We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (354)
Filter reviews
354 results
Traveler rating
41
101
112
50
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
41
101
112
50
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjust inside the doorbudget staywithin walking distanceupon entering the roomthe staff was friendly and helpfulclose to the airport
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 354 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2010

Looking a little worn out. Smelled a little funny. Mostly clean. Ok for a quick night. Indian Curry restaurant excellent ( brochures in the lobby). Delivers. Prices a bit cheaper if you eat in. Easy 6 block walk. Very nice dining room (compared to other places in the area). Paid $129 9/10.

  • Stayed: September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alibrygotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

This hotel is wonderful! It is small and in a rough neighborhood, but it is a great value! The staff is extremely courteous and helpful. The rooms were neat and clean, and the breakfast was hot and delicions! It was within walking distance of the train station that took us right into NYC. A GREAT value for the money!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NhBargainhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

This is your avg budget hotel. Simple and clean. Staff was helpful and welcoming. The area was not the best but we had no problem going out to the subway(5 min walk and 30 min ride to the NY city). Jamaica ave shopping was great if you are looking to buy cheap and good stuffs, not brand name but ok. The shuttle was on time. Need to improve a bit on the breakfast if they can, may be more items. Everything else was ok. I will go back there if I visit NY again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank james02920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

To start it off, the shuttle phone at JFK took ages before someone picked up and it then took 55 minutes before the shuttle arrived to pick us up. Not the best welcome to New York after a long flight. Must say though that we slept well on a good mattress in a large room, but mainly because we were so exhausted from our trip and didn't have the energy to complain about the couple of long thick black hairs lying between the sheets (which were also stained to boot), the curtains which didn't close properly and the fact we couldn't have a decent shower due to the poor water-pressure. Besides that, both the lobby and reception area and the breakfast area are tiny and the free continental breakfast was meager to say the least without even the regular pastries but did include 1 waffle machine (which we didn't get to use as it was too busy). Also, the hotel and surrounding neighborhood are quite shabby looking and the area didn't appear too friendly at all with people staring at us left, right and center. And even tho the hotel reception handled our check-in adequately, both the shuttle driver and the breakfast guy were plain rude, not even bothering a reply "Good morning" or "You're welcome" or anything at all for that matter. To top it off, the internet PC in the lobby was broken and there was no WiFi reception in our room even though we were on the ground floor near the reception area. We paid $149 for the night which is ridiculously overpriced, even at half the money it wouldn't be worth it. Will not recommend this place to anyone I wish well.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

I had an overnight transit from La guardia (arriving evening) to JFK (departing next morning) and the Super 8 is well placed for a quick overnight stop. It was a $17 taxi ride from La guardia as there is no shuttle from there to the hotel, but wasn't too expensive. The hotel offers a shuttle bus - earliest leaves at 4:30 and then every hour after. The bus takes around 10 minutes to the airport, but depends on how many people need dropping off at different terminals - shouldn't take more than about 20mins though.

I got the 4:30 bus so missed out on breakfast.

I booked the cheapest rate room, but it was pretty spacious for the price and had a ig king sized bed. Not sure if that's normal or I had been upgraded or something. There was also a large bath/shower in the bathroom. Free wifi was fast. Guests had tv on in the next room which you could hear slightly, but all together not too bad re:soundproofing.

Bad thing is the location. Pretty dodgy area. The taxi driver even said don't go out when he dropped me off.

I made it across the road to McDonalds just for a snack to eat in the evening but I wouldn't have wanted to go any further.

Guy at the front desk was very friendly and helpful.
Perfect for a La guardia to JFK change. Good for JFK.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ctranter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews