We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sleep Inn JFK Airport
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Pittstown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Nice!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I made the reservation for my wife at the Sleep Inn Jamaica with a little bit of trepidation. She was flying out of JFK the day after a big snow storm hit the East Coast and I wanted her to be near the airport in case the roads were closed and we couldn't make it in from NJ to JFK. Two hotels closer to the airport were already full and I found this one with rooms still available. It is 4 mi from JFK and has shuttle service to and from JFK.

I drove her to the motel and went inside with her to get her checked in and settled in her room.
The lobby area looked nice and the Desk Clerk was very friendly and helpful. We went to her room and it was small but very nice. It looked as if it had been recently renovated. It was clean, modern and comfy. I felt very good about her staying there and I can recommend this motel to anyone looking for a room near JFK.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wingleader09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica H, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn JFK Airport, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    78
    60
    12
    18
See reviews for
44
70
37
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DEPEW
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The staff there was very friendly and were happy to assist us with getting cabs and menu's. The rooms are a bit on the smaller side but are very clean and comfortable. Totally beat my expectations once I got there. Usually lower rates means lower quality, however this was not the case here. Not too close to Downtown Manhattan, about a 45 minute subway ride away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guns105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica H, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn JFK Airport, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights for a JFK flight to So. Africa. Never had a problem. We chose this hotel because of the proximity to the subway which was 10 minutes walk from the hotel, the free shuttle to the airport and free breakfast. The price at the moment was also the best we found for what we needed. The shuttle picked us up at the airport after a 20 mins. waiting time. Regarding safety, we went to a Mets game one day and the next day spend the whole day in The City (nyc). Both times we walked to the subway station, never felt threatened and once called the shuttle to pick us up because it was late when we returned. This was very convenient. Subway station is right there by BK and that's where the driver picked us up. BTW we ate at BK then called shuttle. Rooms were very clean all around, reception staff very nice, and breakfast was the regular of almost all hotels. We know this is not the "best" neighborhood, but common sense when in ANY part of the world is vital; we took the shuttle back at night, always checked our surroundings and stayed together. The shuttle to the airport was on time, although the ride was about 20 mins and they run every hour on the hour if I remember well. Yes, I would stay again at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica H, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn JFK Airport, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We didn't expect the quality of service we received when staying here between flights one night last month. The front desk clerk was friendly and very helpful with restaurant take-out suggestions and the shuttle driver went out of his way to open the office downstairs and set up a table so we could eat our dinner with the friend we were travelling with. The rooms are small - too small for all of us to eat dinner in - but perfect for our needs in that they were comfortable, clean and quiet. With shuttle service and breakfast included in the rate, it's a great deal. It's true that the surrounding area isn't inviting - we didn't venture out anywhere but with restaurant delivery service there's no need to.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluewater_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica H, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn JFK Airport, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Came here with my boyfriend for an overnight stay because we had to be somewhere in the morning and although it was a little awkward that the front desk put us right near the front desk - we were amazed with the nice decor. Looks newly renovated, however seemed a bit cramp. Small rooms but good for the price compared to a lot of hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

This is a great hotel for one night between airports in nyc. The rooms are medium sized, clean and not spent. they have king size bed and good shower. The wi-fi worked perfectly. Jesus, the driver who picked us up at the airport, deserves five stars for his positive attitude and willingness to serve. He took us to a restaurant at 10:00 at night and when it was closed, suggested another and picked us up at 11:00. The front desk staff was very responsible as I had sent two packages to be held for my arrival and they were there waiting for me. Both Savitri (sic) and Zemurray (sp?) at the front desk were more than attentive and interested.
My only druther is that we had to wait more than 30 mins at ?? circle for the shuttle.
I almost forgot, all this and breakfast for under $130 in nyc!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nealcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica H, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn JFK Airport, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We very much appreciate and value your feedback and will share it with our team. Your survey responses will serve as encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services to provide an exceptional experience for our guests. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

NOT SAFE !!!! NO SECURITY!!!! PRONED TO ARMED ROBBERY!!!!!
The morning we came to check out my husband and I thought something seemed out of place, as the front desk staff and manager was acting strange. Only to have some one confided in us that the hotel was robbed few hours earlier by armed men. The scariest thing that it wasn't the hotels first armed robbery, and yet they refuse to have security on the premises knowing the area it is located in. SMALL ROOMS!!The size of the rooms are just to take a nap, very little space to move around. Was recommended by our friend to stay there as he said the front desk staff was kind and friendly. ALWAYs CHANGING STAFF!!!!!!!!To our surprise, there were all new staff, which made the check in process really long. When my husband and I inquired we were told that those staff members no longer work there. They confided that the staff turn over rate is really high. Which I think is starting to affect the quality of customer service given.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monica H, Front Office Manager at Sleep Inn JFK Airport, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to sincerely apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. We have since made various improvements and changes.Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jamaica hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Jamaica Inn
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn JFK Airport Rockaway Blvd
2.7 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott New York JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#21 of 30 in Jamaica
38 reviews
1.1 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jamaica JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn JFK Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn JFK Airport

Property: Sleep Inn JFK Airport
Address: 17708 Liberty Ave, Jamaica, NY 11433-1431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn JFK Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn JFK Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Jamaica Hotel Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing