We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fight clean....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This is the base line of the Hampton Inn we stayed in at JFK. Stickers in the lifts, post-its in the room do indicate that the duvet cover and sheets are fresh for every new guest..... It triggers questions I'm not at ease with..... Basically, this is a mid-rated hotel, bearable for a 1 night stay between 2 flights. It offers a standard service (don't expect too much smiles from the desk), standard rooms, simple and reasonably clean. There's no restaurant in the Hampton Inn, so we went to the closeby Hilton, and had to wait an hour for a soup and 2 pasta plates.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katatjuta74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, Manager - TPWS Communications at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2013

Dear katatjuta74,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with our future guests. We are committed in providing great service and making sure all our guest's needs are being met.
It is a brand standard in having the post-its visible and informing our guests in the cleanliness of our bedding, we are among the few hotel brands that wash everything, blankets, comforters, bed covers, as well as everything else after every single stay.
We hope to see you soon again.

Sincerely,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,243 - 1,249 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2013

Planned a trip out of JFK and looked for a hotel to stay in the night before. This hotel was affordable and very close to airport. Ate at the Hilton restaurant which is easily accessed from the Hampton Inn. Rooms are fine. We had the handicapped bathroom which was huge. Rooms aren't that big and a bit cramped but fine for a place to sleep. My only wish was that the breakfast had a few more choices but does fine for a quick bite.

Room Tip: Ask for view of the airport unless you like looking at suburbia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, Manager - TPWS Communication at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Tom D,
We thank you for choosing our location and for taking the time to review us.
We are always looking for ways to improve and we will focus our attention on our breakfast selections as we strive for 100% guest satisfaction.

Many thanks,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This the second time I have used this Hotel chain. Great location. great bed and connected to the Hitton via a walk way. We used the Hilton reastaurant and gift shop (because I forgot some essential things when packing).
What I did not like was that all of the plates, bowls, glasses and cutlery for breakfast are disposable. That is a lot of garbage.
The hot breakfast is weak. If you are happy with ceral, juice, and yogurt you will be fine
If you have never flown into JFK, you take the Airtrain to Federal Circle and call the hotel to be picked up

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff D, General Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Greetings -
Thank you for your business and thank you for sharing your comments with our TripAdvisor community!
So many of us, as individuals, believe just as you do. There is so much waste that not only impacts the environment, but also translates into higher costs for the consumer.
As a hotel that is associated with a quality brand such as Hampton Inn, the management and ownership needs to adhere to strick standards, for consistency and continunity of the brand.
We believe in the brand and have much confidence that a more "earth friendly" method will eventually emerge, however; achieving consistency and continunity among over 1,000 successful hotels will take time.
Thank you again and travel safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Nice place for a overnight stay. Transfer to Jfk was quick and painless :) got stuck in new york because of the airlines. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Even though the gift shop was closed every time we tried to purchase a shirt for the morning because our luggage was in airport land.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ovcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff D, General Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Greetings -
Many thanks for your business, even if it was only "by chance".
When we recieve comments regarding the friendliness and helpfulness of our staff, we are very excited to pass those comments on to our "moment makers", which translates into better and better guest experiences......so we thank you!
We have made special note of your disappointment with the Gift shop hours of operation for the hotel attached to our property and will pass your comments along to the responsible parties, hopefully resulting in better experiences for future guests.
Thank you again and travel safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Was there in on route back home via New York. Beds are comfy. Rooms clean but lighting on the dim side. Breakfast is usual but spread is reasonable and quickly replenished - the morning crowd was brisk. The airport transfer between hotel and JFK is good. On arrival the pick up is at the Air Train's Federal Circle stop. For departure, the transfer dropped us at the right terminal. They arranged a cab for a night out for us very quickly at the front desk. Only hiccup for us was the room keys were not responsive for the rooms we got and had to be re-programmed. Overall good value and convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kienteong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff D, General Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Greetings -
Thank you for your business and thank you for sharing your experience at the Hampton Inn NY-JFK with out TripAdvisor community. Your detail regarding our shuttle service will be of assistance to the TripAdvisor readership, I am sure.
Thank you for noticing and pointing out the friendliness, and efficiency of our breakfast staff and the accommodating nature of our front desk staff.
We apologize for the inconvenience of the room keys; your comments lead us to an investigation which resulted in the replacement of a key encoder. This will assist the hotel team with delivering a more excellent stay for future guests.
Thank you again and travel safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spent one brief evening here before an early morning flight. Friendly front desk staff, large quiet room. We dined in the surprisingly busy restaurant at the adjacent Hilton (entered through a connecting indoor passageway) and the food, though a tad pricey, was pretty good for an airport hotel. Friendly service in the restaurant, too. In addition to the usual Hampton Inn breakfast, we noticed pre-bagged to-go breakfasts at the front desk, a good idea. The only negative was a nail-biting wait (in 14-degree weather) for the 6:30 a.m. shuttle, since we were concerned about our flight check-in, and then there was quite a lot of traffic, but in the end we made it okay.

Room Tip: Don't worry about noise from the airport; the rooms are well soundproofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dale_river
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff D, General Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

A TOP CONTRIBUTOR......congratulations!!
We thank you for your business and for your generous comments about the friendliness of our team members and the efficiency of our airport shuttle service.
The team of hospitality professionals at the Hampton Inn NY-JFK strive to make each guest feel comfortable and welcome and we are always pleased to hear when we meet and/or exceed expectations however; when a Top Contributor leaves with such a good impression.....well, that truly makes our day!
Thank you again and travel safe!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife, infant son and I stayed here for one night to have plenty of time to catch an international flight at JFK scheduled for the next day. Once we arrived at JFK, we had to walk outside in the cold to a separate building that has creepy (lots of vagrants aboard) train service to the hotel shuttle area. The hotel shuttle pick up area turned out to be a dinky street corner to wait for the buses. After waiting about 30 minutes or so, the hotel shuttle finally arrived, and even though it was bitterly cold outside, the driver left the door locked until he finished loading all of the luggage. Is the crime really that bad that you have to inconvenience the guests?? The inside of the bus smelled like mold and mildew, and it looked like the seats had never been cleaned. Once we arrived at the hotel, and entered the room, I noticed a musty smell, and a yellow post it note attached to the headboard on the bed. On the post it note, it read, "The Duvet sheet has been washed for your convenience". Geesh! What an honor! A hotel has washed the sheets for me! I'm so spoiled to have clean sheets to sleep on!
After seeing this note, I made a mental note NOT to leave any tip. The next morning, I went to the breakfast area, and it was extremely crowded with no place to sit. The food looked disgusting. They were serving slimy scrambled eggs mixed with greasy kielbasa sausage, and sugary colored water as juice. All of the breakfast utensils were covered in crud from others leaving the handle in the food dispensers, so I had to use a towel to protect my hand. I momentarily put the town down to get some waffles, and the maid yelled at me, "Don't you leave that towel there, you're supposed to clean up after yourself"!!! I've been staying at hotels all around the world for many years, and I have to admit that I've never had a maid yell at me. I finally found an open table, to sit down and try to have a peaceful breakfast with my wife, but the maid came back at me yelling again. This time she said, "Don't you leave behind any trash on your table, you have to clean that up yourself"! I was like, wow, give me a break, I'm not even done eating yet! Needless to say, on our return flight back to the states, we intentionally picked another hotel that was 20 miles away from the airport, and will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FREEDRACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana Z, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2013

Dear Freedrack,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We completely understand how frustrating it can be when things seem to be going wrong. But we would like you to know that we are taking care of even the smallest of things and improving them to the fullest extent. Eventhough we can't control things that are mandatory such as the pick-up stop for travellers since it is influence directly by Port Authority. I'm also sorry that you didn't like our printed post its, they are actually a standard for Hamptons since we are one of the few brands that wash all the bedding such as our comforters after evey stay. I hope you can give us another chance to show how much we care about all our guest as we look forward to improve in every aspect. And please remember you can always contact us if you would like to further discuss this matter.

Sincerely,
Ana Z.
Your friend at the Hampton in JFK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0 mi away
Courtyard New York JFK Airport
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn New York JFK Airport
0.1 mi away
Hilton New York JFK
Hilton New York JFK
#7 of 30 in Jamaica
1,862 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn NY - JFK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn NY - JFK

Address: 144-10 135th Ave, Jamaica, NY 11436-2200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jamaica
#5 Business Hotel in Jamaica
Price Range: $157 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn NY - JFK 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelPower, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn NY - JFK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ny - Jfk Hotel Jamaica
Hampton Inn Jamaica
Jamaica Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing