We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Problems for such a short stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Radisson Hotel JFK Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Hotel JFK Airport
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Problems for such a short stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

I wasn't in the hotel for even 6 hours (a very late arrival and a subsequent redeye flight out of JFK), but I noticed a couple of problems. One, my room reeked of stale smoke. After being up for 24 hours, and with only a few hours to get some sleep, I ignored the smell, and fell asleep quickly, as I was completely exhausted. If I had to stay any longer, I certainly would have requested (demanded?) a change of rooms.

Also, there were considerably more people wanting to take the 6:30 am shuttle than the vehicle could possibly accommodate. Because I was flying Delta, I and a few others "won", and could take that shuttle. Anyone who was scheduled on another airline had to wait until the next shuttle arrived (granted, the driver requested backup, but I have no idea how long that took for another vehicle to show up).

Given a choice, I'll probably try and find another hotel next time, should I need to stay somewhere around JFK for another overnight stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DLNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis Z, Manager at Radisson Hotel JFK Airport, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review and share your comments regarding your stay. Your comments regarding your room though disturbing will be addressed with all sincerity. We do see a high volume of traffic being a busy airport hotel but that does not take away from us making sure guests like you feel at home even if it is a layover from a delayed flight. We will correct the issues you bring up and look forward to serving you in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    241
    197
    135
    116
See reviews for
216
214
123
274
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nassau,bahamas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I booked this hotel through Expedia because it was on sale one night ($150/night) and I always try to stay at a different JFK hotel to get a feel for them as much as possible. I've stayed at the La Quinta, Best Western, Holiday Inn Express, Comfort Inn and now this Radisson (as of Mid Oct) and this being the most expensive of them all (regular price) it was definitely NOT the best experience. Normally I read a lot of reviews before booking but just went for this one because of the name and price.....and after booking then seeing the last 10 reviews under me I got really nervous.
My experience wasn't nearly as bad as others. The negatives:
-shuttle from the airport took at least 30 mins for pickup. considering it literally takes less than 10 mins to get there i dont know why this service is so inefficient.
-no free breakfast- (but this is known from the time of booking)
-rooms are older and need updating
-personally, one of the packages I sent to the hotel couldn't be found. I dont really blame them for this though...seller and shipper fault.
-in room AC was really loud and the room temp didnt seem to correspond to what you set the thermostat at....strange.

The positives:
-free wifi
-my check in was quick and easy
-they held my packages with no issue
-shuttle TO the airport was on time and efficient and driver was pleasant.
-clean, comfortable room for the most part.

All in all, it wasn't a bad experience but I wouldn't go back if i had other choices at the same price. Unless you're a loyalty member or something I would say better choices in this area are definitley the Best Western or Holiday Inn Exp.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bahamalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis Z, Manager at Radisson Hotel JFK Airport, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Feedback positive or negative helps for constructive future guest stays and we appreciate you bring the areas that we failed in so that we can have corrective measures in place.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit. We appreciate your kind words on our location and amenities and we will use your comments on our decor as we constantly look for ways to improve our experience.
We look for reviews to provide insight into our hotel and our guest room is an area we are actively examining. We welcome any additional comments or suggestions you would like to share and hope you will return to visit in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I wasn't looking for anything fancy, just a clean comfortable place to sleep prior to an early morning flight. Check in was very slow even though there were very few people on line and what seemed to be enough staff. Upon going up to my room the door was propped open, a maid came running up saying she was dropping off towels. She was pleasant enough, but just left a pile of them on the chair in the room. Why would they direct me to a room that wasn't ready? (it was also past 10 PM at this point) Fine, not a huge deal, but not the best first impression. Upon pulling back the covers the bed was covered in hairs and the hair trend continued in the shower and bathroom floor. (see photos) There was also a lovely cobweb collection hanging from the ceiling above the bed and a fine layer of dust over most of the surfaces. It was late and at that point I decided to stick it out but I was severely skeeved at the thought of what uncleanliness I couldn't see. Could hear our next door neighbors and loud traffic all evening. (pumping the ac helped) To top off the experience, our night breakfast order (the kind you hang on the door) was never picked up- we realized this as we waited and waited for it to arrive and finally checked outside the door. It also took 3 calls to the front desk in the morning to get anyone to answer the phone. NEVER EVER AGAIN.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYTravels9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis Z, Manager at Radisson Hotel JFK Airport, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay. We appreciate your honest feedback about your over all experience with out hotel. Your review provides feedback that our hotel team needs to re-evaluate guest needs and better meet guest expectations.
We hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality hospitality we stand for should you return in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jamaica hotels

Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I had the pleasure to stay at the JFK Radisson the weekend of Oct. 10th. This was the 1st weekend of a brand changeover, so of course the service was a little slow. The ladies at the front desk handled the crowd with dignity and respect and continued to keep their cool in the midst of angry guests.
I was completely shocked to hear some of the things coming out of parent's and guest's mouths, especially around their children. There was swearing and name-calling, (a desk agent left to get a manager and the guest started screaming " WHERE'S BLONDIE??")
Aside from the wait in the lobby, the entire guest experience was above par. The desk agents were kind and understanding and I would definitely stay here again. I hope everything is going better for them and they have it under control now.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank That G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis Z, Manager at Radisson Hotel JFK Airport, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderfully detailed review. We are sure every future guest reading this will find it very helpful. It is a pleasure to hear that you had a great experience with our staff and with our hotel as a whole. We greatly appreciate your amazing review of our property and staff. You have pinpointed exactly what we strive so hard to offer Excellent service!

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

I feel as I was robbed.

1. Dirty rooms with tobacco smell.
2. Disrespectful personnel. The bellboys raise their voice up to the guests...It is incredible.
3. The shuttle it's old, dirty and the driver doesn't know any about courtesy.
4. They will ROB you 3 dollar per bag if you ask for baggage storage service.

Their $180 USD rooms doesn't worth more than $20.

NEVER GO TO THIS PLACE..Is not a Radisson neither a Hilton Hotel.. is Just a vulgar hotel for the most unpleasant stay you can imagine.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manuel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis Z, Manager at Radisson Hotel JFK Airport, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We appreciate your feedback and we are very sorry you were unhappy with the hotel service. The issues you bring up are disturbing and our Management is looking into the same.
In an on going effort to improve guest stays we have our team train with attitude experts to address people skills.
We hope to have another opportunity to serve you, if your travels bring you back to our area.

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Booked this room back in september and prepaid for the low rate of 180 for one night for the Doubletree. I usually read reviews, but didn't on this one for some reason. I guess we were just looking for a convenient hotel to the airport and I've never had a problem with hilton. My husband told me the hotel had changed names. We never got any notification from the hotel that the name had changed. I called hilton and they explained that this particular hotel was a franchise. The owner paid to have the hilton name and then dropped it. I got the impression the hotel is still under the same owner and management. If you read the historical reviews, nothing changed for the better with the name change. Hilton had no available rooms in other locations so we were stuck here. We stayed on oct 12 for one night since we were flying out of jfk early. After driving through some bad areas to get to the actual hotel, we drove our car up to valet, he told us to go inside and get a ticket. there was no organization around parking between the front desk and valet. We went inside to find a line and waited for about an hour. While we were waiting I overheard what the problem was. All reservations made thru hilton were "lost". I guess since our reservation was an advanced purchase and they had their money, we were able to get our room. A woman from Hilton stayed on the phone with me to make sure i still had a room. THAT is customer service. The other guests weren't so lucky. I felt so bad. The girls at the front desk were taking all the abuse. Security guard was a jerk. management refused to come out. Everyone was just rude. We then had to go back outside and wait in line for the valet to give him our ticket for our car. We had a few beers that were pretty expensive at the bar and watched the line in the lobby get longer and angrier. The room itself was clean and comfortable, no complaints there. We didn't want to miss our flight so we drove to the airport and parked instead of experiencing the park and fly shuttle. There's gotta be a better place then this near the airport

Room Tip: make sure you have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ciacovelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis Z, Manager at Radisson Hotel JFK Airport, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are extremly sorry to read of your disappointing stay with us. Thank you for informing us about the inconveniences you faced during your stay with us. We will be sure to work on finding better solutions in these areas for the future.
Please also know we take your critical feedback very seriously and have followed up with the concern department regarding your comments.It is by listening to our guests that we are able to attain our goal for service excellence, which allows us to maintain exceptional service.

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
603 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

It's my understanding that this hotel as of October 9/10, 2013 is now a Radisson. I hope that they close it for renovations and training as on the early morning 12:15 am, October 8, it took over 1/2 hour for two Front Desk people to check in 6 couples three of whom had to return to the Front Desk because their keys didn't work!

While the bed was comfortable, the room itself was dark with peeling wallpaper that didn't have a very fresh smell. The bathroom was very small.

The Hilton Garden Inn "comped" us at this hotel because they gave away our Guaranteed Late Arrival room that was part of a 14 Day Park and Fly package.

A stay at the Marriott would be a better choice all around. They don't have the Park and Fly package though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fudgbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denis Z, Manager at Radisson Hotel JFK Airport, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay. We appreciate your feedback about the overall experience with the hotel. Your review provides feed back that our hotel team needs to re-evaluate guest needs and better meet guest expectations. We hope to have another opportunity to show you the quality hospitality we stand for should you return to the area in the near future.

Yours in Hospitality,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard New York Jfk Airport
0.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City
0.1 mi away
Hilton New York JFK
Hilton New York JFK
#7 of 31 in Jamaica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
#2 of 31 in Jamaica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Hotel JFK Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Hotel JFK Airport

Property: Radisson Hotel JFK Airport
Address: 13530 140th St, Jamaica, NY 11436-2137
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Radisson Hotel JFK Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Radisson Hotel JFK, one of the areas finest full service airport hotel. 385 Guest rooms and suites with Connections restaurant and lounge, state of the art fitness center, functions for up to 500 and complimentary 24 hour airport transportation. Seconds to JFK terminals and minutes to Manhattan, Citi Field, Arthur Ash Tennis, Coney Island, Jones Beach and Brooklyn Cruise terminals. Before checking in, check out the Radisson Hotel at JFK Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, HotelsClick, Agoda, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Radisson Hotel JFK Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree New York City
Jamaica Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing