We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as intimidating as it looks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Jamaica/Queens
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
Nashville
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not as intimidating as it looks”
Reviewed November 4, 2010

My wife and I had never been to NYC before, and we didn't want to stay anywhere expensive to we selected the inexpensive Ramada Queens. As the taxi was taking us from the airport to the hotel, we were a little intimidated by the area. The area doesn't look very safe, however the hotel was quite nice. The staff was nice and helpful. We didn't stay in Queens area with the exception of sleeping, but the subway terminal was only about two blocks away. We were able to walk the streets at day and night with no problem. It might look intimidating, but noone really bothers you as long as you just walk a steady pace to the terminal. The hotel was great. It was a good price and the room was nice. I advise to take the subway to Manhattan, cause it's about a $50 taxi ride.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RyanNashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    118
    127
    61
    75
See reviews for
133
106
60
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2010

My partner had reserved this hotel just for one night months before we arrived!
(I believe I have read a very similar critique from another traveler.) Upon our arrival, tired from our transatlantic flight,(and a one hour bus ride from JFK to the hotel), we were told that our room was being repaired and was not ready, and there was not any other rooms available for us in that hotel! They DID, however reserve for us a room at another hotel for the same price and DID pay cab fare for us to get there. At least they did that! Reserving in advance with them is very questionable because you may not get a room regardless!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kbknopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jamaica hotels

Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Stayed 7 nights booked via Thomas Cook, Clean,modern & value rooms,breakfast adequate but above average for New York, take as much as you need. Staff v helpful,good connection to Internet. 35 mins to Manhatten on F line, colourful but safe,friendly area.

Tip get weekly pass for subway much cheaper & covered buses too, we took bus back to JFK 33 mins runs exactly to time.

Great value compared to downtown,do book early for cheaper prices, would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donegaltripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2010

Called ahead and was told hotel was a "few minutes" from JFK, with bus stop across the street. Wrong! Turned out to be a 40-minute bus ride. There was a stop across the street, but the bus wouldn't stop there -- it stopped 3 blocks away. Had asked for a room away from elevator, but was assigned a room directly across from elevator, when what I requested was available. When pressed, they changed the room. Breakfast was pitiful. Air conditioner sounded like a race car engine. Noise from hallway came through door. Neighborhood was scary. Not convenient to get to Manhattan. Staff was unhelpful. Room and bath were clean. Would NEVER stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loves2travelsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota,nNew Jersey, USA
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Hey folks, went to the hotel this august. Nice and comfortable room. Very good service actually...Close toJFK and cheap price.

Over all very nice experience.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priyankblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
Reviewed October 2, 2010

I stayed for 7 nights in August with my daughter. The facility is clean, the room is pleasant, and the breakfast is adequate. However they may tell you that you have a reservation when you really do not. Then again they may tell you that you do not have a reservation when you really do. I had both these experiences when making the initial reservation and then again when trying to extend my stay. At the time I made my original reservation I added a night on to the beginning and ultimately had to call Ramada customer service to get a confirmation in writing. At the end of my stay, they decided to add $150 to my bill for an evening AFTER I checked out! This was for an evening for which the hotel was supposedly fully booked and for which I was repeatedly informed I did not have a reservation! At the time I checked out I specifically discussed with the checkout clerk that I had been told two days in a row that the hotel was ‘fully booked’ for the extra night I had tried to reserve.
After I discovered the overcharge, the hotel personnel ignored my follow-up emails, and then when I phoned them, they told me to call back the next day at a specific time to talk to Harry. When I did that, Harry was not there, and the person I talked to accused me of not telling them I had a reservation for the future and refused to back off the charge. I finally called Ramada headquarters and they immediately apologized and refunded my money.
I would not stay here again, too much trouble for something that should be simple.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apriliaf10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights with my husband in September 2010. Room was very nice, small but nice decoration, all new, great bed. Very clean and quiet at night.
Arrived from La Guardia airport at a 22USD fare and short ride.
We just spent our time in Manhattan and took the metro back at night. No problems with the neighbourhood and only 25 minutes from central park.
Maybe if you are a girl travelling alone it might get dark at night to be on your own if you are a scary person.
Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia_BA_Argentina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jamaica hotels
1.1 mi away
Best Western Jamaica Inn
Best Western Jamaica Inn
#10 of 31 in Jamaica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#18 of 31 in Jamaica
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Jamaica JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Jamaica NY Near Airtrain JFK
0.8 mi away
Sleep Inn JFK Airport
Sleep Inn JFK Airport
#13 of 31 in Jamaica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lexington Inn at JFK Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Jamaica/Queens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Jamaica/Queens

Property: Ramada Jamaica/Queens
Address: 16440 Hillside Ave, Jamaica, NY 11432-4141
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Queens > Jamaica
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 31 Hotels in Jamaica
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Jamaica/Queens 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Jamaica/Queens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Queens Hotel Jamaica
Ramada Hotel Queens
Ramada Hotel Jamaica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing