We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close to subway and JFK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Jamaica Inn
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
LA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“close to subway and JFK”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I stayed for one night there and it was quite ok. The room is nice, clean, everything works properly. The location is good, it's about 10 minutes drive from JFK, 20 $ by taxi. It's very close to 2 subway stations, hovewer I won't recommend you to ride the trains if you arrive late at night as the neighbourhood is rough and unsafe. It's a pity this hotel doesn't offer a shuttle to the airport, in all other respects it's good...might be a little overpriced, but it's NY!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatyana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    180
    74
    25
    21
See reviews for
133
102
53
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

One attraction of this hotel is that it is close to the subway (walkable). The rooms were clean and the breakfast was simple and adequate. I found teh rooms to be quite spacious for the crowded New York city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anil303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed for four nights with my wife and two children. Our room was clean and comfortable The staff were efficient and helpful..The breakfast was good. The breakfaast room was a little cramped at times but you could take food up to your room if this bothered you. We had a functional fridge and microwave in our room. There is plenty of fast food joints near by. chinese, pizza, chicken, indian, burgers, we tried them all. The chinese two mins away was excellent. We used this hotel as it was close to JFK ( $20 in a yellow cab ) and convenient for the subway into Manhattan. We used Briarwood subway which was 7 mins walk. You can get the F train at all times also the E train stops at busy times. The journey takes approx 30 mins dependent on what part of manhattan you get off. The area around the hotel looks a tad scruffy but don't be put off, we walked around after 10 oclock and the area around Briarwood was still busy with commuters etc. This was our 2nd stay in Queens and all the people we have met have been friendly and helpful. Once they realise you are not local they go out their way to be helpful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paulevans1878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here twice once on March 14 and again April 6. Breakfast was very minimalistic, make ur own waffles, boiled egg, pastries, fruit, a drinks machine and an unpleasant member of staff who spent her time talking to her friend in her language, which I found rude and unprofessional. The rooms are modern and clean with very comfortable beds. No concierge or member of staff willing to help me with luggage tho I had a screaming baby and 3 suitcases to get to the 2nd floor but there is an elevator, still not easy with a baby in your hand. The ice machine n snack area came in very handy. Good location near stores and the train station. No fancy extras but if u want a good clean room for the night I recommend staying here and it's close to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dazlyn411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

1st room on the bottom floor, the talking and laughing at 2:30 am was annoying. I'm not one to complain but... The Toilet paper roll, screeches like the sound of screeching tires, the "blanket" on the bed was thin and pointless, there were random noises sounded like pipes in the ceiling. The shower head was horrible, it had a cotton curtain all I could think about was how many naked butts touched it over the years. Decorations, which is not important at all but, haha two pictures in the room they were exactly the same.
Front desk weren't friendly at all, didn't give us any information about our stay. Didn't make an effort to make us feel welcomed at all. Will never return and checking out a day early.
I'm sure everyone has a different experience, this was mine.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank AmaraFlame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton NZ
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here two nights on our vacation. This was our first hotel, it was located not far from JFK which was great for having just arrived after long flights. It is located close to a subway station which we caught to get to New York it was very east to walk short distance up the street. We walked to the local area for dinner although not the best area we had no problems. The rooms were as expected for this class of hotel not the 4 star but clean and had everything needed. Breakfast was simple but adequate.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ReneeANZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Jamaica Inn after flying into JFK. The service was good. The room was clean and comfortable. It isn't fancy but was just what we were looking for. I was a bit worried that we would hear the traffic on the Van Wyck but once we closed the curtains it was not very noticeable. The free parking, in room free wifi, and free breakfast were added bonuses. The breakfast bar was simple but good - cereal, toast, pastries, waffle maker and batter, good coffee and tea, juice and milk. I wish we had booked this hotel on the outward leg of our holiday as it is head and shoulders above the Super 8 just down the street.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerryD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
3.3 mi away
Best Western JFK Airport Hotel
3.3 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
0.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport
2.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express At JFK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Jamaica Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Jamaica Inn

Property: Best Western Jamaica Inn
Address: 8707 Van Wyck Expressway, Jamaica, NY 11435
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Jamaica
#7 Business Hotel in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Jamaica Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Best Western, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Jamaica Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jamaica Hotel Jamaica
Comfort Inn Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing