We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place, feels like more than 2 stars but..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
Manila, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice place, feels like more than 2 stars but..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

It is a nice place, new furniture etc. However, there were some old hairs in the bathroom including in the newly washed towels that definitely did not belong to me so that's why I take down the rating a bit… It's nice and close to JFK so if you only need a hotel for a layover this is a god place. Walking distance to the subway/airtrain.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    139
    118
    40
    43
See reviews for
117
113
70
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

Great service in an almost brand new hotel, comfy beds, bath tub and shower with shampoo, conditioner, and lotion included. Staff were friendly and helpful. One thing to watch out for is when you come out of the subway station, make sure you avoid anyone asking for your metrocard and take off the luggage tag off your suitcase to avoid standing out as a tourist. The walk down to the hotel at night may seem slightly daunting if you haven't ever been there, but it's just a 5 minute walk to a colourfully lit up hotel. We would also say that the donuts in the breakfast bar could've been a bit fresher, but we enjoyed the waffle maker and American syrup :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank stuartlindanyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

I stayed at Howard Johnsons at Archer Ave, Queens couple of weeks ago and I was delighted with the amenities offered, superb service and a perfect location close to the subway / airtrain JFK and nice multi-cuisine restaurants all within walking distance. Additionally, the rooms are well furnished modern and quiet as well for a good sleep.

Room Tip: The Hotel has multiple storoes as such generally most rooms are quiet. The rooms have windows with e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sunder V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadera, Israel
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Cleam .comfort. Very close to transportation to NY and jfk. It was perfect for me when arrived at night and had a day to spend in NY before next flight.
The only deficiency - unpleasant area of the city so at night I took a taxi from jfk- just 20 dollar.
Hagai

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itamari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

This place gets the job done. I stayed here on two separate occasions both times worked out pretty well. Very convenient to JFK- it is a little walk from the train station but really not bad at all (if you have a lot of luggage- it might be an issue). Despite being next to the train station, it is very very quiet- although, I was on the back of the hotel (away from the train station) both times.

The biggest thing this place has going for it is- it is new. There was even a retail sticker still on my TV.
I don’t know how long the ‘newness’ can carry this place. Their cleaning standards are slightly relaxed and they could work on their presentation at the front desk.
If you’ve never been to New York, you might think the rooms are small but as far as NYC goes, they’re actually pretty spacious.

Beds were very comfortable. Comforter and pillows need work. The comforter is cheap and the kind that probably doesn’t get washed often. Pillows are a little too firm. There’s three on each bed and it’d be nice if at least one of them were super soft.
Good size refrigerator, single-cup coffee maker, good clean iron, ironing board and hair dryer in each room. Good size desk and lamp with extra plugs. Wifi is very strong and fast (I did not download anything).

Staff is very friendly and try to be helpful. The front desk area looks very disorganized. There are bags and jackets behind the desk which make it look more like a coat check. While friendly enough, I could have used a warmer greeting upon arrival. When arriving at a hotel for the first time, nothing beats a warm smile and a “Welcome to the Howard Johnson!.” I’m not looking for them to do a dance for me- just a feeling that they really appreciate my business.

Cleaning is my biggest issue. This place is by no means ‘dirty’ - it’s actually quite clean but I think a lot of that is due to the new surroundings. In the first room I stayed in, all the mirrors were streaked and hazy. The night stands and alarm clock looked like they hadn't been cleaned in a while. The alarm clock had a big greasy hand print on it. The beds are sloppily made- sheets not tucked in all the way, comforter thrown on hastily. For the most part, the bathrooms are kept very clean. The second room I stayed in looked fine until I turned on the shower and the steam revealed a, presumed, "sex" hand print on the headboard above the bed. -Just about the last thing you want to see before climbing into a bed that’s not your own. On the second night, the hand print was still there after housekeeping cleaned. Over time, I believe all these little cleaning flaws will mount up and possibly make this a 'dirty' place.

Elevators are slow. Did not try the breakfast or exercise room. Didn’t use the “office services” but it looks like a table with two computers and a printer in the lobby.

Bottom line - this place is fine if you're in town for business or just need a cheap place to sleep. I would not recommend it for NEW couples- Jamaica Queens is not for lovers. From looking at other places in the area at this price range- this place is definitely the best. Good price, convenient, friendly, and clean enough. I would probably give this place another try but a few more cleaning problems and I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: I would suggest a room in the back. The corner rooms away from the elevator are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveling T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had a comfortable stay especially as we were travelling with a 4year old and a 7mth old. We were allowed to checkout a bit later which helped but also the manager Mr Patel helped us with a torn luggage. There is everything that is necessary in the rooms and there is a microwave to warm up baby food in the dining area downstairs. I would like to thank the staff for being so helpful and surely recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you have any problems, Ask as the staff are very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank syeedahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jamaica Inn
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
0.6 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jamaica JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN JFK Airport Hotel
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express At JFK
2.4 mi away
Courtyard New York Jfk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK

Property: Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK
Address: 13909 Archer Ave, Jamaica, NY 11435-4304
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened, 100% non-smoking hotel just minutes from two major airports JFK & LGA; Citi Field & Arthur Ashe Stadiums; Two block, five minutes walk from AirTrain, LIRR & Subway E, J & Z; 30 minutes train ride to Big Apple's world class attractions including Times Square, Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden, Rockefeller Center, Broadway Theatre District, Central Park and many more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing