We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Good hotel near JFK” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn NY - JFK

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good hotel near JFK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Was there in on route back home via New York. Beds are comfy. Rooms clean but lighting on the dim side. Breakfast is usual but spread is reasonable and quickly replenished - the morning crowd was brisk. The airport transfer between hotel and JFK is good. On arrival the pick up is at the Air Train's Federal Circle stop. For departure, the transfer dropped us at the right terminal. They arranged a cab for a night out for us very quickly at the front desk. Only hiccup for us was the room keys were not responsive for the rooms we got and had to be re-programmed. Overall good value and convenient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kienteong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff D, General Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Greetings -
Thank you for your business and thank you for sharing your experience at the Hampton Inn NY-JFK with out TripAdvisor community. Your detail regarding our shuttle service will be of assistance to the TripAdvisor readership, I am sure.
Thank you for noticing and pointing out the friendliness, and efficiency of our breakfast staff and the accommodating nature of our front desk staff.
We apologize for the inconvenience of the room keys; your comments lead us to an investigation which resulted in the replacement of a key encoder. This will assist the hotel team with delivering a more excellent stay for future guests.
Thank you again and travel safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    666
    258
    77
    55
See reviews for
506
417
160
310
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
141 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We spent one brief evening here before an early morning flight. Friendly front desk staff, large quiet room. We dined in the surprisingly busy restaurant at the adjacent Hilton (entered through a connecting indoor passageway) and the food, though a tad pricey, was pretty good for an airport hotel. Friendly service in the restaurant, too. In addition to the usual Hampton Inn breakfast, we noticed pre-bagged to-go breakfasts at the front desk, a good idea. The only negative was a nail-biting wait (in 14-degree weather) for the 6:30 a.m. shuttle, since we were concerned about our flight check-in, and then there was quite a lot of traffic, but in the end we made it okay.

Room Tip: Don't worry about noise from the airport; the rooms are well soundproofed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dale_river
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff D, General Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
A TOP CONTRIBUTOR......congratulations!!
We thank you for your business and for your generous comments about the friendliness of our team members and the efficiency of our airport shuttle service.
The team of hospitality professionals at the Hampton Inn NY-JFK strive to make each guest feel comfortable and welcome and we are always pleased to hear when we meet and/or exceed expectations however; when a Top Contributor leaves with such a good impression.....well, that truly makes our day!
Thank you again and travel safe!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LA
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife, infant son and I stayed here for one night to have plenty of time to catch an international flight at JFK scheduled for the next day. Once we arrived at JFK, we had to walk outside in the cold to a separate building that has creepy (lots of vagrants aboard) train service to the hotel shuttle area. The hotel shuttle pick up area turned out to be a dinky street corner to wait for the buses. After waiting about 30 minutes or so, the hotel shuttle finally arrived, and even though it was bitterly cold outside, the driver left the door locked until he finished loading all of the luggage. Is the crime really that bad that you have to inconvenience the guests?? The inside of the bus smelled like mold and mildew, and it looked like the seats had never been cleaned. Once we arrived at the hotel, and entered the room, I noticed a musty smell, and a yellow post it note attached to the headboard on the bed. On the post it note, it read, "The Duvet sheet has been washed for your convenience". Geesh! What an honor! A hotel has washed the sheets for me! I'm so spoiled to have clean sheets to sleep on!
After seeing this note, I made a mental note NOT to leave any tip. The next morning, I went to the breakfast area, and it was extremely crowded with no place to sit. The food looked disgusting. They were serving slimy scrambled eggs mixed with greasy kielbasa sausage, and sugary colored water as juice. All of the breakfast utensils were covered in crud from others leaving the handle in the food dispensers, so I had to use a towel to protect my hand. I momentarily put the town down to get some waffles, and the maid yelled at me, "Don't you leave that towel there, you're supposed to clean up after yourself"!!! I've been staying at hotels all around the world for many years, and I have to admit that I've never had a maid yell at me. I finally found an open table, to sit down and try to have a peaceful breakfast with my wife, but the maid came back at me yelling again. This time she said, "Don't you leave behind any trash on your table, you have to clean that up yourself"! I was like, wow, give me a break, I'm not even done eating yet! Needless to say, on our return flight back to the states, we intentionally picked another hotel that was 20 miles away from the airport, and will never stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FREEDRACK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ana Z, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Dear Freedrack,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. We completely understand how frustrating it can be when things seem to be going wrong. But we would like you to know that we are taking care of even the smallest of things and improving them to the fullest extent. Eventhough we can't control things that are mandatory such as the pick-up stop for travellers since it is influence directly by Port Authority. I'm also sorry that you didn't like our printed post its, they are actually a standard for Hamptons since we are one of the few brands that wash all the bedding such as our comforters after evey stay. I hope you can give us another chance to show how much we care about all our guest as we look forward to improve in every aspect. And please remember you can always contact us if you would like to further discuss this matter.

Sincerely,
Ana Z.
Your friend at the Hampton in JFK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

This hotel is great for business travelers or people who are overnighting that need to be close to JFK airport. If you have an extremely early flight or are doing business and need to be close to the airport, this is a good affordable option. The hotel was nicer than I expected a Hampton Inn to be. My only issue was that I was in a handicapped room so the shower was open for wheelchair access and the water didn't drain properly so water spread all over the bathroom floor (room 117). I would think this could even be an issue for those who are handicapped (slipping?). They should look into getting the drainage and slopage of the room to work better so that there isn't a build up of water. Other than that, the hotel was acceptable. There is also a free shuttle to/from the airport.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if airport view exists (not what I had), but if it does I think it would be a cool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, Communications Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear WorldieTravels,
We thank you for the feedback and the excellent comments on our property. I have notified my engineer in looking into the issue and taking steps to resolve it. I am happy that you were able to utilize the shuttle and found it convenient, our shuttle is available 24 hours a day. We look forward in having you again.

Sincerely,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

Shuttle waiting when arrived at JFK. Driver very helpful with baggage and the staff at front desk were very friendly and helpful with what I needed. Room superb and bed amazingly comfortable - didn't want to get up for my flight home the next morning. Thank you for a pleasing breakfast.. Will definitely stay again when passing through NY

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, Communications Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Ingrid J,
I am pleased to see that you had a fantastic experience at our hotel. Our dedicated team take pride in what they do every single day in making sure our guests enjoy their stay with us. What we strive for every day is being recognized, friendly and accommodating staff, comfortable and clean beds, relaxing facilities, healthy breakfast and more. I am thrilled to see that you were able to experience all the above services and amenities we offer. Look forward to seeing you again.

Many thanks,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We spent the last night of our New York business trip here as we had an early morning flight home. The check-in was smooth, the rooms were clean, well equipped and very spacious and the airport shuttle service was fast and efficient.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilC59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPWS Communications Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear PhilC59,
Thank you for your great comments. It's great to hear that you had a comfortable stay. We love hearing that our staff did and excellent job in providing great service.
Thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is a good hotel for the money. Nice lobby. Front desk was polite and helpful. Rooms are nice with flat screens and free Internet. Only problem is parking is a little scarce. They had a small room with computers and printers where you can print out your boarding pass.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJT_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suela K, TPWS Communications Manager at Hampton Inn NY - JFK, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear PJT_NJ,
We appreciate the feedback and the support!
We do have a certain amount of parking spaces available at our hotel, there is also street parking available in close proximity to the hotel without any restrictions. In addition, our guest can utilize the parking garage adjacent to the Hilton hotel for a fee.
We are looking forward to your next visit.

Many thanks,
Suela Kacani
suela.kacani@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard New York JFK Airport
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
0.1 mi away
Hilton New York JFK
Hilton New York JFK
#7 of 31 in Jamaica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City
0.6 mi away
Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn NY - JFK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn NY - JFK

Property: Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Address: 14410 135th Ave, Jamaica, NY 11436-2200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jamaica
#3 Best Value Hotel in Jamaica
#5 Business Hotel in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn NY - JFK 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hampton Inn NY - JFK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ny - Jfk Hotel Jamaica
Hampton Inn Jamaica
Jamaica Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing