We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hampton Inn JFK New York”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Ranked #2 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Hampton Inn JFK New York”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

WE stayed here for 4 nights in late August(we are from Australia)and found the hotel to be quite good. We used the free shuttle to go to JFK airport where we used the aero train and subway to get to time squre. A return trip only cost about $24. The breakfast was ok but the room was very small with only a few seats. The staff at the desk were mostly quite freindy and helpful except for the afternoon shift who made you feel as though you were invading their space and disturbing them.
We would stay here again as its close to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CodgeandMaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    551
    691
    270
    83
    61
See reviews for
531
450
175
335
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

Booked this hotel thinking it would live up to the normal standard of other Hampton Inns, but sadly it was far from what I was expecting.

Took the shuttle from Federal Circle, which is only a two or three minute ride to the hotel. Once I arrived at the hotel they had all the lobby doors open for the breeze (I'm assuming) so it was humid and full of flies in the lobby. Got there a little before check-in, so had to wait for a room to be ready. While waiting I quickly noticed the breakfast area was full of debris and random trash scattered through out. The whole area was in disarray with chairs and tables scattered. I moved over to the waiting area only to find the blue couches stained from what looked like years of wear and the edge of one coming apart with the stuffing falling out. Thankfully, the front desk was able to quickly get me into a room.

The room was dated and smelt like a mens locker room, but an okay size to move about and large flat screen. I booked this hotel because Hampton Inns are known for their comfy beds and pillows, but sadly it was stiff and flat pillows. Called the front desk and asked for better pillows, but once those arrived they were worse than the ones I already had. I almost requested a new room, but knew I wouldn't be getting anything better. After being in the room for about 30 minutes I realized this is what I get for booking a last minute hotel and not doing the reasearch.

Hotel does not have a business center which was a HUGE disappointment. Had documents that I had to have ready by 8 am the next morning and no where to print anything. Thankfully the front desk let me email them to their email address and they printed them, but that was awkward asking them to delete the doc files because it was my resume and other sales materials for a company I was interviewing with.

All in all, I wish I would have done more research and found a better quality in the area for the price of $180 a night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobSan_IND
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Hampton Inns are usually a good bet (at least the ones I've been to.) This one near JFK is no different.
Very clean and modern lobby, looks as if the place had gone through renovations/refreshening- which is nice! Super clean room with ample space desk & 2 queen beds. Clean bathroom & shower & very clean all around.
Staying for the night as a relative is flying out of JFK.
Free breakfast is nice to hold you over for a while.
Got this room with my AAA rate and cannot complain. Shuttle running every hour on the hour, so there's plenty of time to get to the airport, etc. No onsite restaurant but look for delivery or something.
Not sure why one of the users calls it a terrible idea... it's not the Four Seasons, and it's an airport vicenity hotel. Not sure what people expect.

Free wireless also which is enough to get some light work/emails done.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bri0831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

I stayed here for one night while i was on a Mileage Run on AA. There's a free shuttle service from federal circle, which is one of the air train's stops. The room was very comfortable and clean and had all the amenities needed for a restful stay.

There is no restaurant on site though. They only provide a complimentary hot breakfast which I wasn't able to take part of because of my 4am shuttle departure. However, you can go to the hotel's restaurant next door if you need to grab a quick dinner.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Triniflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

I had a short trip to NYC where I flew in late Saturday night and left early Monday morning, so I thought might as well stay at a JFK hotel for convenience. What a big mistake! I'll fork over the extra money, deal with the inconvenience, and stay in Manhattan next time for sure.

This hotel is in a very bad neighborhood, as all the other JFK hotels seem to be. I expected it to be more oriented to the business traveler, as most airport hotels typically are. I don't know who these people were at the Hampton Inn, but most seemed pretty sketchy and low class. At the breakfast buffet, it was so packed and crowded, felt like a meat market. And some poor old lady took a seat and ended up getting yelled at by a very rude woman who apparently had just made a 8th run to the waffle maker. I ended up just grabbing a bunch of food and going straight up to my room because I could not eat in the company of the sketchy noisy inconsiderate crowd.

There is no restaurant or bar, so take out was the only option. First tried the Marriott's restaurant next door, but quickly left since the food seemed on par with JFK terminal food, as in low quality and overpriced.

I only give it the hotel an extra star because the room was ok, have stayed in worse, and was still probably better than other JFK hotels. Which is really sad.

A forget the shuttle service, I think the drivers must be part of some halfway house program. I'd pay for a short taxi ride rather than deal with the shuttles. But doesn't matter, will never ever stay here or at any JFK hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Clynstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
491 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

I spent the night of 19th August at the Hampton Inn hotel in New York on a stopover to another US city. The Hampton Inn is located in an area known as Jamaica by John F Kennedy International Airport in New York.

There are complimentary shuttle buses that take you from the airport to the hotel and it takes about 10 minutes.

I was checked into room 1112 by a very friendly receptionist – Adlin. She gave me a very warm welcome.

The room was large and very clean. The décor was modern and it felt very cosy.
There was a king size bed that was very comfortable. The height of the bed was noticeably higher than the average bed.

The bathroom was of a decent size with a low sunk bath tub.

There was a 32 inch flat screen TV with all the usual US channels and a few of the well known overseas ones.

The hotel does not have a restaurant but there are eating places nearby. Guests can also order meals from nearby restaurants offering take away services. There are two Chinese restaurants; one Indian and one Italian Pizza restaurant. I ordered a Chinese meal and it arrived within 25 minutes. A word of advice - the portions in the USA are larger than the UK portions. I paid US$23 for two starters and a main course that included steamed rice.

There is a breakfast area that serves hot drinks throughout the day. Breakfast is served from 6am. It is complimentary and consisted of hot items like slices of French Toast, turkey & pork string sausages; and waffles. There were other items like cereals, fruit, pastries and muffins. You need to get there early because it can get quite crowded.

The hotel does not have a convenience store for confectionery, drinks and snacks. There is one round the corner about a two minute walk away and located in the JFK International Hotel.

This is a very conveniently located hotel; has very clean rooms and the beds are very comfortable indeed. It is ideal for a transit stopover – but you will feel like staying longer. Tax of 14.75 % is added to the room rate as well as US$3.50 per room per night as secondary tax. Booking in advance is recommended.

Maz Mannan 28th August 2011.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mazmannan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Fl
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2011

This was a great hotel with clean and large rooms, friendly staff, and an excellent complimentary breakfast buffet. Only drawback is that there are no restaurants in the immediate vicinity. I stayed there for 15 days and will definitely go back if I need a hotel close to JFK again.

Room Tip: some rooms have microwave and refridgerator! Make sure you ask if that is important to you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stetsonab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton New York JFK
Hilton New York JFK
#7 of 31 in Jamaica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn NY - JFK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn NY - JFK

Property: Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Address: 144-10 135th Ave, Jamaica, NY 11436-2200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jamaica
#5 Business Hotel in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn NY - JFK 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn NY - JFK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ny - Jfk Hotel Jamaica
Hampton Inn Jamaica
Jamaica Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing