We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Birthday Weekend Away” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Jamesport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Birthday Weekend Away”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2010

My boyfriend took me to the Jedediah Hawkins Inn for a special birthday weekend earlier this summer. The Inn and Restaurant exceeded our expectations! We took the Jitney from NYC to Jamesport - an easy, no-traffic trip. The bus lets you off just about a block from the Inn. Michael, the owner, was friendly and incredibly accommodating from start to finish. The staff is incredibly attentive, yet guests are able to relax and enjoy themselves on their own schedule. Our room ("Rose") was lovely and the Inn and surrounding grounds were beautiful and fun to explore, including the relaxing porch area, gardens, chicken coop, and nicely-equipped gym. We borrowed the cruiser bikes furnished by the Inn and rode to various vineyards and the nearby beach. We had breakfast at the Inn as well as dinner and simply loved every bite. We appreciated the very personable dining staff and head chef, Keith. All in all - amazing! We'll be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floresdelmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    21
    13
    10
    6
See reviews for
23
185
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville FL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2010

On our first visit to the North Fork we stayed 2 nights at the Jedediah Hawkins Inn. It is a spectacularly renovated old home with beautiful grounds. The rooms were wonderful - fairly large with incredibly comfortable beds, large bathrooms and lovely furnishings; on the edge of contemporary but fitting with the house. The grounds are very nice with a beautiful kitchen garden and a fun chicken coop. As we were traveling with a 2 year old we did not eat at Luce Hawkins but it would be worth the trip back to do so as the menu looked wonderful. There are only 6 rooms so the staff know just who the guests are and are wonderful, attentive and friendly. The service was seamless. Only one problem - the highly rated, very busy restaurant and kitchen do not blend well with the rooms. Our rooms, one upstairs and one next to the kitchen were both terribly noisy until the staff had cleaned up for the night and gone home at about midnight.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VISJacksonvilleFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

My wife and I just finished a two night stay at the Inn. Within the first hour there we wanted to make our stay longer. First, let me start with the only negative. When people learn about this place, we will have to start booking our trips a year in advance. That's OK though, they deserve the success because I cannot say enough positive things about this place. The Inn has been meticulously restored and the decor is stunning. Each of the rooms has its own theme, ranging from classic and conservative to modern/transitional, like the Cocoa room we stayed in. Being in our early 40s, and having spent plenty of time in New York City chic hotels, we like the modern element that somehow amazingly fits this very classic Inn. We were given a tour of the attic suite, which is incredible. Its huge, has a separate room with a pull out couch, desk, plasma TV and another room with a beautiful bed in the middle of the floor surrounded by built in padded seating around the entire perimeter. It even has an observation tower that you can walk into and see a panoramic view of the magnificent grounds, which includes a beautiful gazebo overlooking a huge farm and their own smaller garden with seating where they grow their own vegetables and herbs used in the restaurant.

And oh, the incredible restaurant. Chef Luce is everything and more than you would expect from someone with his amazing resume. The picture of him with Bill Clinton in the White House is impressive, but his food is even more so. Breakfast, which is included, was a medley of fresh pastries and breads, local blackberries, plums, peaches, fresh yogurt, home made oatmeal and granola, scrambled eggs with lobster, perfect sunny side up eggs in their own litlle skillet, capuccino, it was endless. I wasn't hungry again unitl dinner, and what a dinner it was. Everything on the menu sounded great, and everything we ate was on par with the best foods we have ever had at the finest restaurants around the world. Chef Luce caught the fish I ate the night before when he took some of his staff fishing in the Peconic Bay on their day off. The vegetables were all organically grown either on their property or on local farms nearby. The wealth of local produce has given Chef Luce incredible things to create with in a beautiful location. All of the guests were singing Chef Luce's praises, including the nice couple from North Carolina we met at breakfast, toured the wineries with and ultimately had dinner with. They were vegitarians and loved the creative fresh vegetable dishes on the menu.

I cannot write this glowing review without giving major credit to the innkeeper, Michael Kaminski and his very courteous staff, from the housekeeper to the bartender. Michael is a kind a gentle soul who clearly has one agenda in mind - making his guests comfortable and happy. With us he succeeded over and over again. It's hard to put into words but he is west coast laid back hip chic and this attitude permeates the entire place. He and Chef Luce moved across the country to take over this project in December and they have done little things to take this beautiful old house and add a cool vibe to it. All we kept talking about is how this place is the perfect get away no matter what you like - there are conservative rooms and menu items, funky cool rooms and menu items, it really has something for everyone. It is the perfect place to stay and tour the dozens of wineries, all within a few miles down the road. As much as we like the Hamptons and New York City, I think we have found our ideal two night escape. It felt like we were in another country. Put simply, great food, great wine, great people, great accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DssEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2010

I had the pleasure of staying at the Jedediah Hawkins Inn last night. I had been there before with my boyfriend and his family and we enjoyed a beautiful evening- but nothing compared to last nights experience. From the moment we pulled up until the minute we said goodbye this afternoon we were treated like family. After a warm welcome we were introduced to the Cider room. I couldn't believe my eyes!! It was so beautiful yet approachable and comfortable. We took some time to wander the beautiful farm and enjoy the dusk in the screened in gazebo. We then were blown away by the tasting menu and had the pleasure of having Dina as our waitress. Her friendliness and knowledge of the menu made it a truly enjoyable experience. duck wings= must have. Be careful with the punch....its strong ;) After a delicious, romantic and relaxing dinner with a long walk in between courses we turned in for the night into the very cozy Cider Room.

Just when we thought that it couldn't get any better we woke up to the MOST AMAZING breakfast experience...... I wouldn't want to ruin the magic of it all for anyone so my best advice would be to go and spend a night there with Keith, Michael and the rest of the amazing crew at the Inn.

A special thank you to Michael for making our experience so inviting and enjoyable!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vanpao27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2010

We have stayed at the Inn and have dined in the restaurant a few times before. Our most recent stay was for the 4th of July Holiday. We decided to take a quick get away. We did not eat dinner in the restaurant this time, but have in the past, and personally, had never had a negative experience. This time, we did enjoy a splendid breakfast (served in wonderful little courses), seated in the glass enclosed sun room, so we can comment on the food to that extent.

We understand that the Inn is under new management and we can share that Michael, the Inn Keeper, was personable, gracious and warm. The Inn's common areas felt more welcoming than in the past as well. The rooms at the Inn are all tastefully decorated. We've stayed in a few rooms before, including the suite. The suite is a charmingly rustic top floor space with tons of room, but we thought that the bathroom could have been more grand, given all of the available space. Our favorite room is the Sage room...it is peaceful, quiet and romantic. We most recently stayed in the Cocoa room. It is a very fashionable room, but we would say the least quiet as it sits right above the bar. There is no missng the music (from the lounge) in this room, so we probably wouldn't stay in that particular one again, but to be fair, we want to mention that when we requested that the volume of the music be turned down (at around 10pm when we retired), we were accomodated immediately and it made a huge difference. We want to mention also that the grounds at the Inn are really beautiful to enjoy as well. We look forward to our next stay at the Inn and plan to make dinner reservations at the restaurant next time around as well. We've stayed at other very nice places in the Northfork too, but this Inn is still our favorite so far.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank svan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford ct
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

Twice over the last week I have had the pleasure of sampling the food of the re-vamped Hawkins Inn, and I must say it is EXCELLENT.

Living within walking distance I have wished for the last few years that the restaurant at the Hawkins inn was a little more friendly and inviting, and a tad less painful on the wallet. Well apparently the restaurant fairy saw fit to grant my wish.

Keith Luce's menu (what I have eaten so far) is to DIE for. On my first visit, I went with three local friends and we tried a large number of items from the "small" patio menu. While the portions aren't exactly huge (many are called "nibbles") they were tasty and more than enough to fill the four of us.

I was extremely happy to see the"nostalgia" items on the menu- including Hamburgers and Mac and Cheese, which won my wife over on my second trip. My wife is a huge fan of basic comfort food, and told me she would be VERY happy stop in once a week for martini's and appetizers.

Stand out items so far have been-well everything we've tried, including the Duck wings (do try them) mussels in beer, Mac and cheese, flat bread, artisan pizza, and chocolate pudding with sea salt.

The wait staff is extremely friendly and Michael, the new in manager is just the face the place needed, acting as the kind of host you wouldn't mind at your parties.

While it is still possible to murder your wallet in the Hawkins house with a wine tasting menu, you can now also just slightly bludgeon it while having a wonderful time.

Dinner last week for three, with martinis for all, a 1/2 carafe of wine, a beer, more than enough food and dessert AND tip came in a shave over 200 bucks. The week previous came to about the same with four.

In this day and age, for the quality and ambience, that is more than acceptable. Don't miss out on this new North Fork gem

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank zamgwar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

WOW is all I can say. I too am afraid once word gets out, we won't be able to get in the door. Michael is amazingly warm and inviting. The food is unbelievable from beginning to end. Mouthwatering, fresh ingredients. A must even for the most picky.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn13169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamesport
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
7.6 mi away
Hotel Indigo East End
Hotel Indigo East End
#3 of 7 in Riverhead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
15.6 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
14.4 mi away
Shelter Island House
Shelter Island House
#1 of 5 in Shelter Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Duncan Inn
The Duncan Inn
#1 of 1 in Jamesport
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant

Property: Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant
Address: 400 South Jamesport Avenue, Jamesport, NY 11947
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Jamesport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jamesport
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the farms and the vineyards of the North Fork's wine country, Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant is a stunning historic property, known for its luxurious accommodations, genuine hospitality and exceptional food. Our property with its barn, gazebo, fountain, gardens and bridal suite is a gorgeous location for amazing wine country weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant Hotel Jamesport
Jedediah Hawkins Inn And Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing