We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
204 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Clean Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

5 minutes from JFK. The hotel is well located with ample parking. The room was clean and spacious enough. The bed was very comfortable and the included breakfast buffet was very good. Even though we arrived very late, the hotel gave us a list of restaurants that delivered to the hotel. The Chinese we ordered was excellent.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenmar5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    691
    270
    83
    61
See reviews for
531
450
175
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2011

This was my 1st time staying here & I was pleasantly surprised. Conveniently located near JFK. Relatively inconvenient if you plan on spending a lot of time in Manhattan or Brooklyn. However, if you're adventurous, you can take the Airtrain to the subway and get into Manhattan in about 45min.

The hotel has clean spacious rooms, great customer service, good breakfast. Also, their rates seem to be more affordable than some of the other airport hotels.

Overall, I would stay here again. Shuttle operates every 30min during peak times & hourly at night. It takes about 5-10min to get to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trinisteph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2011

My husband and I have stayed at this Hampton several times in 2011 and have always been pleased with the service, staff and rooms. The breakfast staff can be a bit surley, but it's a busy place, I realize. The shuttle drivers are great! A great place to get a night's rest before you fly our of JFK.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tulsacats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

I stayed for just one night after a late arrival and destined for an early departure from JFK.
The taxi driver from LaGuardia was useless - he drove completely past, I got suspicious and took out my GPS to see our 2 mile overshoot, I don't know how far he would have gone before admitting that he didn't know where he was going.
The taxi/private hire on the way out was great - he got me to the Delta departures door at a very high rate of speed!

My only gripe with this hotel was that the iron was somewhat unclean and I was at risk of getting my shirt dirty with residue. Other than that, the staff were very friendly and helpful, especially as I fretted over a late arriving package that almost ruined my departing flight.
It's a no frills airport stop, but not too bad as far as those go.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCLimey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

My wife and I had to stay here on an overnight layover. We got into LGA, took a $25 cab to the hotel and stayed for 12 hours until our next flight at JFK. The hotel is all that you could ever ask for. It was a good price and a great value. Everything was very well kept. The shower was awesome as well as all the toiletries that they provide you with. The room also came with free internet access, a large fridge, a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron etc. etc. It was quiet and the temperature control was very good.

We were told about 2 hotel dining options but were also given lots of take out menus of places that would deliver to the hotel.

Take out menus we were given:
Indian Curry Express
Papa John's
Pizza Port
Halal JFK Chicken
Great Dragon
Sofia Pizza

We chose the Indian Curry Express and were not disappointed.

The last thing that I noted before I passed out for the night was the freshness and quality of their bedding.

Breakfast that was included in the morning. The buffet had all sorts of pastries, bagels bread, a toaster, waffel station, fruits, yogurt, french toast sausages, cereal, tea and coffee (as least that I remember).

Checkout was quick and easy and the shuttle ride to the airport was comfortable and smooth.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DK888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

I stayed at the Hampton Inn JFK in late-October and again in mid-November 2011, on my way to and from India. Each stay was one night. The late-October stay happened to coincide with the surprise blizzard that hit the northeastern U.S. on October 29. From my 12th-floor room at this Hampton Inn, I could see the field over at JFK and wondered if my plane to Istanbul would get out on time (or at all) that night. Luckily, it did.

I arrived here early on a Saturday morning, between 5:00 and 6:00 a.m. So, I needed an early-check-in. I informed the hotel of this by phone prior to arrival, but also informed them I would be leaving the room early and checking out around 9:00 p.m. that same evening to catch my flight -- instead of spending the night. In my opinion, airport hotels should expect this kind of thing and should train their staff how to accommodate it. I ended up being allowed to check in early, but the front desk clerk did not seem knowledgeable about how to make this happen in his computer, until a manager finally showed him how. In contrast, hotel check-out was fast and efficient both times I came through here.

Once I got up to my room, I was quite pleased. Present your Hilton Honors card upon check-in and increase your chances of getting a better room. My hotel rooms during both recent stays were very comfortable and nicely appointed. I slept very fitfully on the beds and later enjoyed the TV and the internet service. The nice view of JFK airport itself allowed me to watch the wild weather show going on outside my window during my October 29 stay. The bathroom had a good shower with plenty of hot water and good water pressure.

The hotel shuttle service over to JFK and to the airport train junction point known as "Federal Circle" runs every 30 minutes during peak times and hourly at other times. On one occasion, I was able to talk a shuttle driver into driving me over to Federal Circle in an unscheduled late-evening run and in crummy winter weather. This I truly appreciated.

Each floor of the hotel has vending machines and ice. The traditionally good Hampton Inn breakfast was available on both of my trips through here. Although not a full buffet, the breakfast is pretty good and has hot items as well as cereals, breads and pastries. There was plenty of space in the dining area, which was clean and policed for cleanliness by an attendant. That attendant also ensured that breakfast items running low were timely replenished so that guests eating later were not short-changed.

If you are here during the evening, two nearby hotels within a short walking distance have restaurants where you can have sit-down dinners. Overall, I enjoyed this Hampton Inn at JFK airport and will stay here again the next time my travel plans bring me through here for a short layover.

Room Tip: Join the Hilton Honors Club to improve your chance for a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank singapurastan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2011

Whilst the hotel accomodation itself is nothing special, it was nethertheless satisfactory in standard with good sized rooms and respectable public areas - with free wifi as a great bonus. What really made this hotel for us was the staff who were super. Very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable, they even checked us in on our next-day flights, printing our boarding cards.

The locale is not the greatest but to be fair, this hotel is all about JFK stop-overs and for that it is superbly located. The courtesy shuttle is only minutes from Federal Circle (JFKs Hotel Pick Up and Car Rental point) which in turn links to all the airport terminii by monorail. From hotel lobby to terminus was about 10-15 minutes! Further, the service runs through the night.

Not somewhere you would stay for a NY holiday, but great for business stop overs and first nights when travelling via JFK. Good value for money and great service.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton New York JFK
Hilton New York JFK
#7 of 31 in Jamaica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,585 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn NY - JFK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn NY - JFK

Property: Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Address: 144-10 135th Ave, Jamaica, NY 11436-2200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jamaica
#5 Business Hotel in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn NY - JFK 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn NY - JFK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ny - Jfk Hotel Jamaica
Hampton Inn Jamaica
Jamaica Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing