We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garden Inn & Suites
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Nice, clean hotel. Very reasonably priced. Room was clean and comfortable. Staff was very nice and helpful. Only downfall was the parking wasn't very good. Not a bad location. Has menus for ordering in and having it delivered. Overall though, we recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Bart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenInnManagement, Manager at Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We continuously strive to improve our services so that each and every experience at the Garden Inn & Suites will be better than the last!

Unfortunately, we do not have the space for private off street parking but the benefit of our location is that it is deemed safe, and the ample street parking that is available to our hotel guests is free of charge.

We appreciate you taking the time out to provide us with your positive feedback and we look forward to being given an opportunity to welcome you to our hotel again in the future.


Garden Inn & Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    49
    58
    64
    81
See reviews for
53
84
48
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matola, Mozambique
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Had to stay over when our plane was delayed. ..value for money with resly friendly staff, the bed is sooooo comfortable. The shuttle service is fast and very reliable. A definit stay over for airport guests

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NitaHallowes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GardenInnManagement, Manager at Garden Inn & Suites, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive comments on your recent stay with us!

We are thrilled to hear that you received the high level of customer service you deserved and we hope to be your choice of hotel should you visit NYC again in the future!


Garden Inn & Suites Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
253 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2014

How did we get here? Our Air Canada flight was delayed and we missed our JFK connection. Although we scheduled 3 hours to connect between flights and weather was clear, we had to wait 2 hours in Toronto to speak to an Air Canada customer service agent to try to remediate the situation and try to get another flight in an attempt to get our JFK connection as our flight delay changes became later and later. Still Air Canada's response was to take our scheduled flight even though it was obvious that our connection and so many travellers were in jeapordy. We were also told that there will be someone on the other side to help if your flight does not connect. When we arrived, there was no one at the gate to assist. We were told to go to the check in area for a representative. At the check in, the other airlines looked at us with indifference as they said there was no one from Air Canada working their at this time. No one knew the process. No one had any vested interest to assist passengers. Only due to the customer service one person named Javier who worked for United - not Air Canada - and who was on his way home, stayed to find a someone who could get approval from Air Canada to give us hotel vouchers. Even so, we waited 3 hours before we had our vouchers and only through luck and generousity of another family were we able to use their connection to the Air Canada call centre to rebook another flight for the next day. Once you miss your connection, you are truly on your own with Air Canada.
The shuttle to the hotel: We needed to take the air train to Federal circle. At this point, you wait outside for a shuttle. Real hotels like the Marriott or Hilton have a shuttle every 5 to 10 minutes. Ours was every half hour and only one runs that fits a maximum of 13 people. It gets pretty cold outside at 10:30PM with children. What does that mean to your plans? In the morning, there is most likely to be more then 13 people waiting for a free shuttle. If you see that, call a taxi right away or risk missing your flight.
The hotel: We were given a voucher to go the the Garden Inn & Suites. This is not to be confused with the Hilton Garden Inn. The Garden Inn is a not a full service hotel. Rooms are old and worn out, beds are soft, bathrooms are dated and show their obvious age. There is not likely to be food service so most have to order out for cheap chinese food or something similar. Menus are at the front desk. If on a voucher, order and the hotel will pay the delivery person up to the per person limit with the receipt and you pay any difference. There is a breakfast that starts at 7AM or 7:30AM but too late for people trying to catch an early flight.
Overall: This is not a hotel I would want to come to unless I had to (which we did). Thanks to Air Canada for their lackluster service.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank synToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jamaica hotels

ontario
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Our flight was cancelled at JFK and had to stay overnight. For some reason i asked a cheap hotel close to the airport. Big mistake pay an extra 20$/night and go to a real hotel instead. Reception was terrible. No welcome,hi or anything, the girl just raised her arm waiting for me to give her my reservation paper from the airport. Then she gave me my card and that was it no "have a nice stay or your room is on the 4th floor take the elevator to your right" or anything.

The room was smaller than usual which i was expecting but also there is no HD tv, no movie rental either, about 26 channels with only 2-3 worth watching. you cant turn off the fan in the bathroom and it is noisy as hell. my window was open in my room although its winter still and there was a terrible draft all night in the room because the heater is not strong enough to compensate for the wind draft.Breakfast i dont even want to talk about it. im not going there again even if it was free.

If you think i am complaining for nothing check out my other reviews its the first time i actually give less than 4 stars to something. The only pro is that the room was kind of clean.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank lafrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
337 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

Landed to JFK and spent one night before new flight ..Checking was fast and staff friendly ..Room was perfect and clean ..A bit noisy from the traffic to 11pm ..Breakfast nothing special but correct ...Free shuttle to the airport ..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Having worked in a hotel for quite some time never in my life have I witnessed a member of staff shout aggressively at a guest, but this was the treatment we received from a very rude airport transfer driver. The only reason we gave him a tip was in fear that we might not get our bags back at the terminal.

The whole place is very dated, it's like walking back into the seventies, from the mirrors on the ceiling to the gold fixtures.

No staff member made us feel welcome, maybe some customer service training could be used. Simple things like looking the guest in the eye on check-in would make a big difference. Receptionist didn't even ask us on check-out if we enjoyed our stay, but I'm guessing that's because no-one does.

Breakfast is limited. The rooms go from extremely warm to freezing cold between day and night. The toilet had stains in it. The bed is soft and lumpy, we found ourselves rolling into the middle of it during the night.

There are no nearby restaurants, the gift shop looks like a facility that existed in the Eastern Block after the fall of Communism.

Overpriced, outdated and unimpressed.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else, honestly it's not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireMoro91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

First I paid too much -- distressed travellers booking from JFK pay more than the walk-in rate, and while the staff was friendly, the rooms were awful. First room I was sent to smelled strongly of chlorine and when I tried to use the phone to call the front desk, the phone was broken. I then went downstairs and got a different room The TV remote was missing, but I went straight to sleep. Next morining I found the handle controlling the hot water in the shower was broken, so I was stuck with a very cold shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn near JFK Airport
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn JFK Airport Rockaway Blvd
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN JFK Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Inn & Suites

Property: Garden Inn & Suites
Address: 15120 Baisley Blvd, Jamaica, NY 11434-2803
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Garden Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Jfk Airport
Crowne Plaza Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing