We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“North Fork Gem”
Review of Jedediah Hawkins

Jedediah Hawkins
Reserve with OpenTable
Jedediah Hawkins is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Jamesport
Price range: $20 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Route 25
Transit: The Hampton Jitney stops in Jamesport.
Description: Jedediah Hawkins, housed in the majestically restored 1863 home of Captain Jedediah Hawkins, is quickly becoming the crown jewel in the North Fork’s dining scene. Recognizing that the purity of flavor derives from the ripest, most seasonal ingredients, guests can expect an ever evolving menu that places its emphasis upon local and sustainably grown ingredients.
Bridgehampton, New York
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“North Fork Gem”
Reviewed June 10, 2014

A wonderful dining experience...brunch outside on the patio amid the beautifully landscaped grounds was perfect. Fresh from the oven muffins served with homemade lavendar salted butter drizzled with honey started our wonderful meals. We raved about the duck wings as an appetizer as well as the beet salad. Each course was prepared to perfection. The service was exceptional ..attentive yet not overbearing. The waitstaff was very knowledgeable about all the menu items...and were more than happy to explain how the dish was prepared. This place is a wonderful gem on the North Fork of Long Island that I would highly recommend...and definitely return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hamptonfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    28
    20
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sag Harbor, New York
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Great Setting”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Went here for dinner with my business partner, our attorney and our wives for a wonderful evening of good food and drink. We started out in the basement bar, surrounded by brick and mortar and old beams in a very casual atmosphere. The waiter could not have been more accommodating. We spend about an hour here and then were brought up to the dining room for dinner. As always, the food was outstanding, the noise level very comfortable and the service excellent. You could not ask for a better evening !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJR1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastern CT
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good food,disappointing experience”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I called for a reservation for a Thursday night and was asked if it was a special day. I was pleased that I was asked and explained it was our 46th anniversary. Upon arrival, nothing was mentioned of our special day and we were asked if we wanted to be on the porch. I said okay and was ushered to a table directly in front of the entrance where everyone would have to circumvent us. We then asked for an inside table. We were given a nice table by a window that had an air conditioning vent under the table that blew directly on our legs. I plopped my hand bag on top of it and that cured that problem. My husband had a bison burger which he was very happy with and I had a sea bass which was very good except it had the skin on it which was crispy and I found the visual a bit underwhelming and had difficulty removing it. The place was lovely although the food was slow to be served, but throughout the entire evening, no one ever mentioned our anniversary. The food was good, but the experience was disappointing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KBLPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Delicious meal and great service from Jake”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

We enjoyed a wonderful private dinner on one of the nights of our stay and got to try 5 courses of creative fare. The duck/tamarind wings were outstanding as were the simple tomato and tarragon bruschetta - best tomato I've had in years. Also the steamed clams and mussels in a fennel broth were outstanding - I highly recommend a visit.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttravellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manorville, New York
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good night out”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

A very pleasant atmosphere and fine dining experience. The food was very good and the wine list was extensive. The service was not up to par as our waitress liked to talk to certain tables for extended periods while we waited. Overall we would return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank johnds1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jedediah Hawkins also viewed

 
Mattituck, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 
Jamesport, North Fork
Greenport, North Fork
 

Been to Jedediah Hawkins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing