We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel Great Staff!!!!!!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Knights Inn JFK Airport NYC
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
San Juan Metro Region, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel Great Staff!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Hotel is located on Jamaica Avenue at NY. You can call hotel to be picked up at the JFK Airport. They go to your arrival terminal. Just call them in advance. Very responsibles. You can also take the Jamaica bound Airtran, but be sure is not the inner loop between terminal. Ask before entering the JFK train. By airtrain you have to stop at the Jamaica Center at Sutphin Blvrd. You have to pay $5.00 at the center to leave the place, buy a Metrocard to do it. Walk by the Sutphin Blrv, 100 mts, turn left at Jamaica Ave. at the Capital One corner to the left. You are now in the Jamaica Avenue. Walk 200 mts. The hotel is at your left. Taxis at NY are expensive. If you can walk, can safe hundreds of dollars. Each taxi ride can cost you $25.00. Hotel have free WIFI, very strong signal at the Room. I was in room 108. Non smoking room. Smoking rooms area smells like hell cigarettes. I am a non smoker. Air conditiones makes some noise, but you do not hear it after some time. I saw many Russians people staying here.

Hotel staff is willing to help you always. But any request should be made in the morning. Before you leave. In the evening, they can not fix anything for you. My TV did not work. It was inmediately fixed. Brealfast is also FREE, very nice coffe. Waffles, toast, very fresh food. This is a bargain.

There is also a Macdonalds, a Wendys, a Subway, a Dunkin Donuts, and supermarkets at walking distance. You can buy a calling card at the nearby supermarket for $5.00, and save you many money calling home. Hotel staff can explain you how to call home cheaper.

Hotel is locate 5 minutes walking from the Van Wyck Jamaica Subway Station. If you dominate the subway, you dominate the city. nThe subway map can be found at the NY metro website. Download it, print is a color version, and take it with you at all times. Can be complicated, see where you are going. This is the "stone face" state. Old people have "stoneface", young people help you a lot. Ask them, you will see. Always ask where you go to someone. Never take a train without knowing where you go. Is a $2.25 train cost each ride. Buy a $20.00 metrocard and refill it if needed. Is very easy. There are videos at u tbe. See the, very instructives. Also, use street views at Gu gul maps, you can travel by the streets of NY in advance, see where to eat and go.

Restrooms--This is a serious problems at NY. Difficult to find one. They deny you to use it. Tip, there is a Brgr kng beside Empire SBlng. You buy something and you will be given the key to use it. Restrooms have a "Customes only" sign on the door. You can find restrooms at the building with observatory facilities.

Manhattan NY is a very agitated city. I saw it clean and safe.

Metro is clean, there are always some beggars and crazy people asking for money. Do not look at them. It can take 35 minutes ton arrive from hotel to Manhattan by subway. 8am is rush hour. This means full trains. Everybody in the train sleep inside with earphones.

Remember, ask young people for directions. Older people here are still living 2 decades back. "Stone face people".

Hotel premises. Hotel is located in a local neighborhood. Other reviews say "scary neighborhood" i found it very interesting. I saw in their faces, the latins, the indians, the jews, the black and americans, that work for the minimum federal salary, the unwanted ones, the faces the Government do not show. Is very safe to walk around. Nobody will hurt you. You will see the real America. Hidden from you. Very nice and humble people.

If you need a one night hotel during a layover. This is a hotel with an Airport Shuttle.

Staff is wonderfull. I will be back next year. Hotel room was always clean and neat. Give it a try. I recommend it.

Room Tip: There is a Wendys a Subway and a Macdonals at walking distance from hotel. Take a room away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Galant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8jamaica, General Manager at Knights Inn JFK Airport NYC, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and also thank you for choosing Super 8. I am happy that you liked out hotel and the service that we provided you. We will always try our super best to improve and help our guest to make their stay more enjoyable and make them feel home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    99
    112
    50
    46
See reviews for
80
98
70
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel was not worth the money paid.There were no refridgerator or microwave in the rooms and tv channels were limited.The AC was very loud. On a positive note thee is a free shutle service to the airport and a basic breakfast was available.The surounding area is not very good.One day was enough for me.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8jamaica, General Manager at Knights Inn JFK Airport NYC, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your feedback . I am sorry for the inconvenience that you had during your stay with us. We will be working on your suggestions in the near future. We will always try our super best to improve and help our guest to make their stay more enjoyable and make them feel home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgetown, Saint Michael, Barbados
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel is the epitome of low budget with very little that i could recommend to anyone.It has a free shuttle service to JFK.The neighborhood was not too bad.
There are no refrigerators or microwaves in rooms and limited TV channels.The breakfast consisted of toast, coffee/tea and juice but there were places nearby where you could go.One day was enough for me.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyB735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8jamaica, General Manager at Knights Inn JFK Airport NYC, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your feedback . I am sorry for the inconvenience that you had during your stay with us. We will be working on your suggestions in the near future. We will always try our super best to improve and help our guest to make their stay more enjoyable and make them feel home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

The room that I was in was one of the corner room. I stayed there 4 nights, clean room, friendly staff, price was bit more than other super 8's but I guess it is NY, all the other places were in the same range. I chose this one because of the free shuttle to JFK. Only suggestion would be to have more verity in your breakfast choices. Overall nice place!! Def come back and recommend to others. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8jamaica, General Manager at Knights Inn JFK Airport NYC, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and also thank you for choosing Super 8. I am happy that you liked out hotel and the service that we provided you. We will always try our super best to improve and help our guest to make their stay more enjoyable and make them feel home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

The hotel is nearby JFK, 10 minutes away by Shuttle bus. The neighborhood is OK, but the staff is so friendly and cooperative. Rooms are well furnished, Breakfast is continental, practical not fancy and I consider this hotel good value for money. Overall, I would rate this hotel as above average to very good.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank btoema
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8jamaica, General Manager at Knights Inn JFK Airport NYC, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and also thank you for choosing Super 8. I am happy that you liked out hotel and the service that we provided you. We will always try our super best to improve and help our guest to make their stay more enjoyable and make them feel home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aiken sc
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

The hotel is in a decent location. The staff was nice. My main complaint is that my mom found a bedbug in her bed. She kept saying she felt something on her, but I thought it was only b/c it was a new bed. She caught the darn thing and it escaped. The staff did refund us one night and changed our room, no problems. That was a plus! I wish the rooms offered micro/refrig and had better tv stations. Other than that, everything else was ok. Did not try breakfast bar. Don't think I will take a chance at this hotel again.

Room Tip: check room(beds especially!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank preciousjewel66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Jamaica Inn
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jamaica JFK Airport
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
0.1 mi away
Lexington Inn at JFK Airport
2.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express At JFK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knights Inn JFK Airport NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knights Inn JFK Airport NYC

Property: Knights Inn JFK Airport NYC
Address: 139-01 Jamaica Avenue, Jamaica, NY 11435-3613
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Knights Inn JFK Airport NYC 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Knights Inn JFK Airport NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Jfk Airport/Jamaica Hotel Jamaica
Super 8 Jamaica
Super Eight Jamaica
Jamaica Super 8
Jamaica Super Eight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing