We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

What do you expect it's new and it will take some time to get the bugs out. I thought the staff was helpful and the room was excellent. A little right but perfect if your just staying to catch a flight. The only down side it's a little dither away than where I usually stay and they did not have a good selection or any for that matter of take out restaurants. So we had to eat at the place there not bad but I'll leave it at that. Also the elevators wow are they slow so try to get a room on the lower floors.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Es-Bueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis G, General Manager at Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

On behalf of all Employees of the Holiday Inn Hotel at JFK Airport, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit in New York City. We realize there are many hotels to choose from and appreciate that you chose to stay with us. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback about your stay.

We have discussed your feedback with all our Staff members and we will work on improving the options in the restaurant as well as other departments.

Thank you again for your feedback,
Louis Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (369)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 369 reviews

Reviewed December 18, 2013

There are a lot of things I coudl say about this hotel, the bland restaurant that offers exactly one dish at a time, the bag of trash we found in the bathroom when we checked in, the missing coffee pot, etc. But one thing really stands out: the hotel is very far from the airport; and the free shuttle never arrived despite repeated phone calls and assurances that it would arrive "momentarily". The hotel left us standing in the freezing, unheated, outdoor waiting area for over 30 minutes before we finally gave up and took a cab.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis G, Manager at Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

On behalf of all Employees of the Holiday Inn Hotel at JFK Airport, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit in New York City. We realize there are many hotels to choose from and appreciate that you chose to stay with us. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback about your stay. We will use your feedback to help us improve the levels of service we provide all our guest in the future.

I could understand you might have felt standing at the designated pick up area at the JFK Airport and we are working hard at ensuring we pick up our guest in a more frequent basis.

Thank you again for your feedback,
Louis Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

At last, the IGH have built a new fully serviced hotel less than ten minutes from JFK.
Call the hotel when you are Federal Circle (car hire stop from the air-train) and the hotel's shuttle will be with you within ten minutes. ***Don't get on the HI Express courtesy shuttle by mistake!***
Rooms are clean and comfortable. All the usual things you take for granted (wifi, tea & coffee etc) are provided. Free pc's and wifi in the lobby area. Staff 1st class.
...And finally, the hotel's independent restaurant is great. Try the pork chops! Great value and generous portions..........very impressed.

(two minor points: still awaiting rooms safes and bins at time of visit)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank _forevergreen_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis G, Manager at Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

On behalf of all Employees of the Holiday Inn Hotel at JFK Airport, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit in New York City. We realize there are many hotels to choose from and appreciate that you chose to stay with us. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback about your stay. We will use your feedback to help us improve the levels of service we provide all our guest in the future.

Thank you so much for helping our guest understand which shuttle to take to which hotel. It’s common occurrence that some of our guest end up at the other hotel. In the event that happens, we will be happy to arrange transportation back to our hotel from there.

Safe deposit boxes are now available at the front desk.

Thank you again for your feedback,
Louis Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Can you imagine a hotel with absolutely no trash cans? A first I thought that it was a mistake but the front desk staff told us that there really no trash cans in the hotel. Holiday Inn sources them from a particular supplier and they are on backorder. When I threatened to throw my trash in the hall, they brought us a plastic bag and told us to use that.

I arranged the check in by phone. I got someone from half way around the world. He took 30 (really-I timed it!) minutes to find my previous reservation and then to arrange today's reservation. Even though I had my reservation number and the date I made the reservation and the confirmation number, they took a long time to find it in their system.

Why can't the Holiday Inn people just go to a local store and purchase a few trash cans??

Room Tip: None of the rooms have much of a view and they are not well sound proofed. An OK place if you really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank divermom3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis G, Manager at Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

On behalf of all Employees of the Holiday Inn Hotel at JFK Airport, I would like to thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit in New York City. We realize there are many hotels to choose from and appreciate that you chose to stay with us. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to give us some feedback about your stay. We will use your feedback to help us improve the levels of service we provide all our guest in the future.

Please accept my sincerest apology for the lack of waste paper baskets in you guest room. We are asking all our guest to just leave any waste in their room and we will have a member of our team pick it up as soon as we are notified.

Thank you again for your feedback,
Louis Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one night while in transit at JFK. The hotel was brand-new (opened just the week before) so not everything worked smoothly but it was understandable. The front desk staff was helpful and the shuttle bus driver was extremely courteous. About a 10-15min shuttle ride to JFK.

The rooms are on the slightly small side. Works very well for business travelers but not so much for family with kids. Same for the bathroom - you can only fit one person there at a time.

Only down side was that the restaurant was not open outside of the core hours (we arrived at 8pm and it's already completely shut down). The front desk staff said it's because the hotel was new and the restaurant operator did not think anyone will want to eat there that night, so they packed up early. They do have pantry items so we just grabbed some microwave dinner.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcmug2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis G, Manager at Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

We would like to thank you for allowing us an opportunity to provide you with your lodging needs while you traveled through New York City.

We would also like to thank you for providing us with some feedback about your recent stay. I was glad to hear that your shuttle experience was a good one and we will work hard to ensure our Dining room offers a greater level of service for your return.

Thank you again for your feedback,
Louis Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

I have worked in the motel business for 8+ years and have done a lot of traveling, never have I stayed in a motel where everyone was completely nice and willing to go the extra mile. From engineering to housekeeping to front desk everyone was pleasant and made me feel at home. Next time im in New York I will most definitely stay at this motel and will definitely tell my friends and family about this motel. Enjoyed my stay 100% didnt wont to leave because this was the best experience ever.Thanks! Everyone Erica,Margie Palacio, Tiffany,& Erica....

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trukfitswagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louis G, Manager at Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2013

We would like to thank you for allowing us an opportunity to provide you with your lodging needs while you were in New York City.

We would also like to thank you for providing us with some feedback about your recent stay. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us.

I have shared your comments with Margie, Erica and Tiffany.

Thank you again for your feedback,
Louis Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blay w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neji R, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area, responded to this reviewResponded yesterday

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
2.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express At JFK
3.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City
3.3 mi away
Courtyard New York JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
#2 of 30 in Jamaica
1,831 reviews
3.5 mi away
Radisson Hotel JFK Airport
3.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area

Address: 154-71 Brookville Boulevard Rosedale, Jamaica, NY 11422
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range: $142 - $287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area 3*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelPower, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn New York JFK Airport Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing