We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh dear” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Garden Inn & Suites
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Oh dear”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

Having worked in a hotel for quite some time never in my life have I witnessed a member of staff shout aggressively at a guest, but this was the treatment we received from a very rude airport transfer driver. The only reason we gave him a tip was in fear that we might not get our bags back at the terminal.

The whole place is very dated, it's like walking back into the seventies, from the mirrors on the ceiling to the gold fixtures.

No staff member made us feel welcome, maybe some customer service training could be used. Simple things like looking the guest in the eye on check-in would make a big difference. Receptionist didn't even ask us on check-out if we enjoyed our stay, but I'm guessing that's because no-one does.

Breakfast is limited. The rooms go from extremely warm to freezing cold between day and night. The toilet had stains in it. The bed is soft and lumpy, we found ourselves rolling into the middle of it during the night.

There are no nearby restaurants, the gift shop looks like a facility that existed in the Eastern Block after the fall of Communism.

Overpriced, outdated and unimpressed.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else, honestly it's not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireMoro91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    49
    56
    64
    80
See reviews for
53
83
48
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

First I paid too much -- distressed travellers booking from JFK pay more than the walk-in rate, and while the staff was friendly, the rooms were awful. First room I was sent to smelled strongly of chlorine and when I tried to use the phone to call the front desk, the phone was broken. I then went downstairs and got a different room The TV remote was missing, but I went straight to sleep. Next morining I found the handle controlling the hot water in the shower was broken, so I was stuck with a very cold shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jamaica hotels

Naples, Florida
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Close to JFK but nowhere near Manhattan. At first they gave me a room which was already occupied...I walked in on someone...OOPS. I asked for a late check out and they told me to call in the morning. I called in the morning and was told my room was blocked for a group. They couldn't have told me that the night before??? The vending machines don't take dollars so I went to the front desk for change. I was told they don't HAVE quarters. I asked how I could get a soda and was told the machines take dollars. I replied that if they took dollars I wouldn't be asking for change!!!! Where was the customers service??? Does anyone believe that they don't accept cash for room stays. Wouldn't they have to make change sometimes?? Does this person not have change in their wallet or could they have asked a coworker if they had change???? Motel 6 has better customer service!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shannon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

I checked in as my flight was canceled. Requested late checkout. Front desk woman said I could checkout at 1:00 pm. I got a call at 12:15. The lady (Lorraine) told me I need to check out at 12. I told her someone told me I can checkout at 1. She then proceeded to give me the worst attitude I have ever received in my life. She told me "she's not someone and I need to leave now" I said I already requested a late checkout. She said she's not going to argue with me and that she would send up a manager and security. She then hung up on me before I could say anything. I was extremely upset so I called again asking for her name so I could speak with the manager. She mumbled her name and when I asked her to spell it she told me that the manager and security were on their way up and hung up on me again. I don't know what happened as it escalated from me requesting an extra 30 minutes (which I was promised originally) to getting security knocking on my door.

She sent up security because I told her I was not ready to checkout... not to mention that I was already promised a later checkout. The whole situation was embarrassing and frustrating. She actually sent up security. I left the room without showering, brushing my teeth, or shaving. I wore dirty clothes and my bags were in a mess. I have travelled around the world and stayed in hundreds of hotels. Never have I had any serious issues. I've never felt the urge to go write a bad review about anything. This situation is seriously unacceptable and was a terrible ending to my New York City trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

We only stayed one night - to catch a morning flight out of JFK, but that was more than enough. When we checked two people were standing behind the desk. One was on the phone, and the other was just standing there saying nothing. The one on the phone did not speak to us, but I put our reservation on the desk with our IDs and credit card, so she started to look at them, but then continued with her phone conversation. Then another person came to the desk, and she directed her attention towards him. When I started to look impatient, she checked us is in while still on the phone. She put the key on the desk and went back to the phone. Since our flight was leaving at 8am, we wanted to be sure to have time for breakfast - so I indicated I had a question. She put her hand over the phone and said no problem, shuttles ran continuously and breakfast was at 6. No offer to help us with our bags. No one showed us to the room. Breakfast room was not open at 6 and the shuttle runs every half hour, first-come-first served. The icing on the cake was that when we got to the airport by 6:35, the shuttle driver had off-loaded one of our bags before our stop. It was a nightmare of a morning, and we almost missed our flight minus a bag.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ah2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We would like to say that we really enjoyed the stay. The location was very good for us and the service was amicable and appropriate. We enjoyed the lobby setting and courtyard and the rooms were fine. For future tenants, it is very easy to walk to Rockaway Blvd. to catch the q6 bus to the Sutphin stop in order to take the E subway train to Manhattan. Really easy and saves you some $$$. Also, while waiting for the q6 you can grab some tasty grub at Kim's Deli. Thanks to all. We are having some serious NYC NYE nostalgia.

S & J

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 564Julie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

The man who checked us in never greeted us, took forever, offered no assistance. The room was cold, so that we were shivering all night long, they promised us an extra blanket which didn't come, refused to call a taxi for us, refused to give us a phone book so that we could order food, nevertheless fen offered us the name of a popular place to order from. Not a good nights sleep, which is all I ever ask from a hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amy j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
0.2 mi away
Rodeway Inn near JFK Airport
1.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Queens / JFK Airport
0.3 mi away
Sleep Inn JFK Airport Rockaway Blvd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Hotel JFK Airport
0.2 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express At JFK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden Inn & Suites

Property: Garden Inn & Suites
Address: 15120 Baisley Blvd, Jamaica, NY 11434-2803
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Garden Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 185
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Garden Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Jfk Airport
Crowne Plaza Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing