We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location but hotel has some problems”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton New York JFK
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“great location but hotel has some problems”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

i spent 2 nights at the hotel Jan 23-25. beware all rooms do not have a tub. heat vents are very noisy. gym is small but comfortable. i had to request stopper for bathtub each night. bathtubs do not have rubber mats . the exec lounge is not Hilton quality for evenings, only 1 selection daily and the breakfast offers no hot food. the hotel was busy and the service in the restaurant slow but the bakes mac and cheese is worth the wait. the room was clean and the bed comfortable and the shuttle will drop you at the terminals. i did not have to wait for shuttle pickup at federal circle even though the air train was not working. overall the staff was pleasant especially the lady bartender who always called me by name. i am rating poor because i have stayed at much better hilton property. although the food quality is good it is expensive but it's NY

Room Tip: room 701 is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller6004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    601
    563
    315
    143
    111
See reviews for
396
328
154
681
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed a night there.Very efficient pick up and drop off service at airport.Very very courteous front desk,Good rooms.But air conditioning unit was noisy. Could not sleep.Did not complain as i was there for one night for next day connecting international flight,

Room Tip: No suggestions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rohit P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

It is a good place if you need to go to jfk, we had a flight back home and we had to get up early for the flight and this is the best location for jfk passengers! The bus took us right to terminal 5 from jetblue! The rooms are modern , the room service food was great and the staff were friendly.

Wish i could come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AyeKian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

During my stay the staff went out of their way in make sure that everything was perfect. The conference center staff checked with me several times a day to see if I needed anything. Many thanks to all.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankAbbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
283 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed one night as we arrived late in the evening and we were catching another flight the next day to Miami. Hilton seemed like the best option based on reviews and description.
We had to take a cab from the airport to get there, which was a short ride.
We arrived on Christmas day and the welcome was not very warm, probably the worst we had during our 4-week vacation (apart from immigration). We kind of figured their attitude was due to the fact that they had to be at work during Christmas.

We had an executive room, but the executive lounge was closed during Christmas. We were not informed that we could have free breakfast in the lounge, so we went to the main dining room and had an expensive and bland breakfast (that we could've had for free!)

Rumor had it there was a Starbucks inside the hotel, which is wrong. They only have a small coffee shop (open at limited times) that has Starbucks coffee beans.

The room was spacey and okay. It had an odd, musty smell - typical for these kind of hotels. The bed was comfy and I like the Peter Thomas Roth bath products, they are nice and smells good.
Overall, I'm a little disappointed with the hotel as it is a Hilton brand and I expect more. Fortunately we had a good nights sleep and the room was pretty comfy which was the most important thing for us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glamourprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Catching the hotel's shuttle from Federal Square (where all the car hire companies congregate) was straight forward. Less than ten minutes and you are in the hotel lobby. I thought the outside of the hotel seemed familiar. Now I know why, thanks to a previous comment..............it used to be a Holiday Inn!

Staff were all helpful and the room was more than adequate for a one night stop-over. The bar is also lively with plenty of tv's dotted around for those who like to keep up with the latest news and sports results.

Would I stay there again.....................yes!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank _forevergreen_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Fortunately we only staid for one night and not more. Service and staff were kind of polite, but felt like everyone was in a rush (spoke slang and didn't seem to have time for customers). Hotel gym was nice, small but ok. We expected more from the brand.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Werldtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeraldLoughran, Manager at Hilton New York JFK, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Dear Werldtrav,

Please contact me directly so we may discuss your review further. As you can see from many other reviews, this is not feedback we receive often so I would love the opportunity to discuss further, so I can research where we failed and how we can make it right.

Sincerely,
Gerald Loughran - Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport
0.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
#2 of 30 in Jamaica
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City
0.6 mi away
Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel
0.1 mi away
Radisson Hotel JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton New York JFK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton New York JFK

Property: Hilton New York JFK
Address: 144-02 135th Ave, Jamaica, NY 11436 (Formerly JFK international Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton New York JFK 3.5*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton New York JFK Airport offers travelers inviting, comfortable and elegantly appointed accommodations minutes from one of the busiest airports in the United States. The hotel is a pleasant alternative to Manhattan prices for business, meetings or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton New York JFK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Jfk Airport
Jamaica Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing