We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay before Morning Flight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Stay before Morning Flight”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We drove down from Boston to NY to get on a morning flight out of JFK. We arrived at the Marriott at 11pm with our 3 kids and the staff was wonderful! I can't remember the name of the woman who helped us at the front desk but she was terrific. She was friendly to my children and explained what time we need to be in the lobby to get the van to the airport. The accommodations were clean and comfortable. The van service was easy and we were dropped off right at our terminal. We left our car at the hotel for the week and we called them after we landed and they had it warmed up and ready for us when we arrived back. So convenient and easy!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rach1024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_JFK_Mgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear RACH1024, thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff. I consider myself fortunate to work alongside the many hospitality professionals that make up the Courtyard by Marriott JFK team! They will be pleased to hear that your children enjoyed their stay, and that you found our accomodations to be clean, comfortable and convenient. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel the next timeyou find yourself in the NYC-JFK vicinity!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    272
    99
    21
    25
See reviews for
164
173
71
235
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Understand, 5-star rating doesn't = 5-star hotel; it means hotel does best possible job at what it is supposed to do, and this hotel delivers! Courtyard by Marriott is not Marriott's elite brand, so don't expect glamour. Expect impeccably clean room, great bed, nice linens, free WiFi & efficient service with a smile. Food choices limited but very tasty, pricey but fair for NYC.

Don't complain about the neighborhood! It's the only one near the airport. Don't complain about shuttle pick-up location! It's mandated by Port Authority. Complain to them, by all means. It's a lousy arrangement! But not hotel's fault.

Caveat #1: Parking description could be improved. $25 valet parking only option for secure hotel parking. Otherwise you park on the street.

Caveat #2: Check your WiFi connection before you unpack. In some rooms at the end of the hallway, connection does not reach all the way to the desk.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_JFK_Mgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you Sandra C for sharing your expereinces with our hotel, I was pleased to read that we achieved our goal of delivering service that met and exceeded your expectations! I have good news to share regarding our Wi-fi connection. We have recently upgraded our bandwidth almost 10 fold, and are in the process of upgrading our access points to improve the connection in the corner rooms that you mention. Thank you again for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott at JFK; we look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the NYC-JFK vicinity!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
623 reviews
153 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I arrived late at night and had an early morning flight out. The shuttle was quick to arrive at Federal Circle ( you take the air train from the terminal there for the shuttles.) . At check-in the nice woman at the counter allowed me to pick up some snacks even though everything was officially closed. I slept well if not for as long as would have liked. The shuttle back to the terminal in the morning runs every 30 minutes and takes 10 minutes to get you back into the airport.
Room was clean and comfortable standard Marriott issue.
Overall for an early morning flight out of JFk this is a great choice and I'd do it again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bccrab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_JFK_Mgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you BOORAB for your feedback regarding your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in a heartbeat as well! I'm glad you found our shuttle service convenient and efficient, and our rooms clean and comfortable. Many of our guests stay with us for the same reasons you do, a convenient trip to the airport for an early flight, after a good nights rest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed here one night on a layover before boarding our flight overseas. Took the free shuttle over from JFK having arrived about midnight. We only waited 7 minutes for the shuttle to pick us up. Check-in was fast and easy. Bellman very friendly and brought bags up on a cart. Room amenities better than expected. Free wifi, mini refrigerator, Keurig coffee machine in the room. And love those Marriott mattresses -- like sleeping on a soft roll of Charmin tissue, with lots of pillows to boot! Will definitely use this hotel again. We asked and were granted a late check-out as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_JFK_Mgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you Carolynn S for sharing your experiences with our hotel. I'm happy we achieved our goal of exceeding your expectations! Many guests enjoy the little "extras" that we provide, like the Keurig coffee makers and mini fridges in every room. I'm glad to hear you will definitely be back, we'll definitely be here to welcome you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Considering how little there is to choose from near JFK in the way of great hotels, this Courtyard is a find - and definitely operates a bit like a full service Marriott. Good beds, great linens, nice and clean, good selection of bath products (including toothpaste), small fridge in room, surprisingly attentive and smart staff, efficient shuttle to and from the airport - including call for pick-up, nice carpeting in the hallways, nice elevators, comfortable lobby bar and space to work or have a meeting, decent food, very close to the airport and highway, next to a quiet residential area. Though we did see out our window a few planes coming into to Kennedy, we never heard them.
My stay was not without a few glitches including a malfunctioning heating system which left our room frigid at times. They checked it once - the heat did work for a few hours - but when it stopped working again the next day the manager personally brought up a stand-alone room heater - and a glass of wine - and he adjusted our bill, which I did not request, but was certainly welcome. He had also offered initially to move me to another room, but when I said I was too exhausted to pack up etc, he came through with the heater. The manager, whose name is Tayfun and another staffer, Orlando, were both particularly helpful, but everyone we encountered from lobby staff to maintenance workers, housekeepers, bartender, limo driver et al, were all personable and on the ball. Despite poor water pressure in the shower, a creaky bathroom door that kept swinging closed and desk chair too big for the desk, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertaAnthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_JFK_Mgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Roberta Anthony, thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay with us. I was pleased to see that you were happy with your "find" of our hotel. Many guests appreciate the little extras like the refrigerators in each room, and count on things like our reliable shuttle service to make their stay convenient and comfortable. I was happy to hear that Tayfun and Orlando quickly addressed the concerns you had during your stay, and took steps to provide a token of our apologies that your stay was not the completely flawless one we strive for. I've shared your comments with all our staff, and we are pleased to hear that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back the next time you are in the JFK-NYC vicinity!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Level Contributor
565 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This hotel is one of the best at JFK for a short stay. The rooms are clean and the hotel has a bar and small restaurant. There is also a very small gym in the basement. They have all flights posted on a screen and you can even get your boarding pass in the lobby. The staff is friendly and polite. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: A higher floor room will stop some of the traffic noise, which never stops in NYC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Stewart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_JFK_Mgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Thank you Joseph S for your nice comments! I'm delighted that you found our hotel to be among the best. We are very proud of our #1 rating of hotels at JFK by Tripadvisor guests, and glad we can count you among them! We frequently hear that the small touches we provide, like the flight arrival and departure information on the displays in our lobby and on the guest room TV's, or the ability to check in for your flight and print your boarding pass from the convenience of our lobby, are appreciated by our guests! In turn, we appreciate our guest's choice of our hotel, and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in the JFK-NYC vicinity!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Got off 8 hr transatlantic flight, called hotel from courtesy phone as soon as I got out of customs and was told to take AirTrain to federal circle stop.and call again from there. Did that. Was first put on hold then told that shuttle would be there in 10 minutes. Was asked if I had cellphone so driver could call me. As I didn't, I went out in the cold after about 8 minutes with 5 yr old. Kid crying due to cold and wind, shuttle after shuttle for every hotel other than the CY by M appeared (some even 3 times!) while our shuttle was nowhere in sight. Shuttle finally turned up 25 minutes after my call, zero apology from driver. Did not even bother to help me with my suitcases at first! Got to reception, complained about long wait in the cold (very nicely) and was told that traffic is outside of their control. I agreed but mentioned that in this case they should not tell me that it would take 10 minutes - simply managing expectations could have saved me from this unpleasant experience. Anyway, receptionist was not really apologizing but rather smiling in perfunctory manner.
Was helped by friendly staff with my suitcases. Got to room - noticed that toilet didn't flush. Called reception, explaining what I had gone through earlier, waiting for shuttle, that there was no bottled water in the room, that mini bar was empty and that toilet wouldn't flush. Received apology about toilet problem and was offered choice of another room (same std) or getting engineer to fix it. Opted for latter and asked if I could get some water. Was offered two 25cl bottles comped (after i insisted) but had to pay for a liter bottle $5! Not even mineral water - Highway robbery!
Anyway, hotel was okay-ish. Staff could have easily handled my concerns (by being a bit more apologetic, perhaps upgrading or offering a voucher). Won't be returning and glad I didn't pay full rate! Maybe that is how it works in a captive 'airport' market.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyager_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_JFK_Mgr, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Voyager_NYC, thank you for your candid feedback regarding your stay. It is this feedback which enables us to work toward our goal of continual improvement and flawless guest stays. I have shared your comments with our Front Office manager and all our staff, so we can ensure we use them to find other ways of handling similar situations. I'm hopeful you have the opportunity to try our hotel again in the futre, so we can demonstrate the level of service that we are proud of. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel then!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
#2 of 31 in Jamaica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,680 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton New York JFK
Hilton New York JFK
#7 of 31 in Jamaica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel
0.5 mi away
Best Western JFK Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport

Property: Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport
Address: 145-11 North Conduit Ave, Jamaica, NY 11436 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott JFK International Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jamaica
#2 Best Value Hotel in Jamaica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport is located adjacent to JFK International Airport in southeast Queens NYC - convenient to Queens, Midtown Manhattan, Brooklyn, and Nassau County businesses and attractions. Our JFK airport hotel's services for business and leisure travelers include a free 24- hour airport shuttle, and business travelers love our 2 meeting and small-event venues. We are the perfect choice among hotels near JFK airport for visitors who want to stay the night close to the airport, prior to flying out of JFK or even upon arrival to NYC. At our JFK airport hotel's accommodations, you can take advantage of the JFK AirTrain/LIRR link for quick, convenient, affordable commutes to Midtown Manhattan or points east in less than 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Jfk International Airport Hotel Jamaica
Courtyard Hotel Jamaica
Marriott Jamaica
Courtyard Jamaica
Jamaica Marriott
Jamaica Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing