We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a one night stay and things started off well, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson JFK Airport New York
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Reviewed September 11, 2013

It was a one night stay and things started off well, but didn't end well. Limited parking, bed bug bites and someone hit my vehicle. Staff was alright.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank S T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHARMENDRAPATEL, General Manager at Howard Johnson JFK Airport New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for your recent feedback. However we would have like to been notified immediately of your concerns, so we may have contacted our exterminator to verify if there were any bed bugs. We are very proactive and our staff is trained to detect bed bugs. We are concern with the well being of all our guest and employees who come in contact with all of guest rooms on a daily basis. Our mattress and box springs have encasements as a preventive measure. We have a professional company that comes on a monthly basis to inspect our guest rooms specifically for bed bugs. Also, we have installed laminated flooring in all of our guests rooms as a preventive measure.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (677)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

408 - 414 of 677 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

Booked into this hotel with a friend for 1 night, after reading the reviews did not want to stay. Well, I was surprised, renovated room, comfortable beds, clean bathrooms. Breakdast was typical buffett, shuttle driver not friendly when we arrived at JFK, but next friendly and even took us to the subway station.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acassidy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHARMENDRAPATEL, General Manager at Howard Johnson JFK Airport New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for taking out the time and giving us your feedback and letting us know about your experience during your recent stay with us.

We are very pleased to know that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms.

If I could be of any further assistance, should your travel plans bring you back to our area please do not hesitate to contact me.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Ladonna P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DHARMENDRAPATEL, General Manager at Howard Johnson JFK Airport New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I usually stay at IHG properties, but the Holiday Inn Express was priced too high and did not have a shuttle, while the HOJO had a shuttle was priced lower.
I booked on the HOJO website as I needed to catch a flight in the morning at JFK.
On arrival the check in guy gladly gave us a 2 bed room 325 on the 3rd floor.
The room itself was very clean, had a fridge as well as toiletries.
The beds were comfortable with mattress protectors.
The best part of this property was the 5am shuttle that we needed to catch the flight from the terminal, which is about 10 minutes away.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djjaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHARMENDRAPATEL, General Manager at Howard Johnson JFK Airport New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for taking time to write on TRIPADVISOR.COM. Guests like you are a pleasure, and we were delighted to have you with us. Please do not hesitate to call us if we can be of any service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We chose this hotel for its proximity to JFK for an outward bound flight to Europe, making the mistake of thinking we were much nearer downtown NY. The journeys in and out of Manhattan took what seemed forever after a very noisy and hence sleeplessness night. The traffic and the noise of other guests coming and going made it impossible to sleep.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHARMENDRAPATEL, General Manager at Howard Johnson JFK Airport New York, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2013

Thank you for taking time to let us know your concerns with our Howard Johnson. I apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay.

Downtown NYC is about 15-20miles. Public transport is the cheapest way and little time consuming.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We used American Airlines points to book this place for a night prior to flying out of JFK. We needed a place close to the airport with a shuttle. The Howard Johnson Inn's shuttle had stained seats. The tiny lobby of the place, if it can be called that, had a worn out couch, a filthy carpet, and a clerk behind bullet proof glass. We had to slip our ID in a tray under the glass. The breakfast area floor was sticky, and the hallway carpet was dirty.

If it had not been dark out or if we had known the area, we would have left immediately. As it was, we felt that we had no choice but to stay. We did check the bedding which looked clean and the bathroom which was passable. Needless to say, we left as soon as we could get out of there the next morning.

This hotel was like something out of an episode of "Law and Order." It looked like a flophouse that would be rented by the hour! I can't imagine why Howard Johnson would allow such an awful place to be under their name or why AAirlines would book it for its flight fund members.

If there had been a rating below terrible, I would have chosen that.

Room Tip: Avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackieMQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

The overall stay was ok. The hotel is very old and in need of remodeling. the breakfast was good but dining area extremely small and crowded. check in was stress free and girl was friendly. After several attempts they never gave us enough towels for each guest. room was to be smoke free but did smell like smoke which was a minus due to my child having asthma. They did offer free shuttle to the JFK airport but since no one else showed up at the 5AM time, they asked if I would be willing to drive over. We chose this hotel for the free shuttle. I did drive because the next shuttle may have been too late to pick up my son, and that cost me $20 to park. We could have stayed at a nicer hotel for the $20 more. The location is very convienent to airport and there is a bus to take you to subway for a small fee to enter the city. THe beaches are close as well. Be cautious though the hotel is not in a very safe area and there is only burger king (one block) and another hotels resturaunt.(two and half blocks) to eat at if you need to dine other than breakfast. Also the hair dryer did not work in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
#2 of 30 in Jamaica
1,820 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard New York JFK Airport
0.3 mi away
Best Western JFK Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - JFK Airport
1.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn New York JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson JFK Airport New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson JFK Airport New York

Address: 15395 Rockaway Blvd, John F. Kennedy International Airport, Jamaica, NY 11434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range: $115 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson JFK Airport New York 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Newly Renovated Howard Johnson Inn at JFK Airport, NY. A modern two story interior corridor hotel with an elevator awaits your arrival. Located in the fastest growing area of New York City, this hotel puts you right in the middle of all that New York City has to offer. Within a few minutes of the Hotel you will find JFK Intl Airport, LaGuardia Airport, Jones Beach State Park, Rockaway Beach, Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum, Arthur Ash Stadium-US Open, Shea Stadium, Belmont Race Track, Jacob Javits Center, Green Acres Mall, Roosevelt Field Mall and New York Aquarium. Resort World New York Casino is 2 miles away. Start your stay off right with coffee, tea, hot chocolate upon check-in. During your stay, enjoy our fitness center and countless other amenities such as free high speed internet access. Before departing in the morning, make sure to visit our warm and inviting breakfast area where we offer complimentary USA Today newspaper and serve Continental Breakfast. Enjoy our fresh baked hot waffles which compliment our expanded continental breakfast offerings of fresh fruits, cereals, juices and a coffee bar. All the while, feel safe and secure with our nightly hotel-only dedicated private security that is here for your peace of mind. All of our finely appointed rooms were recently renovated and include premium one cup coffee makers, iron/board, hair dryers, premium massaging shower heads, safes, AM/FM radio alarm clock, Electronic locks, satellite television, activity table and chair, New Beds and granite bathrooms. Yes, we are pet friendly with a fee of 50.00 per night per pet. Our hotel takes pride in the Earth Green practices. We utilize 100 percent fluorescent lighting throughout the hotel. We urge you to please turn off the lights if you are not utilizing the room and conserve water. Limited Parking Available. Sorry No Park and Fly available. Must have one adult 21 years or older in each room. Airport guests take the Air Train on second floor to Federal Circle. Once at Federal Circle give the hotel call to pick up from 5AM to 11PM EST. Authorization forms must be obtained from the front desk if using company's CC or the credit card in different name than the guest name prior to arrival. In 2011 all our rooms were updated with new paint, beds, comforters, pillows and granite bathrooms. All smoking rooms are constrained to one floor and wing. 57 rooms were designated exclusively non-smoking and pet free after the renovation was complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson JFK Airport New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jfk Airport Hotels Howard Johnson Inn, Jamaica, Nyc Hotel Jamaica
Jamaica Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing