We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Airport Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Stayed here for one night after staying 2 nights at Waldorf Astoria. We had a 7:00 am flight the next day to Nantucket. Check in was a breeze and Ryan at the front desk was friendly and courteous. We requested a wake up call and also received the code for the free wifi. Our room (#1104) was very clean and a good size. It was very quiet. Many other guests on our floor (11) but did not hear any noise. The beds were very comfortable and we had a great night sleep for the 6 or 7 hours we were at the hotel. The shuttle bus was right on time and we arrived at JetBlue in about 15 minutes. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steph2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,830)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,547 - 1,553 of 1,830 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2010

Hampton Inn was convienent, clean and quiet - just like the other reviews.

Only downside was that there was a bit of mold in the bathroom growing...not a major deal at all, just something we noticed. We did notify the hotel staff upon checkout and they committed to look at it.

Breakfast on the go is great option for catching an early morning shuttle to JFK.

Staff was helpful and friendly - would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elmcityboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2010

As an option for staying a night if arriving at JFK late or departing early, this served its purpose and was neat, clean and the facilities met our expectations. Its no resort and the surrounds are safe - just nothing there for tourists - but the shuttle ran on time, the breakfast was acceptable and the restuarant next door at the Courtyard was only a 1 minute walk, so all up our stay was a success.

I'd stay again for one night in the same circumstances, any more than that and I'd stay in Manhattan as there's more to do nearby obviously.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheEscapeGoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2010

Stayed one night after the volcanic eruption in April 2010. Friendly staff, nice rooms and breakfast, affordable rates. On the downside: we were not only stranded, we were blocked and isolated as we were miles away from any walkable area, or from public transportation. Secondly, this hotel does not have a restaurant: you have to go in the adjacent Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gonzalo_de_Berceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Room #803 has a king bed and a decent amout of room. This is a very clean, comfortable hotel that does the job when you want to overnight at JFK. It's what you expect of a typical hotel at this level -- good housekeeping, shampoo/conditioner/body lotion toiletries, iron & board. Very pleasant service people throughout.

There are some compromises that are often expected at this price level: no in-room safe; the bathtub is shallow; the bed was a little stiff.

Our luck: while breakfast is included in the room rate, we booked the same night as a church-related conference group. This meant that there was a VERY long line at breakfast, and no one seemed to be in a particular hurry to move the line along. We hadn't planned on that kind of delay, so settled for the coffee in our room and then got the shuttle for breakfast at the airport. Admittedly, breakfast at the hotel looked serviceable, not wonderful.

We were also disappointed that a nearby restaurant closed that Tripadvisor contributors recommended -- we chose this hotel to be near a reasonably decent restaurant as there is not much around (we knew this from previous overnights in the area at JFK.) A restaurant in the hotel next door is okay, but we had stayed there before and were hoping for something better. In the end, we took the advice of hotel staff and took a 5-10 minute cab to La Nora restaurant. It is a family-run restaurant with very good food and service, but you have to decide if you want to spend $18 on a livery cab each way. The hotel and restaurant prefer to call a car service, rather than use the regular cabs, which may be a good idea.

The shuttle runs efficiently, and will drop you off at your departure terminal in good time.

So: all in all, this hotel did the job and we had a good rate, so it's hard to complain too much. We'd stay again for a basci overnight near JFK, but would also check other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2010

My family spent one night at the JFK Hampton Inn and it was a very nice experience. We stayed on the 12th floor, which looked like it had recently been renovated. I don't think all of the floors were quite as nice. The surrounding area isn't good for tourists and it isn't close to restaurants, but we were able to order pizza delivery to the hotel. The staff was friendly and the room was clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mdfpaf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

A nice and clean hotel. Very close to JFK airport.
The hotel has airport shuttle, and also during weekend a shuttle to green acres shoppingmall in Queens.
Not to much to do in and arund the hotel.
We stayed one night in beetween two fligths. If You want to visit NY for a longer time, take a hotel in Manhattan.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wazid_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0 mi away
Courtyard New York JFK Airport
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn New York JFK Airport
0.1 mi away
Hilton New York JFK
Hilton New York JFK
#7 of 30 in Jamaica
1,861 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn NY - JFK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn NY - JFK

Address: 144-10 135th Ave, Jamaica, NY 11436-2200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jamaica
#5 Business Hotel in Jamaica
Price Range: $156 - $347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn NY - JFK 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, HotelPower, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn NY - JFK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ny - Jfk Hotel Jamaica
Hampton Inn Jamaica
Jamaica Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing