We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not for the Claustrophobic”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Duncan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Duncan Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jamesport
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
197 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Not for the Claustrophobic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed two nights while attending a local wedding. The owners are friendly and accomodating; the rooms are adequately clean and the Direct TV service was a plus. But...the rooms are the smallest I've seen this side of the Atlantic, and the bathrooms, while clean, were the size of closets. This is a 1960's Motel that has been updated with the minimum amenities, perfect as a place to crash after a day of wine tasting, but you won't want to spend a minute more then necessary in your room.

Room Tip: If available, upgrade to a king room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    36
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
45
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you want to explore North Fork this is the place to go, without renting a giant house for the week. The Inn is clean and well managed. This is one of those places where you can keep going back because the hotel itself does not cause any stress on your or your wallet.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lavanyadj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

I have stayed at The Country Inn many times now and wish I had written a review sooner. I love staying here. I have stayed with my boyfriend for just one night and also with a group of friends for a longer girls' weekend. It is conveniently located near the beginning of the wineries on the North Fork so you can easily visit different ones in the area. The owners/staff were extremely nice and friendly. They had suggestions and some discount cards for a few of the wineries as well. It is reasonably priced and the rooms are clean and comfortable. I definitely recommend it and plan to go again soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc8843
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

my sisters and i took a last minute trip out to the wineries last weekend and stayed at the country inn. the owners/staff were extremely nice and friendly. it was reasonably priced and the rooms were clean and comfortable. i definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nyc8843
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2010

the room was no better than a motel 6. it was 40 degrees inside when we arrived at 7pm. i guess they don't heat or AC the rooms in advance of arrival to save money. the heater was an air conditioner/heater wall unit...noisy and constantly blowing hot air across the room. the bed was horrible and i woke with a backache (which i rarely experience). overpriced at $80/night. i guess we were paying for the location and nice-looking exterior, cause the rooms are about as bare-bones as they come.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tangobanjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2009

Stayed for two nights at the Country Inn. Was initially given a key to the non-kitchenette room but had booked a room with the kitchenette. No issues, we just switched rooms but I am glad I saw the first room. They are definitely small, especially the bathroom so for the little extra money it is worth getting the room with the kitchenette. The hotel is on a main route so it is very convenient. I was impressed by the cleanliness. The lot was well maintained and our unit very clean. I found it cleaner than some hotels I have stayed at that cost twice as much. The place seemed full with a mix of couples and families and noise wasn't an issue, it was quiet considering the location. I would have no problem recommending this Motel.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cimicats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11758
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2008

stayed at a queen size room no kitchen. Room were very clean,but small. Bathroom was clean updated and again small.Needs a table in the rooms and another chair,so two people can relax and have a snack or drink and sit on something beside the bed. Overall worth the price , was treated nicely by the owner. One last thing needs more towels

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lwl53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamesport
15.9 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
4.0 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
7.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 7 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
17.7 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
6.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express East End
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duncan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duncan Inn

Property: The Duncan Inn
Address: 1399 Main Rd, West, Jamesport, NY 11947
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Jamesport
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Jamesport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Duncan Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duncan Inn is a newly renovated 20 rooms and suites motel located in Jamesport NY. The interiors of the rooms have a cool contemporary grey and blue palette, with splashes of color coming from artwork from the owners' hometown in Scotland. Wood effect vinyl plank flooring give the room a clean and spacious feel and combining 250 thread count white bedding make this a room to relax, get comfortable and wake up refreshed for day ahead. The room has a workspace and task chair with 4 electrical outlets to charge your smartphones, tablets and laptops. Fridges to keep your food and beverages chilled and microwaves to heat them up, and not forgetting an electric kettle to boil water - for those tea drinkers! Proudly serving Hamptons Coffee Company in Lobby from 07am, along with snacks, juices, water and soda. Free wifi throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Duncan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Jamesport
Jamesport Country Inn
Country Hotel Jamesport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing