We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It would have been softer if we slept on the floor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We were overnighting before an international flight. We have a 'rewards' card so I assumed we'd get a better room. The bed was like sleeping on a rock. 'nuff said.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scuff66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,832)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,485 - 1,491 of 1,832 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2011

Although they say there is a shuttle to and from the airport, it is really a pain. After 9pm, the Airtrain stops working, so you have to catch a bus to Federal Circle, call them, and then they will come and pick you up. This whole process took over 30 minutes. Check in was very fast and smooth. Rooms are comfortable. They should really offer bottled water in the rooms, even for a charge. Tap water was terrible and I didn't have singles for the vending machine. Free breakfast was good- a lot of options that were fresh and refilled regularly. Seemed like a very busy hotel. Nothing fancy but it worked for an airport hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LAcurlgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed here prior to early flight home to UK. Room great size (2 double beds) Hairdryer, Coffee facilities. Hotel staff so helpful. Breakfast buffett from 6am. No restaurant in hotel but staff will order you takeaway or you can walk to adjacent International Hotel and eat in their Bistro, which we did and food and service were amazing.
Our night was during the 'heatwave' outside temperature 109 F but the airconditioning in room was very efficient.
My husband and daughter went to the Yankee stadium in the evening. They phoned the hotel on arrival back to train station and a courtesy bus collected them.
Shuttlel service to the airport starts at 4am and runs every half hour.
We availed ourselves of the 6am shuttle. It takes you to whichever terminal you require with a transfer time of 15 minutes.
Whilst the area around the hotel is not much to shout about I would highly recommend and would use again if travelling in or out of JFK.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 013monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2011

Stayed here at the tail end of a weekend trip in NYC before an early flight Monday morning from JFK. Returned the rental car to Federal Circle and walked to the hotel shuttle pickup area at 8:35PM. At 8:45PM, we called the hotel to ask when the shuttle was coming. "You just missed him! It will be 10 - 15 mins." OK, we wait until 9:05PM. No shuttle. Call again. "Please hold sir; ok, he'll be there in 2 mins." No apologies. We wait. 2 mins. 5 mins. 10 mins. 15 mins. Nothing. Driver shows up at 9:25...45 mins total, and rude as well. Radio blasting when the door opens, doesn;t turn it down even when a mother with a young child in her arms looks perplexed. I shut the radio off myself. Get to hotel (in 5 mins, by the way - so where was this guy all this time? - and check in and express my frustration. No apology from the clerk. I suggest that perhaps the driver stopped for a drink or two first? (This got me an interesting look which behind the eyes clearly held some serios profanity - hey, maybe the guy was her boyfriend?) She tells me that the manager will be calling me to discuss it in "5 minutes". No phone call. I go back down to the lobby to print our boarding passes. The same clerk (I think it is Aida? Don't hold me to that but it's close) tells me that they have no business center (are you kidding? this IS 2011, right?), and I can walk across the street to an adjacent hotel and "pay them a fee" for the use of their busines center....WOW. I clearly see printers behind the front desk. This gal was simply out to get me at this point. The other clerk looks at her like she's got two heads and says to me, "Sir, I'll be happy to help you print that, just let me finish checking in these folks." Smiling, I say, "Thanks so much Trudeen (who turns out to be the on-duty manager with whom I speak), that is the kind of customer service I've come to appreciate from Hilton properties." Trudeen helps me and I go to bed. The room, by the way, although older, was clean and pleasant, but the air condioning in the hallway was broken, or perhaps someone played a cruel joke and turned on the heat, because I've been in cooler saunas. However, it was working well in my room, and that's what mattered. The shuttle bus in the morning to airport was on time and pleasant, although the driver took cash from some guy standing outside the hotel and gave him a ride and dropped him off somewhere near a construction site at JFK. Not sure what that was all about, maybe a buddy of the guy's or something, but I wouldn't exactly call it a "safe" practice, and from the looks of it, this was a common occurance. Whatever. We got to terminal unscathed and ended a "fair at best" experience (and overpriced - I paid almost $200 for the room because I thought I was going to get typical Hilton-Hampton Inn quality service.) I will NOT stay here again - not because the property was poor - that was "OK" (not great by any means, though) - but because the experience is at least 50% service - and this hotel has got (almost) NONE. Be careful - they need to watch the safety here too - the hitchhiker could have freaked out some folks.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bidichurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

This is a simple, predictable, and convenient accommodation for a business traveler who uses JFK airport. Rooms are good size, clean, and spacious. Excellent bed, good shower with free toiletries, and iron provided. Room service available.

Breakfast not served before 6 am, so those with early departures (I like mine) will have to plan to eat elsewhere. Please note that there are very few food establishment within a walking distance of the hotel.

Shuttle service starts at 5 am - quick and convenient transfers to/from all terminals. Check-in and check-out were quick and convenient. Will be back - best for a quick business stop.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarekJarmola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

I wasn't sure what to expect of a JFK airport hotel. After reading many reviews we chose this hotel as they do offer a park and fly option. We arrived near 12:00 midnight and left at 5:00 a.m so we did not get to try the breakfast. We were pleasantly surprised, as the hotel was clean and comfortable. The shuttle was ready and waiting in the morning when we departed for our trip. The return shuttle service arrived within 5 minutes of our call from the airport hotel phone kiosk. The only negative was a miscommunication based on a call I placed to the hotel prior to booking. My understanding was that the park and fly was included in the rate, however; when we checked in we were informed that there is a $15 a day charge for the parking. We would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor, we didn't have any issues with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Copeshak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Perhaps the best hotel near JFK, and probably by far the best value. Good breakfast in the morning, and front desk staff was extremely helpful and cheerful. Rooms were well cleaned, beds were superb. I've stayed at two other JFK hotels previously, and this one is by far the best.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0 mi away
Courtyard New York JFK Airport
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn New York JFK Airport
0.1 mi away
Hilton New York JFK
Hilton New York JFK
#6 of 30 in Jamaica
1,863 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn NY - JFK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn NY - JFK

Address: 144-10 135th Ave, Jamaica, NY 11436-2200
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Jamaica
#5 Business Hotel in Jamaica
Price Range: $157 - $350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn NY - JFK 3*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, HotelPower, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn NY - JFK reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Ny - Jfk Hotel Jamaica
Hampton Inn Jamaica
Jamaica Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing