We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VALUE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sleep Inn JFK Airport
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have stayed here many times and love this place. The rooms are small, but so are the pricey ones in Manhattan, this is New York!!! . The beds are very comfortable, the rooms are clean and quiet. The shower is hot and good water pressure. The neighborhood isn't the best, but my girlfriend and I walk to the subway (about a 10 min walk) and we have never had a problem. The hotel has a shuttle that will take you there, but we prefer to walk. If you are arriving at JFK, take the Air Tran to Jamaica station, and CALL the hotel, they will send the shuttle.... The longest we had to wait was 20 min. The staff is friendly, and very accommodating. The free breakfast is icing on the cake..... For the money, this place can't be beat....

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelingman0005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Sleep Inn JFK Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 211 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a great hotel for a stop-over from JFK. It may not be for everybody due to its location, but we enjoyed it.

Pros: Very clean
New looking rooms
Friendly and helpful staff
Great rate
Decent access to subway

Cons: Rooms are very small, not much room to move around with two people plus luggage.
Street is quiet at night, but could hear people outside the hotel talking.
The neighborhood is rough around the edges, which may bother some people.

Some tips on arriving at JFK with hotel shuttle pickup. After you get your bags, look for the hotel information phones nearby. Call the hotel (#41) and let them know you are on your way to the shuttle and for them not to leave until you get there, if possible. It takes about 15 minutes after taking the JFK tram to the rental car/hotel shuttle area. Once you arrive, use the phones and call again to let them know you are there. Proceed to the waiting area.

We missed the Sleep Inn van by a few minutes and had to wait 40+ minutes in the cold for the van to return (they only have one), all the while watching the other hotels go back and forth to their locations multiple times. You can bypass all the tram and shuttle hassles with a cab right by the luggage pickup, which will set you back about $25.

If you want to get into the city for your stopover, this is a great location. The shuttle van will drop you at the nearby subway station Jamaica Center (don't walk it), or if they are busy they will call a cab ($10) each way. It drops you off at the beginning of the E line, which will take you all the way to 42nd St right at Times Square. A one time entry ticket is $2.75 for the subway. The E-train to 42nd takes about 25 minutes if I remember right. After midnight though the E becomes a local and has many more stops on the way back, increasing the time to about 45 minutes.

The shuttle service from the hotel back to JFK starts at 6:00 am and goes every hour on the hour until noon. After that, it goes as needed. Considering they only have one shuttle, you can easily get delayed in the afternoon waiting to get back to JFK if the shuttle is already out. Make sure to plan enough time, as you still have to take the tram back to JFK from the drop off.

The neighborhood is rough, but we felt fine and travelled around late. For some people this may be very worrisome if you are not used to a more urban setting.

I would give a fourth star if there was another shuttle van available, and if they could chase some of the locals away from loitering (and talking) outside our window all night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the main road (Liberty St) to avoid some of the noise.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Graybeard73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We stayed here only for few hours, waiting for the flight to Dominican Republic. The staff was really nice, the room was small, but the bathroom was really clean and the bed was very comfortable. The only bad thing is the taxi.... it costed us $ 20 to go from JFK to this hotel, which is about 7 minutes far!!! But we were too tired to argue about this with the taxi driver, we only wanted to get to the hotel. For whom is looking for short stay, this is ideal.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElenaStokes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2013

There were four of us, two rooms last week. We had a night to spend between flights and this was just fine. There is a burger king next door and a slew of local chinese, indian or pizza delivery menus in the lobby. The staff is exceptional. We read that the jfk shuttle operated from 5am to 11 pm yet they were quick to volunteer a shuttle ride at 4am. The ride was 5 minutes. The rooms are tiny but clean, modern. If you just need a place to sleep this is great, basic accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie Coté T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Whatever you do, don't rely on the shuttle service! Shuttle had odd hours and very unreliable. If you call too late from the airport they will not bother to answer the phone. We had to take a taxi from the airport which cost $22 for 1.7 miles.The first thing you notice when you drive up to the hotel is that it's in a scary area. The hotel itself was newly remodeled and very clean. Which was a relief.The room was very small but we expected that. Staff was nice enough but some were definitely not happy to be there. Continental breakfast was super basic and boring. We had a room on the fourth floor overlooking the parking lot and it was very noisy. We heard people partying, sirens and some fights too! The subway was a ten minute walk through a residential street. Made it a point to come back to hotel before dark!

Room Tip: Try to get a room not facing parking lot. They are noisy and smaller.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adriana250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

ok, here it is;

out here on Business for 2 wks; personally, if I wanted to deal w/the Headache of the Drive in, I would have stayed in NJ, but My Employer set Our Crew up at this Location.....

My review is based on a 2-Queen Bed Room [2 wk stay]

it's Jamaica Queens, so don't be shocked, if it doesn't look like Beverly Hills when You pull up; as with all property in NYC, growth is Up, not outward.....and when they built this Hotel, they tried to make sure they got as many rooms as posiible in this location as they could....which means, the Rooms aren't too big.....(BUT ROOMS ON THE Blvd-side ARE A FEW Sq Ft BIGGER THAN THE ONES ON BACKSIDE OF HOTEL....at least from the Room I stayed in)

Hotel does offer a Complimentary Breakfast, which it is a step up from None at all or even continental....so You can have one free meal a day, but don't get all bummed if it isn't IHOP/DENNY's or the local Diner style You might be used to)

This Hotel isn't torn up, You just have to realize it is NYC, and real estate out here is rediculously priced, so they are going to try to get Minimum sized rooms, as many rooms as possible per floor for as much as they can; The Franchisee of this location is trying to run a business not a charity.....so again....it's NOT old and delapidated....its clean, but You will pay a shiney-dime for this location.....

They Offer Hotel Transportation for certain things (i.e. Airport Shuttling), but we did not need it

ENJOY NYC FOR ALL IT HAS TO OFFER TO THE TOURIST's WHO VISIT
Hope this review Helps.....Enjoy Your Stay !!

Room Tip: BackSide of Hotel is OFF from Main Blvd (Rockaway Blvd), if You are either a Day or Night Sleeper...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TYLER T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I had trouble with a hotel shuttle. I just waited the shuttle at the AirTrain Federal Circle station, which I usually do and which worked fine in the past with other hotels. Many shuttles came and went, but not mine. Only after I wasted so much time, did I figure out that it wouldn’t come unless you called the hotel. And be advised that there are two Sleep Inns in the area and that Sleep Inn that is listed in the hotel telephone booth is not the one you are going to. (The list says only “Sleep Inn” so that it is hard to tell which Sleep Inn you are calling.)
Otherwise, the hotel is very nice: a room is clean and comfortable; fitness facilities are satisfactory; breakfast is fine; and the staff are helpful and friendly.
To conclude, I would recommend the hotel unless you have a hectic schedule.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 福岡Ek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
1.8 mi away
Best Western Jamaica Inn
2.5 mi away
Sleep Inn JFK Airport Rockaway Blvd
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#23 of 30 in Jamaica
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Days Inn Jamaica - Jfk Airport
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
Hampton Inn NY - JFK
#2 of 30 in Jamaica
1,744 reviews
1.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn JFK Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn JFK Airport

Address: 17708 Liberty Ave, Jamaica, NY 11433-1431
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range: $1,153 - $1,190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn JFK Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sleep Inn JFK Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Jamaica Hotel Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing