We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Bed & Breakfast”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jamestown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Oaks Bed and Breakfast Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Jamestown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed just one night on our way back home. Everything was very clean and neat and it is in a nice part of Jamestown. The room we were in, the Tinkham room, was small - not very much floor space. Also, not many places to place a piece of luggage so you can look through it. It had a modern in-suite bathroom. There is only one mirror in the room (in the bathroom) and only one electrical outlet (same place), so it is not possible for someone to be curling their hair and someone to be shaving. We found the beds to be comfortable, but the pillows were like rocks. Across the hall from the Tinkham is a seating area, which is very nice - large screen tv and comfortable seating. The night we were there it got down into the 30s and they had a problem with the heating, but they brought in a portable heater, which warmed the room but took up more of the limited floor space. We didn't stay for the full breakfast, but enjoyed a fruit compote and some fabulous muffins that Richard made.

Room Tip: If you want two beds, you may want to choose the Isabella room. It looked like it had a little more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 122 reviews

Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed short stays, a two night visit and a one night visit in August. Our room, the green room, was well-appointed, bright and cheerful. Our bathroom across the hall was spotless and convenient. The inn itself is well maintained and each room is beautifully decorated. One of my favorite spots was the private patio on the side street but screened from view by an ivy covered brick wall. Richard was so kind as to serve our coffee out there one morning. Richard takes great care with his guests. The breakfast is not to be missed! And one morning when we were going to skip breakfast Richard took care to see that we had a breakfast picnic to go! Thank you Richard! I will definitely stay here again when I am in Jamestown.

Room Tip: Our room faced the rear parking lot but was very quiet nonetheless. Be sure to visit the side patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OPtraveler51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We just returned from a wonderful weekend in Jamestown NY. It was a great stay at the Oaks bed and breakfast. Richard, the innkeeper, was a super host and was most accommodating. We love to stay at B&Bs and liked staying here. The town of Jamestown has lots of great architecture and the brick streets are distinctive. The breakfast at the Inn was very good. The only drawback was that our bathroom was across the hallway from our room. Other than that, it was all quite nice.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask if the bathroom is in the room or across the hallway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Marathoner02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This B and B is beautiful! My husband and i stayed there as a mini vacation away from our kids. The bed was very soft and comfy. The whole place was clean and tastefully decorated! Thumbs up for Them!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stacie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed 5 nights in the Rose Room. Richard is a terrific host. The old mansion is wonderful and true to its original architecture. The food was scrumptious and plentiful. They accommodated our every wish. We plan to stay there whenever we return to Jamestown.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

We stayed at the Oaks in October. It was my husbands first stay at a bed and breakfast. Thank you to Richard and Joe for making it a fantastic first time! The room was perfect and breakfast was awesome! Thank you!!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

If you want a truly relaxing place with the most fantastic breakfast you will ever have, then stay at The Oaks. Richard was such a dear and a wonderful cook. He took care of my dietary needs (have celiac disease) and was so accommodating each day. Both Richard and Joe were very friendly and made you feel very welcome. That also goes for their entire staff. Stay in the Rose room. No one on either side, below or above you. Very nice spacious room. It was also really nice that they allowed my family members to come over and hang out with you in the game room, etc. If I lived back there, I wouldn't have to go very far to stay and have a nice weekend get away. Cannot wait for my next trip back to Chautauqua County.

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room in the house, but I loved the Rose Room. We were going to swi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Diane V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamestown hotels
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn Jamestown Falconer
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Jamestown
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Downtown Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Jamestown
0.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Jamestown
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Oaks Bed and Breakfast Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Oaks Bed and Breakfast Hotel

Address: 1103 W 3rd St, Jamestown, NY 14701-4617
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Chautauqua County > Jamestown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Jamestown
Price Range: $129 - $139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Bed and Breakfast in an historic Jamestown, New York home, located along an oak tree-lined street. The Oaks is perfect for a weekend getaway to the popular Chautauqua NY region; or, a charming alternative to a hotel room in Jamestown N.Y. We now offer FREE WI-FI!Enjoy your stay in one of The Oaks’ ten newly-refurbished guest rooms, each with private baths. Every guest room is a one-of-a-kind treasure for you to enjoy. Choice of king size, queen size or twin beds. Handicapped accessible guest accommodations are available.If you’ll be visiting Jamestown, NY for fun and you’re looking for hotel reservations then The Oaks Bed and Breakfast is the perfect place to stay! If you plan to attend an event at Jamestown’s Reg Lenna Civic Center, at the Jamestown Savings Bank Ice Arena, or the Lucille Ball Museum and Theater The Oaks Bed and Breakfast Hotel is conveniently located within a short drive, or walking distance! And you’ll find many casual, as well as fine dining restaurants nearby.We are affiliated with Chautauqua County Chamber of Commerce. We look forward to meeting you on your next visit to Jamestown NY or the Chautauqua NY region. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing