We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It wasn't that good...”
Review of JFK Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
JFK Inn
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Reviewed April 7, 2014

I had to stay here because I drove my aunt to JFK Airport, and she was the one who booked the room.
When we check in, we had to wait for the room to be ready because it wasn't ready when it was supposed to be. We did not mind really, and we understood that sometimes things run behind schedule. The front desk staff was very nice and attentive.
When we got to the hotel room, we found a pack of cigarettes on the table. When we called the front desk a gentleman said to just throw them away... I wasn't happy about it because the room was smelling like smoke...
Our WiFi was not working, and there were technical problems with it. But they did get it fixed the next day, about 4 hours before we were supposed to check out... And like I said before I understand technical problems happen... so it was alright, and I got my work finished before I had to leave.
What i really did not like... was the bugs... (I read a few comments about the manager replying to a few people saying that the bugs were "Water Bugs" and not cockroaches. )
The manager needs to realize that waterbugs ARE cockroaches.....
I had found a few of them on my sheets. When I told my aunt, she tried to kill most of them ....but i decided to sleep in my car.....
it's true what you pay for is what you get
Dont recommend it

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoryana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFKInnCharles, Public Relations Manager at JFK Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2014

It is appalling that anyone would complain about a pack of cigarettes in his room but will leave his aunt to battle with roaches in the middle of the night while leaving their paid-for-room to go sleep in a car without making any complaints to anyone (not even to the nice Front Desk Staff) – this is not normal human behavior. Preposterous as it is, I still checked with our staffs for any verity in this review but there is no lead. If there is any truth in this review then there is something seriously wrong with this guest, and the aunt might still be in serious danger. At the best, it is someone’s pitiful attempt for some cheap attention.
Therefore, I will not honor this guest comments any further but will explain our policy as to pestilence invasion. As long as there are guests travelling from all over the world and stopping at hotels there will always be a threat of pestilence contamination. Not even the best hotels are immune from this threat. In precaution, we even install suitcase and luggage rack in rooms so that guests will not leave luggage on beds or floor. We always have a rigid extermination policy and it has served us very well because we have had very rare such incidences.
Once there is a detection of such contamination, the room immediately goes out of service, and adjoining rooms are keenly scrutinized. The quarantined room will eventually be fumigated and later de-fumed for smell. Only after all is clear, as to safety and smell, then the room goes back into service.
Concerned and mature-minded (not malicious or attention-grabbing) guests will immediately bring such situation to the attention of the hotel StaffS, and such guests are immediately offered viable alternatives.
WE CARE FOR OUR GUESTS!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (403)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 403 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2014

Booked off Hotwire. Was 3 stars at the time. Scariest place we have ever been! Couldn't get into the first two rooms they gave us as keys didn't work. Finally found door that would open. When we walked down the hall there were truck bench seats with seatbelts still attached being used as benches for guests. Stained and ripped up. Room was even worse ! Hairs on sink, tub and towels. Cheap space heater for heat. When we looked out window, it was cracked and held together with duct tape. Thank god Hotwire agreed to refund our money! Hotel wouldn't let us use shuttle to get back to rental car agency. Worst experience of my life!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawnrenee229
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFKInnCharles, Director of Sales at JFK Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2014

These are not your typical Guests. If fact we discover a scam with these persons reservation, where they made a reservation at the hotel and cancelled it before checking in the hotel so that the previous reservation still seem valid at the time of checking-in.
After settling in their room for a few hours (without any complaints) the cancelled reservation was sent and these guests were confronted. They were offered to pay up for their room but said they are leaving to which they quickly bundled in a car parked in the hotel’s parking lot and drove into the night.
We intend to notify our booking agencies of these guests so that they do not pull this stunt again with other hotels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The hotel is good at the price which I got. Dorothy at the reception was extremely cooperative and gem of a person. She really took good care of me and helped in managing taxi bookings n guided to navigate the city. Management should improve the wifi services. Wifi is not available in the rooms.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nileshm11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We chose the JFK Inn out of necessity- a snow storm was on its way and we needed a place to stay before our flight out of JFK in the morning. The cost of the room was not cheap, but we our brother-in-law hooked us up with a discount that he received from Hotels.com. Initially, the van that picked us up at the airport took a very long time. However, the driver was very pleasant. The lobby was incredibly outdated and dingy, as were the check-in procedures (and check-in took forever). After we were given a key to our room, we headed down into the basement to our room. The stairwell and the entire basement reeked of oil. Even worse though, there was a HUGE cockroach at the bottom of the stairs, directly outside of a room. We went no further, turned directly around and cancelled our reservation. We tried to be respectful about it, but the management was rude and refused to acknowledge our concerns about the cockroach housed downstairs. My husband and I chose instead to sleep in chairs at the JFK airport.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitlin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFKInnCharles, Guest Relations Manager at JFK Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

We would like to thank this guest for the review. However, some explanation is in order. Whether it is a regular day or in a snow storm, our prices are usually the lowest in the JFK Airport area. The best hotels will not be without its share of criticism when it comes to guest satisfaction, but rest assured, we are flexible and compensatory in our shortcomings when considering our Guests’ comfort. It is the reason why we flourish this 2-Star hotel’s spacious, clean rooms with new 40” LCD TVs, latest comfort beds, microwaves, coffee-makers, phones, internet, etc, without any added cost to our Guests. For on that night, we were completely sold out.
It is the first time we have ever received any criticism because of roach problems. Understandably, on deeper query it was a ‘water bug’, not a roach that was seen by the guests. It seemed that we have some unwanted guests (Water Bug) that particular night when our personnel let open a few vents to get rid of the Oil smell. The oil smell was because of the maintenance on the boilers earlier that day so that our guest will not be cold in those inclement and unusual weather conditions we have been experiencing.
It should be noted that this hotel is built on a hill. While getting to the first floor by a short stair from the front may seem like ‘going to the basement’, from the back the walk in is at ground floor. We have great plans for this property and while some issues cannot be immediately addressed, we are concerned and considerate in addressing our guests’ immediate comfort and convenience all at the lowest rates possible in the JFK Airport area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Although the staff at this hotel were friendly enough, this place cannot be classified as a hotel. It has the basics only and the rooms are clean but not well maintained. OK to use if you are stranded near JFK Airport, but treat it as a youth hostel, not a hotel.

Room Tip: Be aware that there is no lift in this hotel, so ask for a room on the ground floor if you have lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlobetrottingViking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFKInnCharles, Guest Relations Manager at JFK Inn, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

I would like to thank this guest for the comments of this review, although it reveals a deep lack of knowledge of the hotel industry and its standards. It begs to ask what was our guest expecting from a 2-Star, airport hotel offering the lowest rates(or is it because of our low rates that it qualifies us a hostel) in the JFK Airport area.
Besides our friendly staffs, clean rooms, as correctly observed by this guest, even the less regular traveler will know, that a hotel providing, spacious rooms with standard, self-contained bathroom, furnished with latest comfort beds, 40” LCD TVs, fridges, microwaves, coffee-maker, phones, etc. qualifies it for much more than a hostel, at least here in the Big Apple.
In addition, there is free Shuttle service, parking, wifi, breakfast and much more for our guests comforts. Many of our growing number of returning guests have differentiated these great offerings and are making good use to that effect.
It can be a good thing to give a review, which can even be of greater value if a little research is put into, rather than making commentaries void prior knowledge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We were lucky to get a room at the JFK Inn last night when a snow storm prevented us - and thousands of others - from making our connection at JFK. Here we found a 1960's era small hotel that although not posh provided a convenient and comfortable room with mini fridge, a coffee maker, hair dryer and ironing board along with a very nice complementary breakfast, These are amenities not often available at such a hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PSC1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JFKInnCharles, Director of Sales at JFK Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

We would like to thank these guests for their patronage at the JFK INN Hotel, and also for the intuitive remarks of this review.
We, at the JFK INN, are committed to cater especially to travelers through the JFK Int’l Airport. Guests can be assured that they can find very affordable lodging comforts and convenience minutes away from the Airport, in our spacious room and amenity-laden rooms. Friendly 24hrs Staffs will care and assist Guests so that they feel at home in the Big Apple.
No wonder many of our regular Guests take advantage of these services and make this hotel a destination stop also for both business and pleasure because of the easy and cheap public transportation access to the City, without paying the City’s price for hotel rooms.
We pride ourselves for being one of the most affordable hotels in the JFK Airport area, offering unbelievable amenities, many free-of-charge as our Guest rightly observed.
Many thanks to this Guest we hope to see them soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

I booked through Hotwire.com and paid in full 4 weeks in advance. After a 12 hour bus ride, and an overpriced taxi through NY, we arrived at the JFK inn at 2 am. The cab driver blatantly stated that we were in a bad neighborhood and we assured him that we would be fine because we had booked and paid for our room already. He left, and we went to check in and found out that our room was given away. The man working at the front desk, without explanation, repeated that they were 'full' and that we had to leave. We phoned Hotwire, and refused to leave the hotel. All of the hotels in the area were full for the night and we were left stranded. We were tired and afraid, and were left with zero options, all because of a booking mistake with Hotwire or the JFK Inn (we never found out whose fault it was). Thankfully the kind staff at the JFK Inn felt terrible for us 3 girls and provided us with blankets and pillows and allowed us to sleep on the floor of the breakfast lounge. The staff went out of their way to help us, and worked very hard to make us comfortable (they even offered us food and coffee). Then, at 6 am when someone checked out, they let us have their room. The staff fully cleaned the room and even brought in an extra cott so that we could all sleep comfortably. They let us stay past check out time so that we could get a full night's sleep before our flights. A huge thank you to the individual staff members, but also a huge middle finger to the Hotwire/ JFK booking. Despite all of the trouble that we had, the staff left us with a good impression. The continental breakfast and rooms are of good value for the price... however I would never take this risk again!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hdfvn_CN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
2.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK
0.2 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn Jamaica JFK Airport
0.9 mi away
Radisson Hotel JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn JFK Airport Rockaway Blvd
0.6 mi away
Courtyard New York JFK Airport
3.3 mi away
Best Western Jamaica Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JFK Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JFK Inn

Address: 15410 S Conduit Ave, Jamaica, NY 11434-4285
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range: $134 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — JFK Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your JFK Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jfk Hotel Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing