always interested in checking out New Places.
MB is in a Strip Mall off 106/107 so I thought nothing special white walls and stainless steel.
When we first walked in I was taken by the Design of the place.
Wood! Reclaimed Wood! Actually from an Old Barn.
The Bars Base is Reclaimed Wood and behind the bar is reclaimed wood the Lowboy refrigerators are
also covered with wood “No Stainless Steel.” The Drop ceiling is supported with Large wooden
beams and on the opposite side they used Red Bricks to add to the warn look and feel.
Now to the Food:
The Menu is just right not too little and not too much.
The ingredients are all local so they’re fresh and sometimes items aren’t available because of that,
But that’s a small price to pay for good food.
“Mussels” w/t Tomatoes/Roasted Fennel/Saffron/Garlic is the Bomb.
“Roasted Shrimp Pappardelle” (Wide Pasta) w/t Tomatoes/Basil/Toasted Garlic/Peas/Leeks is a great comfort dish.
“Organic Chicken” Roasted with a Great Crispy Skin topped w/t Thyme Jus can’t be beat.
Last the “Turkey Burgers” are fantastic along with their Homemade Fries a simple dish that’s done oh so well!
Libations:
A really nice offering of Tap and Bottle beers there’s always something new for me to try!
Service:
Adam the Mgr has been there since day One and he and his staff really work the floor well you’re never
looking for help they’re always floating around making sure all is ok!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marshdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sag Harbor, New York
Level Contributor
209 reviews
194 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Eat Here !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Had tickets to Westbury Music Fair and checked on line for a restaurant close to this venue. What a great find ! Not the easiest place to find (kinda hidden a shopping center) but well worth the look. Got there at 6PM and was greeted by NAME. Wow ! Had a three course $30 pre fixe dinner of mussels, tile fish and dessert. Everything was nicely prepared and presented, wait staff was very friendly and efficient and the tap beer nice and cold. We had a delightful dining experience. When we were done with dinner, the restaurant was packed and the sound level was amazing, not loud at all so you could have an intelligent conversation speaking at normal volume. Try it...you'll like it !

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJR1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Lovely Gem in Long Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

I've eaten here for over a year, on many occasions - lunch, dinner, weekdays, weekends. Each meal has been terrific. Unusual dishes, well prepared. Excellent service. Space can get a little noisy at night, very quiet for lunch. Things we've eaten and enjoyed - appetizers - rice balls, figs wrapped in bacon, seasoned olives. Salads - several. Mains - the house burger, scallops risotto, tuna, black seabass, rack of lamb, duck breast. Desserts, all; not to be missed - the sorbet sampler which comes with 4 tiny scoops of intensely-flavored sorbets. Great beer on tap, good bar. Tables are close together but for larger parties try to snag the circular table in the back corner - 8 can fit comfortably.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MomOfTwinsfromNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Market Bistro also viewed

 
Jericho, Long Island
Jericho, Long Island
 

Been to Market Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing