We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok hotel, really bad Neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport NYC
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
ISRAEL
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“ok hotel, really bad Neighborhood”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I'v read all the reviews before making the reservation and was aware to everything.
As we got there, the woman at front desk was really nice, shuttle to the airport left on time, the room was clean. not a safe neighborhood and i would not recomand walking around at night.
Breakfast minimal, breakfast room not so nice. They store your luggage in an open room.
I would not stay there again even for the price. My kids got really scared.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IZZY099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    127
    166
    112
    135
See reviews for
165
154
114
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jamaica
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 29, 2012

service was very good, the room was very big and comfortable,The location was very nice,stores,fast food joint.The thing i like the most is the location of the hotel. What i didn't like was the fact that the shuttle bus driver couldn't waite 5 extra mins for us to finish our breakfast before leaving to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Deon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHARMENDRAPATEL, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport NYC, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
thank you for writing us a positive review. The reason why the shuttle driver could not wait for 5 minutes as you requested as we have other guest who might miss their flight and than they would be unhappy with our service. This is the reason we have schedules.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MIAMI
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I have stayed the third time at the HOJO Jamaica in between trips to NYC for just overnighting. The price is fair for what is offered: the location with the shuttle to JFK and a decent breakfast plus friendly staff. The old carpets were taken out and replaced by tiles or even by laminate - much more hygienic. The old furnitures need replacement and the curtons definately need to be washed. But, other than that - a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveldevil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHARMENDRAPATEL, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport NYC, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
Thank you for your positive input about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We will keep improving ourselves. We would love to have you our guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed here after dropping my rental car off at Hertz near JFK.

Frankly it does look a bit grotty and in need of a bit of refurbishment, but the room was quite clean - could do with some of the furniture being moved away from the walls and a good vacuuming there (I checked for bedbugs that's why I looked!).

Otherwise everything was fine: clean, crisp sheets and pillowcases, lots of clean towels and a good breakfast.

Offers a free shuttle service to the airport which was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A_Bloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHARMENDRAPATEL, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport NYC, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7187236700.


Sincerely,
Danny Patel
GM
Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridgeshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here for one night before getting our flight home. The family room was very clean and tidy. The breakfast was realy good, make your own waffles, mmm. Parking was a bit limited but there are slots to the rear of the hotel. The free WiFi as good. We spent the day at Coney Island which is only 15 miles away. The neighborhood is on an industrial site but seemed ok.
Went to Applebees for dinner only a 3 mile drive away.

A good hotel to stay in if not for only 1 night or a few to see the sights on Manhatten

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank puttmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DHARMENDRAPATEL, General Manager at Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport NYC, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to complete our Guest Survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

Please know that your feedback is extremely valuable to us and we will utilize your response by continuing to focus on making each and every guest experience the best it can be. We hope to be of service to you in the future.

Again, thank you for completing our survey and if I can be of assistance to you, don't hesitate to contact me directly at 7187236700.


Sincerely,
Danny Patel
GM
Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
0.3 mi away
Best Western JFK Airport Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sleep Inn JFK Airport Rockaway Blvd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel JFK Airport
3.2 mi away
Best Western Jamaica Inn
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express At JFK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport NYC

Property: Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport NYC
Address: 15395 Rockaway Blvd, Jamaica, NY 11434-3635
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport NYC 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Newly Renovated Howard Johnson Inn at JFK Airport, NY. A modern two story interior corridor hotel with an elevator awaits your arrival. Located in the fastest growing area of New York City, this hotel puts you right in the middle of all that New York City has to offer. Within a few minutes of the Hotel you will find JFK Intl Airport, LaGuardia Airport, Jones Beach State Park, Rockaway Beach, Nassau Veterans Memorial Coliseum, Arthur Ash Stadium-US Open, Shea Stadium, Belmont Race Track, Jacob Javits Center, Green Acres Mall, Roosevelt Field Mall and New York Aquarium. Resort World New York Casino is 2 miles away. Start your stay off right with coffee, tea, hot chocolate upon check-in. During your stay, enjoy our fitness center and countless other amenities such as free high speed internet access. Before departing in the morning, make sure to visit our warm and inviting breakfast area where we offer complimentary USA Today newspaper and serve Continental Breakfast. Enjoy our fresh baked hot waffles which compliment our expanded continental breakfast offerings of fresh fruits, cereals, juices and a coffee bar. All the while, feel safe and secure with our nightly hotel-only dedicated private security that is here for your peace of mind. All of our finely appointed rooms were recently renovated and include premium one cup coffee makers, iron/board, hair dryers, premium massaging shower heads, safes, AM/FM radio alarm clock, Electronic locks, satellite television, activity table and chair, New Beds and granite bathrooms. Yes, we are pet friendly with a fee of 50.00 per night per pet. Our hotel takes pride in the Earth Green practices. We utilize 100 percent fluorescent lighting throughout the hotel. We urge you to please turn off the lights if you are not utilizing the room and conserve water. Limited Parking Available. Sorry No Park and Fly available. Must have one adult 21 years or older in each room. Airport guests take the Air Train on second floor to Federal Circle. Once at Federal Circle give the hotel call to pick up from 5AM to 11PM EST. Authorization forms must be obtained from the front desk if using company's CC or the credit card in different name than the guest name prior to arrival. In 2011 all our rooms were updated with new paint, beds, comforters, pillows and granite bathrooms. All smoking rooms are constrained to one floor and wing. 57 rooms were designated exclusively non-smoking and pet free after the renovation was complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jfk Airport Hotels Howard Johnson Inn, Jamaica, Nyc Hotel Jamaica
Jamaica Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing