We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good hotel near to JFK, with helpful staff and good beds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard New York JFK Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard New York JFK Airport
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Good hotel near to JFK, with helpful staff and good beds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

Always stay at JFK when in NYC and travel in from Jamaica to Penn Station, to save on hotel costs. This one is good, nice and clean with great attentive staff. Rooms were fine and beds good. Shower worked well, and you are able to grad snacks etc from the Starbucks in the lobby. Overall, nice place to stay with the family as a base camp.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophielaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_JFK_Mgr, General Manager at Courtyard New York JFK Airport, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
We always appreciagte positive feedback from our guests - and especially so when that feedback comes from a discerning Tripadvisor "Senior Contributor" like "Sophielaura"! Many other guests have also told us they appreciate our location to midtown Manhattan, Brooklyn, Long Island and surrounding areas with our convenient location to the Airtrain/LIRR rail link. Our 24 hour complimentary shuttle whisks you to the JFK Airtrain terminal and all the destinations that can be quickly, comfortably, cost effectively and conveniently reached from there!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    236
    72
    20
    22
See reviews for
148
140
53
202
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

My family and myself stayed at the hotel in July whilst travelling between Washington and San Francisco. Having read some of the reviews prior to arriving I was a little bit apprehensive, especially about the aircraft noise however never had an issue with it upon arrival and had a great sleep. The staff were friendly and the rooms were very clean however a little bit cramped for my liking. The restaurant down stairs had a very small menu selection and the meals were a little bit bland, other than those two minor complaints the hotel was a great place to spend a night.

Likes
- Wifi connection
- Shuttle service
- Friendly staff
- Clean rooms

Dislikes
- A little bit cramped
- Menu selection

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paddles1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

My Mom had to be evacuated due to Hurricane Irene. She is ill with dementia and is wheelchair bound, so we needed to get her and her aide into a place where they would be off the ground floor, with no worries of losing power. We were so relieved when we were able to get her into this hotel, not knowing what a great place it was. From the moment we brought her by ambulette to the hotel on that scary Saturday afternoon until the time we picked her up on the following Monday, our aide felt they were safe and secure and had no worries. Both times I was there, the staff was so accommodating and understanding of our situation. They were very helpful in getting my Mom into her room as fast as possible and let her stay in the room until the ambulette got there to pick her up even though they were behind due to the hurricane. Really would recommend this hotel, also, for the clean and beautiful rooms and lobby that they have. The next time I need to put up family or friends in the NY/Long Island area I will definitely use this hotel. Also would recommend it for people who have early flights or get stranded because of cancellations. Very happily surprised and impressed by the experience we had.

Room Tip: Be nice to the person at the front desk. The girl we dealt with was so accommodating and understandi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarahj6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_JFK_Mgr, General Manager at Courtyard New York JFK Airport, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Hurricane Irene was challenging for a lot of people in our area - residents and travellers alike. We were glad we could be an "Island of calm in the midst of the storm" for so many. Our thoughts are with those who faced so many difficult challenges - with hopes that everyone is recovering swiftly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

The staff was amazing and the so was the Hotel. Although the area is not the greatest, if your traveling for business and have to stay in the area this is the best choice. The rooms were updated, the lobby was very nice as well. The food was also very good. There is a Starbucks in the lobby which is a great perk. I have nothing bad to say about this place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_JFK_Mgr, General Manager at Courtyard New York JFK Airport, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
I am very glad to see that "jspair" found our hotel and staff "AMAZING". I am fortunate to work alongside so may talented hospitality professionals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

As sad as we were to have to leave our NYC vacation, the Marriott JFK made the transition home that much easier.

We had a 6am flight from JFK, so left our Manhattan hotel to stay a little closer to the airport the night before. This proved to be a GREAT idea.

We were warmly checked in at the reception desk and she did a great job of orienting us to the hotel and their services and answering any questions we had. The room was clean (it looks like they recently got new carpet) and the bed was very comfortable. We had a quiet night sleep which I appreciated since we were up at 3:30am.

There are no restaurants very close to the hotel, but luckily the hotel does have an onsite bistro type restaurant and we were able to get a decent dinner after checking in. They also have some grab and go food and a Starbucks coffee area. The rooms have coffee and a mini-fridge, but you can also get complimentary coffee in the lobby.

The best part of this hotel is their free shuttle to the airport which was VERY convenient.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suz259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_JFK_Mgr, General Manager at Courtyard New York JFK Airport, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
I'm glad to see that "Suz259" found her decision to stay at our hotel the night prior to flying out of JFK proved to be a "great idea". I know you will find the same for all the same reasons "Suz259" details above. We look forward to welcoming you to our hotel when in the NYC/JFK vicinity!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

An unplanned stay due to a flight miss , we just landed the last room for the night . Happy to get any bed after a long day of travelling . The following day as we went to use the shuttle to the airport , the hotel organised a taxi for us as one of the buses had a mechanical fault and the other was needed for flight crews . All done with a smile. Later that afternoon , I realised I had left an Ipod back in the hotel bedroom and after a couple of calls , Alex in security managed to track it down . 10 minutes later , I had it in hand at JFK as one of the team in the Marriott drove off specially to deliver the Ipod . Great honesty and excellent service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FearGlic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_JFK_Mgr, General Manager at Courtyard New York JFK Airport, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you to FearGlic for sharing their experiences with our hotel. I read their comments regarding our Customer Service with pride! I consider myself fortunate to work alongside professionals such as Alex and the rest of our team, and have shared your comments with them. We look forward to greeting all readers to our hotel in the future, and sharing our team's best NYC Smiles with you as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I stayed here for one night whilst traveling between Sydney, Australia and Nantucket, MA. The day before I left, I received an email outlining how to find the hotel and also how to contact and find the shuttle bus service at JFK.

As invited, I rang the hotel from the courtesy phone at JFK and, 10 minutes later, the shuttle bus arrived. At the hotel, the staff were very friendly and gave me a lovely, clean and very quiet room as requested. Whilst it wasn't close to the city, the bistro offered good food at reasonable prices. The staff were genuinely warm and friendly and it was a pleasure staying there.

This hotel is perfect for those travelers who need a nice room near the airport and I would highly recommend them.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitaLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtyard_JFK_Mgr, General Manager at Courtyard New York JFK Airport, responded to this review, August 19, 2011
Thank you AnitalLP for sharing your thoughts regarding our hotel with us. I was pleased to see that you found our hotel to be "perfect" for you, and we look forward to greeting all our future guests with our goal of providing "perfection" as well. I have shared your comments with all the departments mentioned so they can be as proud to hear them as I was to read them. Thank you for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott NYC/JFK for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
#2 of 31 in Jamaica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,478 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens/JFK Airport
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza JFK Airport New York City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton New York JFK
Hilton New York JFK
#6 of 31 in Jamaica
4.0 of 5 stars 1,357 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sheraton JFK Airport Hotel
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn New York JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard New York JFK Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard New York JFK Airport

Property: Courtyard New York JFK Airport
Address: 14511 N Conduit Ave, Jamaica, NY 11436-2236 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott JFK International Airport)
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Jamaica
#3 Romantic Hotel in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard New York JFK Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard by Marriott JFK Airport is located adjacent to JFK International Airport in southeast Queens NYC, convenient to Queens, Midtown Manhattan, Brooklyn & Nassau County businesses and attractions. Our 24 hour shuttle makes us perfect for stays the night prior to flying out of JFK or upon arrival to NYC. Take advantage of the JFK AirTrain/LIRR link for quick, convenient, affordable commutes to midtown Manhattan or points east in under 40 minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard New York JFK Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Jfk International Airport Hotel Jamaica
Courtyard Hotel Jamaica
Marriott Jamaica
Courtyard Jamaica
Jamaica Marriott
Jamaica Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing