We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy, unique menu items”
Review of Taco Hut

Taco Hut
Ranked #6 of 114 Restaurants in Jamestown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Burton, Ohio
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Trendy, unique menu items”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This restaurant was very big (but the tables were crowded together), and very clean. While they had "typical" Mexican fare, they also had a unique spin on some items. We had the "chip bar" which comes in a tiered tower, and gives you warm tortilla chips on the bottom, and your choice of 3 dips on top. There are a lot more chips than there are dip. The dip is served in 2-oz tiny ramiken cups, and if you are in a group with more than 2 hungry adults, there may not be enough dip to go around. It was also kind of pricey for the amount of dip you get ($8). We chose the salsa, queso, and guacamole dips. They were ok, but if I visited again, I think I would just get the standard chips and salsa for $2.

Their kids menu was nice, in that they offered non-Mexican cuisine items, as well, if you have a child who isn't into tacos.

Our bill for 2 adults and 2 kids, including an appetizer, came to around $35. Would definitely visit again!



Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank OhioMom65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    24
    16
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Niagara Falls, NY
Level Contributor
199 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican Fare”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Stopped at the Taco hut for lunch with my colleague. The place is large, with plenty of seating. We had lunch specials, I had the 2 tacos and chili, and my colleague had the chicken quesadilla.

The chili was very good, and had some bean curd in it which gave it a nice consistency, a corn shell was thrown in so that you could scoop chili as well. The tacos were good, not great, seasoning was a little less than I would have liked.

My colleague loved his quesadilla.

Service was fast and friendly and the food came out quick. The lunch specials are reasonably priced. Would visit again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dak1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren PA
Level Contributor
119 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Bland and slightly boring”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Some folks rave about TH, but hubby and I were unimpressed. We would gladly eat Mexican seven nights a week, but not here. It feels Americanized and toned-down - not much flavor for our taste.

Helpful?
1 Thank EdandRuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
201 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere!”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

And the black bean ad chicken quesadilla is pretty good too!

I like Taco Hut because it has a small town feel to it. It isn't a chain, the food isn't fast food Mexican - it's good food at good prices with good service.

And their bar selection isn't bad either. :)

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank diva3713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
248 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Quick Service, Below-Average Food”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Okay. I'm sure this restaurant is one of the finer Mexican joints in the area. But I just wasn't impressed with it. This evening's special was three hard-shell tacos for $2.49. They basically consisted of shells with a thin layer of meat, a sprinkle of cheese, and a whole ton of lettuce. I got to sample some other ingredients with the taco salad, but there was nothing special. The ambiance was nice but the food seemed inauthentic; as such I rate this location below-average.

On the plus side, service is lightning-quick! Though it's almost uncomfortably quick in retrospect.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoadTripToSFO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taco Hut also viewed

Jamestown, Chautauqua County
Jamestown, Chautauqua County
 
Jamestown, Chautauqua County
Jamestown, Chautauqua County
 

Been to Taco Hut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing