We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful grounds and attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Jamesport B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 2, 2012

On Saturday, September 1, my neighbors and I traveled from Deer Park to your restaurant. We had 6pm reservations. Our reason for visiting your property was to celebrate a 25th Anniversary and a birthday. Our neighbors had stayed overnight, 5 years ago, for their 20th, and invited us to share this milestone with them. We were seated in the cellar, as requested. {Please see pictures attached}.
Let me start by saying your grounds and Inn were beautiful and your staff was very pleasant. While seated in the cellar, we were visited by 7 staff members. Collin was our main server.

With that being said, all four of us were extremely disappointed with the portion size of the meals and the fact that neither celebration was recognized by the management. Our bill totaled over $350. This may be typical for your regulars out east, but not for two modest earning families. Three of us ordered the Mahi Mahi. My husband ordered the Filet. All four portions were no larger than a Post-It and cost an average of $34. I needed to order an additional salad, and the others had to eat more bread because the meals were not in abundance. Also, my husband and I treated our neighbors to their drinks, but the GM could have sent our neighbors a complimentary drink in honor of their 25th anniversary. Upon speaking of my disappointment, the management made the situation right by us. This pleased me, as I would like to return.

Room Tip: When making reservations for dinner, ask to sit in the Wine Cellar. It's private, with leather...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonicaK614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (290)
There are newer reviews for Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 290 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel is a fantastic experience from every aspect. Beautiful country setting. A mile to the beach for a nice walk or swim. The house is skillfully decorated and the rooms luxioursly appointed. The food is amazing and the customer service was world class. It was such a treat to stay there. I felt totally pampered, relaxed and refreshed by the entire package.

Room Tip: We got upgraded to the Belevedere suite. Best room in the house i believe.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JedediahJamesport, Owner at Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

We're so glad you were happy with the experience (we love the Belvedere suite too!). Hope you'll come back and see what it's like in the Fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Not many places on the North Fork know how to do it, but this is the creme de la creme.

Country elegance in Victorian form.

The staff at every turn is professional, dedicated to service and knowledgeable. The quality of the food is what you would expect from a five star place in any major city. Beautiful, fresh, delicious. Every sauce, every veggie, the tableware, the artwork, flowers...lovely.

Never a disappointment.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christineabella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Outstanding all around flawless experience: rooms, service, food, location, ambiance, location. Reminiscent of the finest English country estates. Well done Jedediah Inn, will be recommending to friends and family and returning soon. North Fork newcomers may wish to try Bedell Vineyards as a romantic complement to JHI!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RP68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We've purchased a deal from Boomspot.com to spend 1 night at this great place. Our expectations were exceeded. Both the restaurant and the hotel were great. The beach near by was perfect; quiet, clean and with very warm water. We'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belomlini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JedediahJamesport, Owner at Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2012

We're thrilled you were happy with your Bloomspot deal! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Room was hot! When we looked for thermostat, all we found was a small fan. When we called downstairs at midnight, we were connected to a recorded message. When we asked the next morning where the thermostat was for our room, we were told it was located it another guest room!!
Breakfast consisted of soggy bagels and under ripe fruit (in July) that ice cold and stored in a refrigerator.
TOO EXPENSIVE for that type of service and accommodations!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank reivewitnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

A wonderful place for relaxing, romancing and true indulging. Beautiful small hotel where all of your needs are met. Incredible breakfast! Chef Luce is talented and gracious to each diner in the morning. Unique "speakeasy" bar in the basement. The North Fork wineries are easily navigated to and from this location.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianneland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jamesport
15.6 mi away
Harborfront Inn at Greenport
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Place Long Island East End
14.0 mi away
Sound View Greenport
Sound View Greenport
#1 of 7 in Greenport
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.4 mi away
The Blue Inn At North Fork
The Blue Inn At North Fork
#1 of 1 in East Marion
191 reviews
14.5 mi away
Cliffside Resort Condominiums
7.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Riverhead
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant

Address: 400 South Jamesport Avenue, Jamesport, NY 11947
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Long Island > North Fork > Jamesport
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Jamesport
Price Range: $328 - $551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled among the farms and the vineyards of the North Fork's wine country, Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant is a stunning historic property, known for its luxurious accommodations, genuine hospitality and exceptional food. Our property with its barn, gazebo, fountain, gardens and bridal suite is a gorgeous location for amazing wine country weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jedediah Hawkins Inn And Restaurant
Jedediah Hawkins Inn & Restaurant Hotel Jamesport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing